Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westhaven Elementary School 2

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
when needing to speak with some one normaly you brushed off. i feel that with 50 page lession plains ever week the teachers are being pushed to only teach to test, in the past 2 years when i have went to drop off goodies to teachers, i have not been allowed to go back to the class rooms or walk my child to class, my child cant carry a laundry basket full of school supplys. parents that want to be invalved are pushed away, and discuraged. I ued to help out even in classes i had not kids in, because i loved the kids the teachers, but being pushed away, why would i want to help now

Westhaven Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 07, 2009
- a teacher
Student achievement has greatly improved, as well their moral to learn. All the teachers work really hard trying to teach, engage students in various fun activities to help them implement the knowledge they have learned in the classroom. The school's report card shows how much the school has improved over the years, therefore parents and the community should support the school and be excited there are highly qualified teachers and great leadership in the building. With God's blessings the school will continue to do well.


Westhaven Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2009
- a teacher
Teacher are observed and evaluated every day at different times of the day by many different people. The currrent administration has gotten rid of teachers that they felt were not doing their jobs. There are certain steps that must be taken before the renewal of a teacher's contract can be denied.

Westhaven Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 02, 2009
- a parent
I was appaled last year when my son entered this school at the midway point in the term and his grades from his previous school were not considered. His first report card was horrible, due to lack of grades. Also, I attended an assembly earlier this year and frankly, I wanted to snatch my son out of there immediately. What an embarassment. I have since not allowed my son to attend assemblies. I am not going to let him make a spectical of himself. Trust me, the rest of the children allowed to be embarrassed on the stage do it for him. This school really needs to step up. This just a suggestion, but I believe that some of your teachers need to be re-evaluated, ASAP!

Westhaven Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2009
- a teacher
Much improved since the current administration took over.


Westhaven Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2009
- a teacher
Academics and displine have improved due to teacher expectations. Also due to administration expectations of the staff. Teachers are checked on daily to see that they are on schedule and that all students are involved in the lesson.

Westhaven Elementary School 1

Posted December 03, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Westhaven Elementary School 1

Posted January 25, 2007
- a parent
Westhaven Elementary has been a great disappointment the last 3 years. My childs' academic progress has suffered dearly due to this. Parents are no longer allowed to participate and be involved in the most crucial years of a childs life. Every attempt to interact with school functions and celebrations have been denighed. Children now express that they hate going to school. School use to be a fun place to learn. Now it is like being in prison. I wish the principal and more teachers at Westhaven would have a change of heart and genuinely cared about how the children are progressing and cared enough to make a difference. I'm praying for a positive change.


Westhaven Elementary School 1

Posted November 20, 2006
- a parent
The school was great when my child was in pre k and kindergardenand then when he was put in the 1st grade with 26 other students he could not consentrate and so he failed the 1st grade with a's in math. After numerous atempts to correct the problems and meeting with teachers and Asst.Principal I guess he had become a problem and he was suspended once and sent home several times for playing and sleeping. The times I did go to the school to pick him up and went to the classroom it was total mayhem with kids running around and the teacher yelling -my son now goes to private school and it costs me but he is now doing great and his last progress report was 9 a's 2 d's.

Westhaven Elementary School 3

Posted April 23, 2006
- a parent
Parent level involvement is at a minimum in this school, however the parents that are involved are extremely passionate about all the kids and dedicated in keeping others (parents) updated and informed as much as possible. It also has a new principle, whereas she is trying extremely hard to make this a safe & interesting learning environment for the children, she isn't a people person, and instead of being involved with the children and their views, she seems to step back and allow teachers to handle all behavior issues, which leads to differences of opinions between parents and teachers (who are left to be judge and jury). The child has a voice, just as an adult does. And shouldn't be told to stop tattling when something is happening to them. This seems to effect a great number of the kids that are in the the lower grade levels K-2.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westhaven Elementary School
3701 Clifford St, Portsmouth, VA  23707
(757) 393-8855
Last modified Westhaven Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westhaven Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top