Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Portsmouth, VA
Students enrolled: 647

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Douglass Park Elementary School 4

Posted December 09, 2011
- a parent
I was missing ...Well still am a little..My Fridays going around to each of my children classrooms doing my check ups. BUT this morning was a very exciting day (Parent Power Day) My 1st time to be able to sit in there class room. All my questions that I ask them when they come home had been answered. I got to see 1st hand what my children was working on in class and there work was shown, also where they sat and who they sat by. Each class had so much around the room to give the children great support and to help better teach them. I was even giving materials on what they was on. This gives the parent a much better Idea on what they are working on and also how to help them with there studies at home. I really enjoyed it would LOVE to participate in it again. To the 5th,4th,3rd and 2nd that's all I seen today AA++

Douglass Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Douglass Park Elementary School 4

Posted May 20, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent of a former Douglass Park Elem student. The school was excellent for my daughter. The teachers put in extra time preparing these kids for middle school and the SOLs. One of the best team efforts that I have seen between the 4th and 5th grade levels. My daughter excelled in middle school based on the foundation she received at the school.

Douglass Park Elementary School 1

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Douglass Park Elementary School 3

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Douglass Park Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
This school does not have an active PTA or volunteer program. It seems like the faculty are not open to parental involvement. Communication between teachers and parents is lacking. The teachers depend on the kids to send home 'messages'.

Douglass Park Elementary School 1

Posted October 31, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Douglass Park Elementary School 2

Posted June 23, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Douglass Park Elementary School
34 Grand St, Portsmouth, VA  23701
(757) 393-8646
Last modified Douglass Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Douglass Park Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top