Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
My two kids love Armstrong. The teachers are awesome! The new principle is the best!

Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a community member
Great! I am in 5th grade and I am lovin' this school as always since kindergarten.


Armstrong Elementary School 4

Posted January 20, 2014
- a parent
My son is enjoying his Kindergarten experience at Armstrong. The teachers really encourage parents to volunteer for the many different lessons, such as art and math. The after school programs available are great! He has learned so much this year and has made a lot of new friends.

Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
Great school, my child attended from 3-5th grade (2008-2010) and loved going to school. The school has a no bullying policy which they take very seriously and makes for a good atmosphere for the kids.

Armstrong Elementary School 4

Posted November 11, 2010
- a parent
Armstrong elementary school is an excellent school. I believe its excellence is due mostly in part to the teaching staff. The principal appeared great untill a conflict arises. Hopefully a new principal with experience will be in place soon.


Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2010
- a parent
The school is perfect. Teachers are greate. My son is now in 1st grade and his teacher, Mrs. Burns, is the best teacher I ever seen. The school is very welcoming, staff is helpful.

Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2009
- a parent
Teachers and princpal are amazing. Young, amazingly talented, dedicated, hard working principal. Focus is alway on kids and their educational progress. Over the past few years, the principal has hired really talented teachers and some of the more senior teachers have retired. (Not a bad thing.) This school has a great vision, is welcoming and we are glad our children go to Armstrong.

Armstrong Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 26, 2009
- a parent
This school is amazing. The special education program is awsome. They have one of the best principals in FCPS! He is young, but he knows what is going on! We have traveled around for many years and we have never seen the level of dedication we see from this school...teachers and principal. Lots of great newly hired teachers and the school has a wonderful vision and level of morale. The administration ensures all teachers are and continue to be child focused and have everything they need to be successful. Technology at the school is very good! SMART Boards everywhere. The kids love school and it is because of the climate set for them. They are loved, safe and well educated. If you are looking at schools, this one is wonderful! Good Job Armstrong.


Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2009
- a parent
I have had several children go through armstrong and I have been extremely impressed. the principal has made some exceptional new hires and this has added a new strength and vitality to an already strong staff.

Armstrong Elementary School 1

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
my son is in the autism program and i will tell you it is the worst school i have ever delt with. the class is not structured at all, the teacher is allways out sick and they have such a turn over in aids. the principle is hard to deal with when you have problems. i would never reccommend this school to anyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Armstrong Elementary School
11900 Lake Newport Rd, Reston, VA  20194
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (703) 375-4800
Last modified Armstrong Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top