Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Terraset Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
Lindsay Trout is a phenomenal principal who truly cares about her students and their parents. Terraset is lucky to have her.

Terraset Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
We have been very pleased with every teacher we have had at Terraset. Additionally, Mrs. Dueno, the librarian is a great addition and I'm so glad all the students have the opportunity to be in her "classroom"


Terraset Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
Principal Lindsay Trout fosters a caring and compassionate environment in the school. She is extremely involved and responsive and truly cares about her students and their parents.

Terraset Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
My child has had a great experience at Terraset. The reviewer who complained about fathers not being as welcome to participate is wrong -- dads are very welcome to volunteer at Terraset. My husband has spent as much time volunteering at school as I have. The Watchdogs program is not exclusive to our school, and yes there is a small fee, but it is so worth it. Ms. Trout is a fantastic principal and the renovations are beautiful. They took a cramped, badly outdated building and turned it into a gorgeous school, not sure why anyone would complain about that. Can't wait for the new year to start!

Terraset Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 06, 2015
- a parent
Clear instructions for homework are not given (this has been a problem multiple years.) Mostly the work is print offs (with typos) and when questions are raised the teacher's responses are usually, "I just printed it off, I didn't really look at it yet."


Terraset Elementary School 3

Posted August 06, 2015
- a parent
With two children presently at Terraset, I've been disappointed that the quality of care and education doesn't match other Reston schools. If looking to buy, I'd pick a home in another boundary. Terraset is too focused on appearances and building renovations. Fathers wanting to volunteer are charged for the privilege (watchdogs.) Why in this day and age there would be a gender requirement for participation is beyond me. It certainly sends the wrong message to the children. Schools should reinforce that ALL adults are equal and therefore capable of doing ALL jobs. Teacher quality has been a mixed bag (some great, some quite bad.) Not even the principal lives in the community.

Terraset Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
We have one child finishing his 4th year at Terraset and another kindergarten. We absolutely love this school and are so lucky to have our kids enrolled there. The faculty, staff, and students are exceptional, providing a diverse, creative, productive, and educational environment. Principal Trout is incredibly involved and deeply cares about her students and school. We could not ask for a better school for our kids.

Terraset Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
My son is just finishing up second grade at Terraset. We have been so incredibly happy with everything since he started in Kindergarten. The new principal has brought a great philosophy to the school, and every child gets to do the level of work he is capable of. My son gets pulled out for advanced math and is reading far above the level of a typical 2nd grader, and they support him in all of his interests. In fact, he did have some problems with the social aspects of school, and the school counselor invited him into a small group lunch time setting to work on those problems. I cannot express enough how happy we have been. My younger child is starting Kindergarten in the fall, and I look forward to seeing how they work with her!


Terraset Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
Great school, great teachers and a wonderful principal. Very excited for the renovations to be finished.

Terraset Elementary School 2

Posted October 21, 2012
- a parent
I had very bad experience at this school, one teacher my kid had was careless, lack of skills and punished my child for personal reason, not only in the classroom, but also by sending the administration false and intentionally misleading information.I'd give this teacher 0 star for the performance. some teachers are good,like the one my child had two years ago, that's why I am giving 4 stars for that reason. 2 stars average. The newly retired principal abused power, covered up to continuing her mismanagement. I am glad that there is a new principal now.I wish the teachers' quality could improve over the time under the new principal.

Nearby schools

Terraset Elementary School
11411 Ridge Heights Rd, Reston, VA  20191
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (703) 390-5600
Last modified Terraset Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top