Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blue Ridge Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 904 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 9, 2014

This is a very good school with excellent teachers. Everyone is attentive to students needs and students have many opportunities to become involved in different activities. Overall, Blue Ridge is an amazing learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

Blue Ridge Middile School is a wonderful facilty, yet the teachers are STRANGLING! I'm not talking about giving too much homework, but there is a rule agianst everything you do! I am an 8th grade girl that cannot wait to get out of this school! Yeah sure the teachers teach well, and there is only a few i have a problem with, but the rest are good at their job, but i feel like the power gets to them. The gym floors are always filthy, and there are no windows; studies show students learn better in a sun-lit environment and even an extended time outside. Not impressed. Also we have various assemblies on bulling but in an event when it occours, nothing is done. It seems like each year it got worse for me, and everyone else. Can't wait for Loudoun Valley!!! GO VIKES!


Posted October 10, 2013

Very rude staff. Unclean dirty dark. They do nothing about bullying. Would not recommend for all the money in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Great. I love this school. When my son started here he had only been going to an American school for one year. We had lived overseas and he was really nervous about the whole Middle School thing especially from stuff he had seen on TV. He really likes the teachers and the support he gets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

First of all, dear student, you need to catch up on your grammar. A grammar teacher can only take you so far; the rest is up to your dedication and the efforts of and environment provided by your guadians. If your language as a middle school student is what I see it to be, I would look elsewhere to put the blame, not the teachers. Best place to start is yourself.


Posted March 5, 2012

My son is in his first year at Blue Ridge and we are very happy with his experience. He is flourishing academically and socially. He is in one honor's class, which happens to be his favorite class. Blue Ridge has clubs and other things that students can get involved with (e.g. strings) and these I highly recommend because they expand the mind and promote friendships that otherwise would not have occurred. My son was picked on a little at Emerick Elementary but now has a click of about 10 friends. My son says that the teachers are in the hallways and near the lockers in between classes. This is a must for middle school and Blue Ridge is playing it by the book. The principal is also very visible. I see him almost every day standing outside with the riders. He actually talks with the students and they respect him as is evident in their body language and facial expressions. My wife and I feel like we really hit the jackpot with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

I'm an eighth grader at Blue Ridge. The semester is half done and I dont want to leave! I first came here, the new kid from Fairfax county, in 6th grade. Everyone was so welcoming. The teachers here are awesome; whether it was helping me get some of my work published in a magazine or preparing me for my future, they've been there in so many ways. I can't imagine a better middle school than Blue Ridge.


Posted January 12, 2010

I have two students who attended this school and I found the academic level of challenge satisfactory. Unfortunately, leadership and positive moral is lacking at this school and the teaching my child received was very uneven. I found most of the teaching staff to be very unprofessional when I needed to address any issues. The principal is doing very little to weed out those teachers who are wasting the precious time of the students they are trained professionally to serve and inspire. My students learned in spite of their environment and not as a result.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

I would hope that before a parent makes a decision about Blue Ridge they look at the dates on the previous reviews and take into consideration that the most negative were written before the current principal was appointed. I am a retired teacher who spent my entire 33 year teaching career at Blue Ridge. I have found the teachers and staff, the incompetent past principal not included, to be some of the most caring individuals I have ever worked with. Their interest in the students and their academic achievement far exceeds that of any other school staff I have dealt with. Both of my children attended LCPS and I never felt that the staff and teachers were anywhere near as great as those ar BRMS. The staff and current administrative team bend over backwards to accommodate individual needs. Please visit the school before making a judgement.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 22, 2009

One of my daughters graduated from Blue Ridge and one who is currently in sixth grade. Blue Ridge is a solid academic environment with many opportunities for the children to explore various extracurricular activities. We've found the teachers to be very responsive and involved, which is amazing given how many kids are at the school. Obviously overcrowding is an issue and has been our only concern. I suspect the teachers find it difficult to dedicate as much time to individual students as they would like. As a result, it is easy for some kids to get through w/out really being challenged. So a lot of that responsibility falls back on the parent (at a time in the child's life when they are starting to challenge Mom & Dad). Anyway, congrats to staff at Blue Ridge. You do a great job in a tough situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

Halls ways are crowded, too many students not enough room.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2008

Ha, I find that Blue Ridge has some goods and some bads. There are some teachers that are good and connect to the students real well, but others may be to strict to be a teacher. The Blue Ridge Staff has some really intelligent teachers and some so not. And also, yes we have received 'The Schools To Watch' but I remember hearing that we should smile to everyone that day so we could receive that award, correct me if that is deceiving the judges.


Posted March 31, 2008

II could not disagree with you more! As a teacher at Blue Ridge Middle, I really take offence to comments like this. We just won an award from 'Schools to Watch' which only has 11 schools in the entire state of Virginia. Three of which are in Loudoun, Co. Yes, all schools have concerns, but I would not and do not agree with this parent s statement. As a teacher here, I am sorry your child had a bad experience. Hopefully, their school experience has improved in the high school setting. I have taught in many other schools and this is by far.... NOT the worst school. Please update your comments.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 16, 2004

We have had two children pass through this school. Like most of our friends, we belive this school has serious problems. Student morale is low, there is constant confrontation between students and facilty, inconsistant inforcement of regulations and the staff range from being aloof to almost hostile to parent feedback. This school is without a doubt the worst educational facility any of our children have attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
n/a
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
n/a
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students85%
Male students88%
Black students47%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracial93%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students86%
Female students86%
Male students86%
Black students47%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial91%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students87%
Male students86%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial81%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students88%
Female students85%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracial81%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students88%
Male students84%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracial92%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities49%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

English: Writing

All Students89%
Female students92%
Male students86%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracial92%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%

Math

All Students38%
Female students27%
Male students49%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students36%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities38%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English38%

Science

All Students90%
Female students88%
Male students92%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracial85%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities68%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students96%
Female students95%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities89%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School counslor
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Brion Bell

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School counslor
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

551 East A St
Purcellville, VA 20132
Website: Click here
Phone: (540) 751-2520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Graydon Manor
Leesburg, VA



Providence Academy
Leesburg, VA



Douglass School
Leesburg, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT