Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John B. Cary Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 214 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2013

We love John B. Cary. Our daughter has attended several Richmond schools that we were not happy with. Only at Cary do we feel truly safe, happy, and secure. Our daughter has several medical issues but the staff has never failed to watch over her properly. The staff loves and cares for all the children and makes sure they get a great education and are allowed to have fun at the same time. The parents are friendly to one another and the teachers become like family. Everyone is welcome at Cary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

I am a proud Cary parent of two scholar students. We moved from a well funded school district in Westchester ,New York. I couldn't be happier with my children's education! Cary does not get enough recognition as the other local schools do. The teachers at Cary are very committed and love their job. Our principal is a warm and accommodating woman with strong leadership skills. As a whole,the school is a close-knit family and I feel confident that you will feel the same!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

My family just moved here from CT and John B I find is one of the best schools my kids have attended
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

I have a 4-year old in the VPI program and I have been delighted with his progress. The emphasis on early literacy and numeracy, the teachers (Mrs. Brown is fantastic), the administrators (Mrs. Phillips is a great principal) and the general atmosphere of respect and learning led us to decide to keep our son there for kindergarten. I think Cary is going to be the next excellent public school in Richmond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

I loove this school it truely cares about my chileds education and every thing. Soon my child will be great i thank God for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

I have a child in the Pre-K program and I couldn't be happier. The school truly cares about their students and gives them many opportunities to shine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

John B. Cary is an excellent school scholastically as well as staff and parent relationship. Mrs. Brenda Phillips Mrs. Patricia Banks And Mrs. Stinson are some of the best administrators I have encountered in quite sometime!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

27 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students49%
Female students64%
Male students42%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English53%

Math

All Students27%
Female students36%
Male students23%
Black students19%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities25%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English29%

Science

All Students75%
Female students73%
Male students76%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students62%
Female students64%
Male students60%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%

Math

All Students65%
Female students62%
Male students69%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students58%
Female students43%
Male students75%
Black students52%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English58%

English: Writing

All Students81%
Female students73%
Male students88%
Black students78%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students54%
Female students38%
Male students73%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English54%

Science

All Students62%
Female students46%
Male students77%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Brenda Phillips

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3021 Maplewood Ave
Richmond, VA 23221
Phone: (804) 780-6252

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Benedict School
Richmond, VA





Richmond Academy
Richmond, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT