Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Albert Hill Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 506 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2014

The teachers care and the community takes ownership in the school. Overall a positive outlook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

My daughter's teachers are excellent, caring, nurturing and have high expectations. I highly recommend this school. She is in the advanced classes and her elective class teachers have been very good too. Support Albert Hill Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

This school is lacking in every way. Horrible principals. They only survive a few years or so
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

We have had an exceptional experience. My child is in all honors and advanced classes with teachers that truly engage, challenge, and uplift the students. My daughter comes home talking about what she is learning and can apply it to our visits to museums, conversations with adults and her peers, and has better understanding of current events with her newly-learned contexts. It's a dynamic city school with kids who range widely in ethnicity and socio-economic background. I wish Hill had more choices for after-school programs, but we love being part of this school which has worked so hard to improve its reputation. I have had a lot of interaction with administration there. Principals and staff have always known who my child is and have taken the time to get to know her. We love Hill. I wish people would cut it some slack and not judge based on the high minority enrollment. The school is clean and beautiful (wood floors, fire places in some of the classrooms, elegant tilework and architecture). I consistently recommend Hill for middle school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2013

Horrible school! My son was bullied ALL three years while he was there. Some of his teachers were great and you had a few that really didn't care about the children. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2011

Albert H. Hill Middle School is not a terrible school, but not too great either. I think that there are way too many tests taking place at this school. It seems to be more test oriented than learning oriented;but its not their fault. I think thats a kind of mandatory system. The school also seems to be somewhat disorganized. For a couple of days, my sister had been attending the wrong classes. Why hadnt the school faculty picked up on that earlier?


Posted December 18, 2009

I am currently in the 8th grade at ahh!!! i love this school ive made great friends.Great teachers great kids great principal great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2009

This school is fantastic...if your child is in the honors or advanced courses. The special ed philosophy is an inclusion model and can only be facilitated in the core classes, where a majority of the bussed students end up. There is an enormous disparity between the two groups, which fosters resentment of certain students by academic core students. My child has special education needs but is also gifted so he got thrown in academic core in order to receive services. He's absolutely miserable there and is constantly harassed. Coming from Mary Munford, I expected a lot. One of his teachers is exceptional, several are good, one is appalling. The administration is very nice, but we won't be returning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

I have a son in 6th grade at AHH. He loves it and it has been a good environment for him. The administration is awesome. Mr. Kight is very responsive and involved and does not tolerate poor behavior. The school building is beautiful and well taken care of in all of it's splendor. There is a core group of involved parents. The teachers are excellent as well. I would like to see more parents involved. I would certainly recommend this school highly to any parent considering middle schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

I really like this school.I went here from 6th to 8th grade and I met so many new people and had so many oppurtunities!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2008

I went here and I can say to all of you that sending your child here will have a GREAT IMPACT on their life like it has mine....and i'm a sophmore now!! Pluse Mr. Kight is GREAT! MY FAVORITE PERSON IN THE WORLD!! He is more than a Principale his is a friend to me and to many others who he has had a great influence on. I have sored to higher heights because of him and i will continue to do so as I grown and learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2008

I have a 7th grader at Albert Hill, and over all we have been very pleased. They are lucky to have a fantastic principal in Mr. Kite, and most of the staff and teachers are wonderful. Our only complaint last year was the lack of much art, but they have really ramped that up this year. The administration really seems committed to making this a top notch school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

We were concerned about the arts and humantities program also. However, this year the school has hired an outstanding art and band teacher, added a drama teacher, and expanded the orchestra and harp program. Our students will also have the opportunity to participate in the art program at the Visual Arts Center after school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 31, 2008

My child is so happy! Teachers are the best and the atmospere is warm and welcoming. Instruction is top notch. We have sent two children there and we are sending our third! We are so glad we were accepted this year. This should be the model for all public schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

Worksheets,worksheets,worksheets. that's basically it. Teachers teach the students the big test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2006

Small school size, caring staff and wonderful principal who takes time with parents and children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students65%
Female students69%
Male students60%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%

Math

All Students55%
Female students58%
Male students50%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students58%
Female students61%
Male students55%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English58%

Math

All Students49%
Female students54%
Male students42%
Black students40%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities16%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students57%
Female students59%
Male students56%
Black students47%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English58%

English: Writing

All Students76%
Female students83%
Male students69%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities74%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students61%
Female students63%
Male students60%
Black students53%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities28%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English62%

Science

All Students69%
Female students68%
Male students70%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities85%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students71%
Female students72%
Male students70%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial57%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Donna Knight

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3400 Patterson Ave
Richmond, VA 23221
Phone: (804) 780-6107

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Richmond Academy
Richmond, VA


St Benedict School
Richmond, VA


Charterhouse School
Richmond, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT