Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Richmond, VA
Students enrolled: 548
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
Mary Munford has exceeded our explications in almost every way. Which the City had a middle school this great. Only negative things I can say about the school are: 1. Very poor and outdated communication (Seems like they are working in that). 2. The building and systems are very outdated but still above par for the City of Richmond.
1 person found this helpful

Mary Munford Elementary School 1

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
Mary Munford is a place we are happy to never go back to. Grades K-2 are fine. But it gets bad after that. Teachers do not care about teaching only SOL. Give kids work that is just not appropriate for that age group. Disappointing at best.
4 people found this helpful


Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
The teachers care and the community takes ownership in the school. Overall a positive outlook.
1 person found this helpful

Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
This is an idyllic place to educate a child. Attentive teachers and staff. Bright, cheerful, safe facility. Lots of parent involvement. While I have had my differences with a teacher or staff member, each person patiently took the time to talk things out and meet me half-way. I am so pleased to see the difference this school has made in my children's lives. Wonderful!
1 person found this helpful

Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2013
- a parent
I have two children currently attending Mary Munford and it is a wonderful school. The principal is outstanding and there are high expectations for students from the very caring teachers. Parents are extremely involved and are not afraid to advocate for change if it is needed. Kindergarten registration is an example of this. Three years ago, when enrolling my child, registration was unorganized and not "user friendly". Parents got involved and completely revamped registration, making it an inviting and reassuring process for entering families. The programs and yearly events are fun and very family oriented. In an area where many parents send their children to private school, Mary Munford provides a safe, fun, and academically challenging alternative.


Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
The teachers are amazing at Mary Munford. I have been blown away by the work ethic there. The principal is a great man. Very little turnover here. The PTA support is off the charts.

Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
Mary Munford is the best public elementary school in Richmond, VA. I will tell you that if you want your child to have a great experience, its your job as the parent to be involved. I have a son going to 3rd grade this year and a daughter going to 5 grade this year. My daughter has always had excellent teachers who challenge her every step of the way. My son this year will finally have a teacher that will challenge him. We are very excited and looking forward to the new school year!!

Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2011
- a parent
I found grade 3 - 5 to be outstanding...perhaps even better than K - 2. Very rigorous program with high expectations of students. My child was doing math in grade 5 that I did not learn until 8th! Wonderful teachers who take time to work with the really bright kids and the few who are struggling.


Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2011
- a parent
Everyone mentions that this school is great, but wow - it has blown away my high expectations for education. The teachers, administrators, and parents are absolutely amazing! I had no idea they would learn so much in kindergarten. They also work hard to keep low ratios and the students are always seeing different teachers for enrichment activities. Everyone is very involved and everyone works together as a team. The best!

Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2011
- a parent
Hands down Richmond's best public elementary school. Strong continuity of leadership and gifted, experienced, emotionally engaged teachers set the tone, but it is the incredible level of parent participation that puts this school in a class by itself. Our family recently relocated away from Richmond, and we count Mary Munford among the city's treasures that we miss most.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mary Munford Elementary School
211 Westmoreland Ave, Richmond, VA  23226
(804) 780-6267
Last modified Mary Munford Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mary Munford Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top