Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pocahontas Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 499 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2011

There is just no excuse for how poorly this school and staff operate. We relocated from Chesterfield County Schoold and its no comparison, The office staff are unfriendly and downright rude to the parents and children. Obviously only there to collect a paycheck. If you care about your childs safety AT ALL, do not send them to this school. I have never been ID'd picking up my daughter as the staff do not even get out of their chair to help you. My daughter has been sent back to class bleeding last week because the clinic was "closed." We will be withdrawing my daughter from this school after Christmas and sending her back to Chesterfield County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

I have been involved with the IEP system both as a juvenile PO and now as a parent. Both of my children have disabilities. My one son has Sensory Processing Disorder and has been at Pocahontas since preschool. I cannot say enough about the special ed staff, teachers and specialists. My child is like a different person because of everything that they've done for him and is doing very well in school. My other son was just diagnosed with ADHD and so I am waiting to see how he adjusts to the special ed program but I have nothing but positive things to say about the staff, teachers and current administration at this school. I have been VERY happy with them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

Where to begin - the administration is uncaring and callous. Most of the admin staff are there to collect a paycheck and have little to no regard for my child's safety. The office staff is unfriendly and quite rude. If you don't believe me, just try calling and asking for a teacher. The teachers are the saving grace for the school. Most of them do care about children and most do the best with what they have been provided. However, this is not the place for a child with a disability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

I have two children, my daughter still attends and my son is in the junior high. My son attened this school k-4th grade. He was diagnosed with ADD in the 3rd grade and this school was wonderful with him. Great communication and great patience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2006

It is a great school for my daughter without learning disabilitiesshe is in a multi age class with lots of pets and has lots of teachers so someone is always able to help one on one. This school however was not so good for my son with ADHD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2004

We relocated here from the Northeast, and there is no comparison in the quality of education received here compared to where we are from. Smaller class sizes and more one on one attention has been more beneficial to my children. Scoring well on the SOL's is a high priority, but not to the point where it takes away from day to day education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2004

In my opinion the school focuses on teaching children to pass the SOL tests instead of concentrating on quality of education. As a former student of Chesterfield County schools, I'm just not very impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Everything about this school is great. It also has wonderful special needs staff members who assist children with learning problems. The administration and staff are wonderful, caring individuals who help our children achieve their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

109 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students68%
Female students64%
Male students73%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%

Math

All Students44%
Female students34%
Male students60%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students48%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English44%

Science

All Students87%
Female students79%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students85%
Male students68%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students68%
Female students63%
Male students74%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Thomas Sulzer

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4294 Anderson Hwy
Powhatan, VA 23139
Phone: (804) 598-5717

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ephaugh Academy
Powhatan, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT