Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
61 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 69 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Lakes High School 5

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
My daughter thrived at this school and was accepted to all 8 colleges she applied to (William Mary, UVA, etc)

South Lakes High School 5

Posted November 20, 2014
- a student
People are just scared of the low income families that send their kids to this school, but SLHS has some of the nicest kids I have ever met. The IB program at SLHS is incredibly rigorous and challenges students to do their absolute best. I don't know how a 4 star rating is equal to a 6 out of ten? Maybe the HS that the founders of Great Schools had a pretty bad Math Program? 4/5=8/10. simple math people.


South Lakes High School 4

Posted May 29, 2014
- a student
I'm currently a junior at South Lakes and I have to say it's filled with a lot of people that genuinely care about the students. I have had such great teachers and have a found a great community on the track team. The facility is awesome compared to some of the other FCPS high schools, we are pretty newly renovated and well upkept. The athletics coaches and the counselors are great too, but I have to say the one thing that takes away is the Principal. Mr. Butler, who left in 2012 was excellent: personally engaged with the students, and clearly cared about us and our education. Now I feel trapped and constantly mistrusted by the principal and some of the office staff, as if the students are animals that need to be corralled with random, arbitrary rules.

South Lakes High School 1

Posted February 16, 2014
- a parent
South Lake deserve one star for some of teachers that work hard, but unfortunately the Principal leadership is ashamedly poor, as same of the Vice Principal.

South Lakes High School 5

Posted January 21, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is a freshman at South Lakes and we have found this school to offer a wonderful blend of academic challenge, nuturing support and a strong community. Led by a fantastic principal, the teachers and staff do a great job of encouraging and mentoring the students. My daughter is on track to receive the IB Diploma and has found the classes to be rigorous, but manageable. We have been pleased with the sports and performing arts programs as well. My daughter -- and our family -- are looking forward to her next 3 1/2 years at South Lakes.


South Lakes High School 5

Posted June 07, 2010
- a parent
South Lakes has a principal like no other that goes above & beyond to know his students, teachers, curriculum, parents, etc. Bruce Butler is the most aware and involved principal and cares about each student. The admin. staff is wonderful also. They work to keep the students & parents involved &i nformed. The IB program is very challenging & requires a large amount of writing. When an IB graduate student of South Lakes moves on to a challenging college they comment that the college don't seem so difficult in comparison. The students & teachers are welcoming. The facility itself is the best I have seen in Fairfax Cnty with it's high technology in each classroom, bright skylights, large & functional gym, well designed theatre, etc. With the newly re-districted students and new enthusiasm this school's test scores will soar!

South Lakes High School 5

Posted January 11, 2010
- a student
There is no comparison to the Seahawk Community. Students are pushed to do their best, and success is always rewarded, either by a handshake from the principal or congratulations from all teachers.

South Lakes High School
no rating

Posted November 02, 2009
- a parent
South Lakes does a great job with a very diverse population - racially, economically, ethnically (including many languages) and includes students with a variety of handicapping conditions.


South Lakes High School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a teacher
South Lakes is a family, we always take care of our own.

South Lakes High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
South Lakes High School is very diversified racially and as well as it is a well thought of IB school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Lakes High School
11400 South Lakes Dr, Reston, VA  20191
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. (703) 715-4500
Last modified South Lakes High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top