Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John B. Cary Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
They focus on the phrase "Bloom where you are planted". I think this line of thinking is perfect. A school is just an extension of the community, we all need to work together to make this our home. This school has a great art, and music program. We have great teachers who care about the students. We have some of the smallest class sizes in Richmond. The assistant Principal Dr. Smith is wonderful and I believe they are grooming her to lead this school back to greatness. Come and see why JBC is right for your child. Be a part of your community and make the place you live wonderful. Take charge and contribute to our future in John B. Cary. Join the PTA, and lead our children to a brighter future. Much love and support from a local parent Peace

John B. Cary Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
Only Dr Smith has treated me with respecrt and tried to resolve the matter but since the VP did not communicate with her then all she did was a waist of tim


John B. Cary Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
I'm not happy with the teachers reaction to some events and when I brought it to her attention she turned it around on me. That's amazing

John B. Cary Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
The work and feedback is good but like all schools they concentrate on the SOL and not so much on education. Sol is only to help fund the school not a long term education for the child

John B. Cary Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
I have not been there long enough to say but I'm still disappointed in the system they portray


John B. Cary Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
No because if children get away of hitting each other then how is respect obtained.

John B. Cary Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
I think it's all a fake so they can save themselves of wrong doing. It's a shame that there own interest it more important.

John B. Cary Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
Because the school took my child that was being bullied and pointed the finger on him


John B. Cary Elementary School 1

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
My son has been bullied and they had the nerve to say it was him just because he is a nerdy type child. It is only 3 weeks into school and he has been hit in the chest 2x and pushed around and smacked and he is only 9. The anti bully policy is not in place and when my son got punched in the chest the teacher told him to brush it off. When he got hit on the bus the school did not request the video tapes to be pulled. If the school won't protect him then I will. They buz anyone into the school and so the school is not securing our children. Then don't ask for ID when picking up your child. This is the worst school I have ever been to. Be afraid to drop off your kid at John B Cary Elementary. Before my son would be bullied with words and it's only in the school that it became so physical. Kicking is one thing but a punch in the chest can damage or even kill a person. Breaking a rib can force the bone into the heart. I called the school board and apparently the is no one above the principal

John B. Cary Elementary School 4

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
I'm a parent of three girls that have gone or are going to John B. Cary. I'm also the PTA VP of the school. John B. Cary is a smaller size school so your child gets way more individual attention. Classroom size is usually no more than 15-17 students in grades K-4th grade, while the two 5th grade classes have the highest number of students at around 25 or so. The teachers are hard working and I can honestly say they teach because they believe in children. While the Principal and vice-principal may be new as of 2014-2015 school year they are not new at what they do and are very caring individuals. The school becomes more of a second family and if you are the kind of parent that likes to be involved than it a perfect fit! Don't be fooled by these bogus scores, Jbc is a great school with fantastic art, music, Spanish, and PE. resource teachers. We have a good selection of extracurricular activities for after school and a great after school program. I feel anytime you decide to attend a City school rather than a county school there will be a different set of issues, but as far as Jbc it doesn't get much better.

Nearby schools

John B. Cary Elementary School
3021 Maplewood Ave, Richmond, VA  23221
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (804) 780-6252
Last modified John B. Cary Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top