Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walnut Hill Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 617 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2014

I was an active parent at Walnut Hill for over 9 years. Our kids were identified gifted and honor roll students throughout. There are unfortunate things that happen in all schools, we are not as bad as other schools in more afluent, better rated school districts. The stigma that a predominantly black population means the school is no good, is wrong. For the rest of the city that do not support our schools by sending their kids to private schools, you are missing out. A good student will succeed in any school. Stop sheltering your child and placing them where they only deal with their own race or socio-economic standing. Petersburg schools may not be perfect but they strive for excellence that's more that can be said for their neighboring school divisions. Walnut Hill is just as good for anyone seeking an outstanding education experience. Teachers are dedicated, administration is caring and attentive. This rating is unfair and the truth is the schools are great. Good job everyone keep up the good fight and we will succeed and be the best school division in the state! Also, Petersburg is one of the most beautiful, historic, and safest places to live.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

My son has been going to this school for 2 years now. I am a very active parent and believes that no one cares more for his education than I do. The teachers I have come into contact with is great. I am not sure if its because I am an involved parent. My issue is the school is so unorganized. I have to constantly ask for things more than once, I sometimes have to take time out of my busy schedule to go up there and talk with someone. Sometimes when I do go in I would get attitude from the front office. If this school could be more organize and not play the blame game then I would keep my son in another year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

Out of all the schools in Petersburg, this is one of the best ones...but trust me, this place is a nightmare. Move elsewhere...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

I as a parent would give this school a 10/10 rating. Love the dedication of the staff. My child appears to be happy, and he is consistently on the honor roll which makes me happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2009

I have two kids at this school doing really great,when i first moved to petersburg all people said was walnut hill elementary was no good was not an accredited sch. i said charity begins at home we parents tend to leave everything to our kids teacher we have to train our kids too,the principal and staffs of the school worked really hard to take the school to where it is now and they still not relenting on doing what is best for the students and the school,great teachers,friendly staffs, wonderfull principal,i will regret taking my kids away from this school when i move back to chicago.i give kudos to the staffs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

My son attended this school for 2 months and it was horrible! If you hold high standards for your child's education this is not the school for you! The school fails to meet accreditation and if they do they meet with a warning. This school is sliding by when it comes to the standardized testing. How this school is still open and how it can be referred to as a school is far beyond me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

I am very pleased with the academic progress that my son has made while attending Walnut Hill Elementary School. As long as we are in the area we will continue to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

Great school and great teachers. Need improvement on reading programs. They need to start the reading advance program at first grade. But overall great, responsible and lovely people work in the school from the office to the teachers. They demostrate a lot of care for the future of the children. /
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

My son just started attending Walnut Hill due to us relocating from Emporia, VA. From the first day at the school, I have felt very welcomed by the staff, and am very impressed with their willingness to help in any way possible to acclimate my family to this new environment. I look forward to being involved with the PTO and also look forward to a wonderful learning experience for my son here within the walls of Walnut Hill Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

This school goes out of its way to help the students achieve. The PTA is very active in fundraising. My fourth grader was able to make two 600's, 598, and 522 on her third grade sols thanks a lot to the third grade team!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
76%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students61%
Female students64%
Male students58%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English61%

Math

All Students40%
Female students36%
Male students44%
Black students41%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English40%

Science

All Students81%
Female students82%
Male students79%
Black students80%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students49%
Female students55%
Male students44%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English50%

Math

All Students55%
Female students63%
Male students46%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students53%
Female students59%
Male students47%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English52%

English: Writing

All Students55%
Female students57%
Male students52%
Black students51%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English54%

Math

All Students41%
Female students43%
Male students39%
Black students41%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English40%

Science

All Students60%
Female students59%
Male students60%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Accredited with Warning".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Zelda Lynch

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 S Boulevard
Petersburg, VA 23805
Phone: (804) 862-7005

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Joseph School
Petersburg, VA


Blandford Academy
Petersburg, VA




Lakeview Elementary School
Colonial Heights, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT