Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Poquoson High School

Public | 9-12 | 816 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2011

I rate this school below average because they are not welcoming to outsiders. They will tell you they are but are not. Also DO NOT MOVE to this town if you are African American. My daughter came home repeatedly telling me some of the racist remarks said/allowed (2008-2010) I still own my house there and would not have moved to this town if I had known how racist it was. I know my/any child should not have their cell phone at school when the rule says no. But somehow they think they can keep the childs cell phone even if you as a parent go to retrieve it. I told them I am the one who pays for it. give it to me .. they give it back only after the alloted time has passed for whatever number offense it is. EXTREMELY CLIQUISH
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

Honestly, Poquoson is a mixed bag. The students are mostly welcoming, though there are always some who aren't. The teachers are split; I had some amazing ones and some that I still don't know why they teach or how they get away with it. However, I must say that the academic program is beyond-awful. The guidance department does little to help students truly prepare for college and the courses offered are sparse. Especially for advanced students, you should hope that your child is interested in Math or Science. If your is interested more in History or English, be prepared for them to take classes online. I did, and it was awful. The guidance councilors will steer your child in the direction they want, not necessarily what you and/or your child want to do. I, for example, was forced into classes I did not sign up for and it took 3 weeks before my schedule was changed. Overall, the people are fairly nice, the teachers are (mostly) wonderful, but the academic program is terrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2011

You better believe this school and community isn't welcoming. Look at the coaches and teachers; most of them grew up together, went to school together, and are only concerned about looking out for their children or their friends' kids. It's a clique, at all levels, and the parents encourage it! It is strange, like most of the parents never got past a high-school mentality themselves, and blatantly play favorites. It's a shame because most of the "move-ins" are military familes who have so much broader perspective and yes, intelligence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2010

Let's hope this "not welcoming stuff" is not the case. I'm very active in the community and with my 3 children. I have one in Elementary, Middle and High. I look forward to my move and look forward to making some new friends. We will move here over the winter holiday due to my husband's job. See you shortly! Lisa
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

I moved to Poquoson my 10th grade year. Perhaps it was the family name, but I never found it hard to fit in. It can be a little cliquish with the sports but even as a quiet student I was accepted and welcomed very quickly. The teachers are great,the staff caring, and the classes challenging. But even as an adult have found that graduating poquoson high is looked upon more favorably by some due to the higher standards.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2009

I moved to Poquoson when I was 7 years old and attended Elementary, Middle, and High School. I just wanted to set the record straight, as a move in, yes ANY child will take awhile to acclimate to their new surroundings. I actually attended Tabb Elementary for one semester and I can tell you that I came home crying almost every day. The kids at Poquoson were very welcoming and friendly, and I had no problem joining any of the three varsity sports I played or the 10 clubs I was in (and was an officer of two). You know you are attending a good school when literally half of the governor's school attendees are from Poquoson, and we also have the highest percentage of acceptances into UVA and VA Tech. If you want your child to have the best education possible while enjoying it, come to Poquoson.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2009

I attended Poquoson Elementary, Middle and High (C/O 02). Although I moved there in 1993, I was always considered a 'move-in.' But the teachers are the best around. Each one cares 100% about each student. The courses are tough...not just the advanced ones. There is a very high standard. I agree with the other post, the more you get involved with the local community, the better your chances of being accepted. Also, if you blend in you will be better off, there is little tolerance for people who are 'different.' I married a local so maybe I am no longer a move-in...but probably not! Those who don't rock the boat will leave with the best education and little to no emotional scaring, LOL! Go Bull Islanders!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2008

I know that moving into Poquoson is not an easy thing to do, but if you are involved in the community, and socially active, your children will be welcome. If you are not involved, the children will find it difficult unless they are very social. My youngest son is so accepted that he has more friends than he can handle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I agree with the student above. My husband is the military and before we moved to Virginia I did alot of research to find the best school, that is why we selected Poquoson. The student body does not welcome new kids. The students grew up together they do things and go places as a group friends and will not ask the new kids. There are a group of girls that go to Bush Garden every year my daughter asked if she may with them and the girls looked at each th leader, said it has been their trad tion to go together and the new kids are not wecomed. a
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

PHS is a great school--IF your family moved here with the Pilgrims. 'Move-ins' are treated worse than illegal aliens. If you want to play sports, you better jump higher, run faster, bench press more weight, and look better than the team captain. Otherwise, politics will keep you on the bench or in the stands. The social life isn't much better for new arrivals...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

Good teachers; not a very welcoming student body.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students81%
Female students88%
Male students75%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Algebra II

All Students90%
Female students89%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Biology

All Students95%
Female students95%
Male students95%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

Chemistry

All Students98%
Female students98%
Male students98%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%

Earth Science

All Students94%
Female students95%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities87%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

English: Reading

All Students97%
Female students98%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities85%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%

English: Writing

All Students95%
Female students98%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities79%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

Geometry

All Students83%
Female students81%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students95%
Female students93%
Male students97%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities76%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

World Geography

All Students99%
Female students98%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities96%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English99%

World History I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History II

All Students96%
Female students91%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

51 Odd Rd
Poquoson, VA 23662
Phone: (757) 868-7123

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tabb High School
Yorktown, VA



York High School
Yorktown, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT