Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Portsmouth, VA
Students enrolled: 690

2 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Churchland Academy Elementary 3

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
My son will be transitioning from another school to Churcland Academy Elementary and I expect that any teacher my child has will have an agenda to focus on the best interest of all of his/her students. I expect the teachers to be motivating, and able to help encourage their students to use their talents and intelligence. At no time will I tolerate my child being put down or discouraged. I expect my childs teachers and Principal to be willing to communicate with me because it's my responsibility to ask questions so that I have an idea of how my child is performing and what I can do to promote academic growth. I am the parent that knows all of the children are excellent and have the potential to excel with the right tools and the right instruction and support. I am looking forward and expect an exeption school year 2014. Let's see if my rating increases...it's all up to you Churchland Academy Elementary Instructors and Administrators.

Churchland Academy Elementary 1

Posted February 10, 2014
- a parent
I have had continuous issues with this school, and I am so saddened by the teachers every year. My daughter was able to attend Western Branch Intermediate for a year, and loved it. We had to move and was zoned for CAE again, I am considering private school at this point. The back and forth, with the administration and teachers, the lack of communication, no one ever knows whats going on. I guess if you are looking for quality education this isn't going to be your cup of tea, but if you just want a babysitter while you are at work by all means enroll today!


Churchland Academy Elementary 4

Posted July 09, 2010
- a parent
Both of my children attended this school on a zone change waiver. We love this school. They have a lot of extra activities for kids that the other school don't have, like, band and choir. They provide after school tutoring for those that need it. My daughter took a field trip to DC this year. The school and its staff are excellent. I read all the comments posted here and the school that they are talking about back in 2006, is just not the same school. There have been so many positive changes in this school, and my children have been loving it for the past 2 years!

Churchland Academy Elementary 0
no rating

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
I have two children who currently attend Churchland Academy Elementary School and I must say I am very pleased. The teachers are very supportive, outgoing and are definately team players. I recommend this school to anyone. Both of my children love the staff.

Churchland Academy Elementary 1

Posted August 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Churchland Academy Elementary 2

Posted May 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Churchland Academy Elementary 1

Posted March 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Churchland Academy Elementary 2

Posted July 18, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Churchland Academy Elementary 1

Posted June 08, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Churchland Academy Elementary 1

Posted May 18, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Churchland Academy Elementary
4061 River Shore Rd, Portsmouth, VA  23703
(757) 686-2527
Last modified Churchland Academy Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Churchland Academy Elementary Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top