Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Churchland Academy Elementary 5

Posted April 15, 2016
- a community member
Great teachers that care about each and every student .Great central location and I plan on my child staying in this school

Churchland Academy Elementary 2

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
Hit-or-miss. That's what you can expect at Churchland Academy. There are some great educators here if you get lucky. There are also some who you'll wonder how they graduated high school or got a teaching certificate. In your child's class, expect the same. There are some nice kids, who have parents who care about their child's performance and behavior. And there will be some kids who are utter hellions, whose parents quite frankly don't give a rip. (My second grader was introduced to pornography by a classmate; the other child's parent yelled, accused everyone of racism, and threatened to sue the school because she was going to have to take a day off work when her kid was suspended.)


Churchland Academy Elementary 3

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
My son will be transitioning from another school to Churcland Academy Elementary and I expect that any teacher my child has will have an agenda to focus on the best interest of all of his/her students. I expect the teachers to be motivating, and able to help encourage their students to use their talents and intelligence. At no time will I tolerate my child being put down or discouraged. I expect my childs teachers and Principal to be willing to communicate with me because it's my responsibility to ask questions so that I have an idea of how my child is performing and what I can do to promote academic growth. I am the parent that knows all of the children are excellent and have the potential to excel with the right tools and the right instruction and support. I am looking forward and expect an exeption school year 2014. Let's see if my rating increases...it's all up to you Churchland Academy Elementary Instructors and Administrators.

Churchland Academy Elementary 1

Posted February 10, 2014
- a parent
I have had continuous issues with this school, and I am so saddened by the teachers every year. My daughter was able to attend Western Branch Intermediate for a year, and loved it. We had to move and was zoned for CAE again, I am considering private school at this point. The back and forth, with the administration and teachers, the lack of communication, no one ever knows whats going on. I guess if you are looking for quality education this isn't going to be your cup of tea, but if you just want a babysitter while you are at work by all means enroll today!

Churchland Academy Elementary 4

Posted July 09, 2010
- a parent
Both of my children attended this school on a zone change waiver. We love this school. They have a lot of extra activities for kids that the other school don't have, like, band and choir. They provide after school tutoring for those that need it. My daughter took a field trip to DC this year. The school and its staff are excellent. I read all the comments posted here and the school that they are talking about back in 2006, is just not the same school. There have been so many positive changes in this school, and my children have been loving it for the past 2 years!


Churchland Academy Elementary
no rating

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
I have two children who currently attend Churchland Academy Elementary School and I must say I am very pleased. The teachers are very supportive, outgoing and are definately team players. I recommend this school to anyone. Both of my children love the staff.

Churchland Academy Elementary 3

Posted August 28, 2006
- a parent
My son is a typical playful six year old. Each reporting period his report card indicated that he was progressing but at the end of the year his teacher stated that my son needed to repeat Kindergarten because he did'nt do well on the SOL test. I was'nt very happy about that because his teacher gave me the impression all year that he had been improving until the test results. Have teachers at this school been reduced to worrying about SOL test results instead of educating our children.

Churchland Academy Elementary 2

Posted August 24, 2006
- a parent
For 4 years we fought to get my son a good education from this school. My son was diagnosed with Dysgraphia and Dyslexia by Doctors who specialize in this field. The principal and his/her staff discredited the doctors every chance the got. We ended up moving out of the Portsmouth School District to another Hampton Roads School district in hopes he will get the attention he needs to truly succeed. If you are considering sending your kids to this school, especially if thy have ADD, ADHD or some other learning disability I would think again.


Churchland Academy Elementary 1

Posted June 05, 2006
- a parent
My child has attended Churchland Academy for three years and every year there has been some battle to wage to ensure the teachers were involved with my child's education. He was once transferred (shuffled would be a better term) from one teacher to another with no turnover on his strengths or weaknesses. During a parent teacher conference one teacher, could not comment on my son's progress because her records were so bad. So, needless to say I am very unhappy with the quality of this school, and its leadership. The teaching and leadership is concentated on one thing, improving the schools scores on the SOL. Meaning, here is last year's test, go home and study it. There are no extracuriculiar studies program, the staff is rude, especially if you are white, and the middle school is no better. Portsmouth needs to fix the disparity between the elementary schools in Churchland.

Churchland Academy Elementary 2

Posted August 14, 2005
- a parent
My kids transferred to this school last year from Churchland Elementary. It was a BIG change. I really wish I wouldn't have moved and right now I'm considering moving just so my kids can go to a better school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Churchland Academy Elementary
4061 River Shore Rd, Portsmouth, VA  23703
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (757) 686-2527
Last modified Churchland Academy Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top