Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hunters Woods Elementary

Public | PK-6 | 1048 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2011

The children are valued and the curriculum is challenging. The delivery is differentiated well for all different learners, and there is a strong sense of community. The children love the tableau activities, the movement classes are really cool, and the music teachers are fantastic. The hallways are filled with interesting art projects, and the PTA does a first class job providing fun activities for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

My child is in the AAP program at HWES and so far I have been happy with the decision to attend HWES. In reading some of the complaints - it seems as though they are complaining about Fairfax County issues not necessarily HWES issues (# of students per class, curriculum, etc.) - these are all established by FCPS. I cannot comment on the Gen Ed classes, but the AAP classes are great and can be as challenging as your child allows it to be. The only criticism I would mention is that the AAP population is skewed male and Asian/Indian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

HWES is two schools in one. A majority of the students in the 3rd grade and above are transferred here from nearby schools as this is the local GT (Gifted & Talented) center I have a 6th grade child there performing work at the 8th, 9th, grade levels. Although this is a magnet school unless your your child is not in the GT program it appears this is just a regular old school. I see a lot of posts from non-GT parents who seem to be under the impression their child should be getting more challenging coursework just because they are at HWES. This is simply not the case as your child needs to ested into the program. Outside the GT program it is not necessarily a very good school as it isn't in best area. So, in short, if your kid is in the GT program it is a great school if not is just another plain old school that has less than stringent academic standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

Great school with arts-integrated curriculum. The AAP program is outstanding with dedicated and creative teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 23, 2012

My son went to the AAP program at HW. It was awful, extremely watered down and disappointing. He was challenged more in the general ed at his home school. Some good teachers, others are awful, lots of discipline problems. I would not recommend. Since HW is a priority school much of the curriculum is now watered down so they can pass their state tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

This school has a wonderful curriculum of arts, science, and truly creative teachers. I have two children at the school and have had different experiences for both. One very positive, one more challenging. Like any school, there will be good teacher and not so good teachers. The downside to HWES is that they group all K/1 kids together which does not challenge the high achievers. The other downside is that the school is just too big. With AAP and Magnet kids coming, you lose a sense of community. I love this school and am grateful to be in the district. I think the education is good given the constraints of the size. We have seen some amazing teachers at HWES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

After trying for three years, through lottery, my kids were finally accepted to HWES's Magnet Program. My kids were attending Oak Hill ES which has an excellent principal, Dr. Goodloe. Well, it's been a year and my kids are disappointed with the science, arts, music and the magnet program. My daughter did more hands on art at OHES, than here. My son's science classes were all lecture with minimal hands on experience, even though we were told that he would be using the lab frequently. He did more interesting science projects at OHES. In their 4th and 6th grade classes they encountered students that did not do their homework and were disruptive in class. It seems that HWES's objective is to use their "magnet" program to attract smart students from other better academically performing schools, in hope that the high performers will somehow encourage poor performing students to improve their learning skills and lift their SOL scores. Compare to OHES. the music program is poor, with students having minimal rehearsal before a concert. Needless to say, my kids are going back to OHES. HWES has a potential to be a great school, however that may require a new leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

This is a very good school with more focus on arts and science along with other regular curriculam. Teachers are very nice and very responsive. My kid is currently a second grader for the last 2 years I don't see any issues.They have lot of after school programs which are same and different from other schools.With all these I see this school is unique and good. Principal though not a good talker but nice and is reachable to parents all the time. Front office is very co-operative and nice people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

My daughter has been going for the last 3 years. We have been advised to go this school magnet program. But disappointed with initial grades. Teacher in second grade was not at all fair to all students. It has the reputation from earlier years but I am sure, it will go down very soon(2-3 years) both for general and gt as well. It is (admin and office staff ) getting little high due current reputation which is the beginning of the downhill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2010

My expectations for this school were high based on it's reputation. A few years ago they had a major change in administration and there was a huge turnover in teachers. Our experience was that in the lower grades the bar is set really low for the students. If they were English speaking and had any preschool at all or a slightly involved parent usually the kids enter K/1 meeting the end of year objectives. They teach according to the guidelines and very rarely if ever give more advanced work to the capable (and most are). The class sizes are large--29 in my sons , especially considering the number of kids in the class that require more intensive teacher supervision/guidance. The GT classes are less chaotic and more stimulating from what I hear (my kids are in general ed)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

My son just started first grade here in HW. He got there through the magnet lottery but I'm so disappointed. The level of education is so ridiculously low. All they do in the class is coloring and a little bit of writing. So far he hasn't brought any homework and already complained to me that the school is too easy. When I asked teacher about the math curriculum I was told that they're supposed to be counting to 100. Isn't what they were doing in kindergarten? BTW, all 1st graders are together with the kindergarteners. I know it must be different for the GT kids and parents. My advise; keep your children at your home school, don't go to HW unless your child is accepted to GT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

We were happy with our child's previous language-immersion school, so we had a difficult time to decide to transfer to the HWES GT program. We are extremely happy now that we did. The school is a magnet school as well, so it has curriculumns and programs that other school don't have. The staff and teacher are all reponsive. After-school programs are well planned, too. My child is not only learning but having her use mutilple methods keep her thinking and she says she doesn't have time to day-dream anymore!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

My son started at Hunter's woods GT program in 3rd grade. In the 3 yrs that he was a student I was not impressed at all. We stayed in the GT program only because of the curriculum which is better than a non-GT school. I was impressed with one teacher, Mr Adams who teaches 5th grade. He is very sincere and dedicated. The principal Ms. Totley is a poor speaker with a poor memory. Admission of kids in the GT program who come in after 3rd grade is questionable. The entire GT qualification at this school is questionable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

Parental involvment at this school os great! The extracurricular activities that are offered are fantastic as well. All of these things really impressed me when my daughter started attending 3 years ago. I have since noticed that some of the teachers at the school are very poor at keeping open the lines of communication with the parents. Some of the teachers will not return phone calls or emails. This has become very frustrating. It seems to me that if you are a working parent and can not be in the school during the school day, you are looked upon as an uninvolved disinterested parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2005

My daughter studied for 3 years and my son has been with HWES for 4 years. They both love the school. PTA is very active. Principal,teachers and office staff are very dedicated. Good communication and cooperation between teachers and parents. Lot of extra curricular activities. Numerous parents volunteer. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

192 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students91%
Male students88%
Black students87%
Asian students88%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial82%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students66%
Proficient in English95%

Math

All Students88%
Female students88%
Male students88%
Black students73%
Asian students92%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial82%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English92%

Science

All Students96%
Female students95%
Male students97%
Black students80%
Asian students97%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial91%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students90%
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students87%
Male students90%
Black students59%
Asian students97%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students61%
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students89%
Female students88%
Male students90%
Black students65%
Asian students99%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students93%
Male students88%
Black students56%
Asian students97%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial93%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities74%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students52%
Proficient in English96%

English: Writing

All Students96%
Female students97%
Male students95%
Black students82%
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial93%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities81%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students85%
Proficient in English97%

Math

All Students76%
Female students76%
Male students76%
Black students64%
Asian students91%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English86%

Science

All Students90%
Female students88%
Male students91%
Black students69%
Asian students97%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial100%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities74%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students44%
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students95%
Female students95%
Male students94%
Black students73%
Asian students99%
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English97%

Math

All Students96%
Female students94%
Male students98%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities83%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2401 Colts Neck Rd
Reston, VA 20191
Phone: (703) 262-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Al Fatih Academy
Reston, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT