Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dogwood Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 772 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

Has been a wonderful start and great progress so far with my son. Started with skepticism as we are new to US. But it is a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2012

This school is fine. The faculty is great and the facility is excellent. Great diversity and a real dedication to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

Sadly, I believe that the color of your skin and your economic level greatly affects the way you and your children are treated at this school. If you are diligent in monitoring what you are told about what is, or will happen in the school and classroom vs. what actually does happen in the school and classroom you may find what I found--a large discrepancy. Some infractions are minor while others are major and can have a negative impact on not only your child's education but on his or her self esteem. For those who will disagree with me that is fine, and of course it's your prerogative. All I'm suggesting is that you monitor your child's experience at Dogwood very carefully and this includes making unscheduled and unexpected visits to the school. Listen and learn. I sincerely hope that your experience is different from mine. Just because a staff member or part of the administration smiles politely at you and tells you what they believe you want to hear does not mean that your child will be treated well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2010

This is a bad school and the money is low.I wouldn't recommend this school. The teachers are nice but the school isnt that great


Posted November 23, 2010

All three of our children have or are attending Dogwood. The school did not perform well in the past due to the high number of ESL students attending. The only bad thing is that we lost the modified calender schedule over the summer. The staff is great and the administration goes out of their way to make themselves present and involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

I wish county would realize they can't just throw money at the problem, because the school has been so bad it gets a lot of funding, free lunches, free after school programs, but if the problem is the student body is bad best chance for those kids is to ship them to other schools and make this one a magnet school. You can have the best intentions and funding but until the makeup of the student body changes, it's going to be a bad school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

I am a mother of 3 children, two of which are of school age. We sent our children to a Blue Ribbon private school for several years but made the decision to switch them to the local public school for a number of reasons. My husband and I are very happy with the school and our children and so much happier. The classroom sizes are low and the quality of the education is superb. I am a believer that education needs to be positive and that is what this school is all about. The teachers are genuinely happy, dedicated, involved and energetic, but most importantly, very positive and nuturing. The principal is simply outstanding. She is so visible and is regularly seen in the cafeteria, walking around and helping kids. It is really an unbelievable thing to witness her in action. Watch this school--it will end up being a model school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

My child has enjoyed the gifted program, loves reading, science, and loves teachers. My perception is that Dogwood makes a great attempt to make sure every child's individual educational needs are being met--perhaps better than most elementary school in Ffx County. Certainly not all teachers are perfect, but for the most part, we have been impressed so far with the quality of the teaching. I believe the school community (parents included) could do more to bridge the social gaps and to create more unity with non-English speaking families of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

My children have thrived here! One has special needs and receives the support & accomodations he needs. They've both had excellent teachers. Their key strength is the ability to ladder instruction, providing the right level of challenge for each student. Class sizes tend to be less than at other schools and additional resources are available for ESOL students. It also has a full-time gifted and talented instructor (other non-gifted center schools share a GT teacher). I recommend the school highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

Well, these last updates are older and my child was not enrolled during this time. However, this is one of the worst schools in the entire Fairfax County Public School system. I say that not only as a parent of a child who attended there, but with input from 3 separate Fairfax County School Teachers. I have two friends with children that attended kindergarten the same year my child did. The material that their children learned in the beginning of the year, my son was learning towards the end of the year. They have no interest whatsoever in assisting children with special needs. Fairfax County has some wonderful schools (so I have heard) but this is definitely not one of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

For the past 11 years, at least one of my children has attended Dogwood Elementary. We've endured bad press, a devastating fire and 3 Principals. I have been a Dogwood supporter all these years. I am involved and often in the building, so I see first hand what goes on there. My kids continue to perform well above average on tests like the SOL's. My oldest child was well prepared and continues to do well in challenging IB courses offered at South Lakes High School. We love Dogwood's diversity. I consider it the best kept secret in Reston!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2003

Dogwood is an excellent school. The building is brand new because of a fire in 2000 in which the entire building was gutted. Students were sent to 3 differrent schools in 2000 and 2001. This affected test scores in those years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
82%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students76%
Female students74%
Male students78%
Black students82%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White students54%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English71%

Math

All Students49%
Female students44%
Male students53%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
White students62%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficient students41%
Proficient in English67%

Science

All Students67%
Female students68%
Male students67%
Black students83%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students51%
Female students53%
Male students50%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English71%

Math

All Students54%
Female students52%
Male students57%
Black students27%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient students49%
Proficient in English64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students64%
Female students55%
Male students71%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient students49%
Proficient in English84%

English: Writing

All Students47%
Female students45%
Male students49%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students60%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficient students34%
Proficient in English64%

Math

All Students62%
Female students53%
Male students70%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students90%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient students54%
Proficient in English72%

Science

All Students44%
Female students38%
Male students50%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students60%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficient students29%
Proficient in English65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students68%
Female students65%
Male students72%
Black students85%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students49%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students84%
Female students78%
Male students91%
Black students93%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities81%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Tamara B. Ballou

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12300 Glade Dr.
Reston, VA 20191
Phone: (703) 262-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Al Fatih Academy
Reston, VA





Oasis School
Reston, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT