Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Poquoson Elementary School

Public | 3-5 | 464 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2013

Horrible! We originally moved to Poquoson for the great schools. The primary school was fantastic. However, since the new elementary school opened, the academics have deteriorated. When we pulled our two honor roll students out halfway through the school year, the administration didn't even ask why. Up to that point, they had done nothing more than review the previous year's coursework. Such a shame!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

OFFAL! I Do not even know where to start. I have 5 children and everyone of them has gone to Poquoson schools and two of them have graduated. Belive it or not children are Graduating from these schools illiterate.. They will do anything to keep their reputation Including just pushing your child A long. Out of all four schools this is by far the worst one! THIS SCHOOL IS BASED ON IMAGE, DO NOT LET THEM FOOL YOU! If you don't look the part, act the part and go with the flow you MUST be abusing your child. Sick if you ask me. This school failed my son and now its doing the Exact same thing to my other son!... I'M Looking into other SCHOOLING options as I write this! Do your self a fav and don't send your child here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

Bullying in this school is ridiculous. The principal does nothing and they won't do a report because it will hurt the schools rating. This year if it continues i will contact school board and department of education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

Where do I begin? PES is one of the four fantastic schools in Poquoson, They have a new school, built in 2008. It is a beautiful building. The teachers that my child has are the best. They are extremely well versed in their field and very much concerned about the children under their care. Same for the office staff as well as encore teachers (art, spanish, music, PE). I could not be happier about the progress my child is making. I owe it all to the teachers and staff at PES. I understand the primary, middle, and high schools are equally fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

We moved here at the beginning of this year and have been very impressed by this school system. I am in the Navy and have a daughter in college and have seen many school systems over the last 20 years, and this one is by far the very best I have had the pleasure of having my children attend. I was amazed that they start teaching Spanish in the Third grade and that is just one of the many things that impressed me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

great caring teachers and staff and wonderful building!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

In response to the parent that wrote on March 14, 2009: How can you not know when field trips are going to be. You have to sign a permission form in advance. There are not many 'parties' and the ones they have are told in advanced by the individual teacher. The nurse takes care of medical problems- not the front office, and from my experience does a great job. We are military and moved here 8 years ago. I have three boys and all have felt very welcomed in Poquoson. They all have lots of friends and have fit in from the beginning. Poquoson has been very welcoming to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

My daughter is a diabectic and I found the office did nothing to help us . It was a fight with them the 3 years she was there over everything from her meds to telling me ahead of time when parties would be or field trips . My husband and I ended up going to her Doctors and having them write a contract for them to sign . We were so glad when she went on to the next school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

It seems like not much has changed since the last review in regards to the bullying and harrassment involving students. My son was tormented by other students all year long and nothing productive was ever done. No information at all was given to the parents pertaining to discipline of the bully. Nothing ever changed. i also got the same feeling regarding the office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2004

The school is clean and inviting with impressive student work all over the walls in the hallways. I am impressed with the teachers. I am not happy that the principal chose to do away with the x-10 program where children used to receive enrichment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

I too offered to volunteer with the school reading program, and never heard back from the program director, a Ms. Diebler, I believe. The principle, Ms. Barrick, in the year I have been involved with the school tends to shy away from difficult situations. In other words, she tends to ignore an unpleasant situation in hopes it will just go away. I have spoken to other parents whose children were either being bullied or generally abused by another child. First and foremost the parents of all children involved should be contacted if an incident occurs, immediately. She, Wendy Barrick, must be in some cases chased down by the parents. Over all, the front office is very cold. Appear agitated when parents come in. One feels they are an imposition to these women. School certainly not living up to all the accolades.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

158 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students82%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students75%
Female students79%
Male students70%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

Science

All Students93%
Female students91%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities76%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students81%
Male students74%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students78%
Female students76%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students85%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities79%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

English: Writing

All Students73%
Female students74%
Male students73%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students71%
Female students71%
Male students72%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Science

All Students74%
Female students75%
Male students73%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Barbara Wood

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1033 Poquoson Ave
Poquoson, VA 23662
Phone: (757) 868-6921

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT