Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
My son attended Munford K-5 and it provided a wonderful foundation for his education. The overwhelming majority of the teachers are superb. The principal, teachers and parents/PTA work well together and are active, engaged, and focused on what is best for the student body as a whole. We were lucky to have been part of such a great community.

Mary Munford Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Mr Muzik is amazing! He selects and retains excellent teachers, works well with parents, knows all the students and goes about his work with a smile and a great sense of practicality. He's also always around to pitch in - whether it is to take out the trash from an event, help set up the AV equipment, or drop everything to chat with a parent or prospective parent who has a question. Love him!


Mary Munford Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Amount and type of homework varies substantially by teacher and it was hard to tell what what the right balance.

Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
Mary Munford has exceeded our explications in almost every way. Which the City had a middle school this great. Only negative things I can say about the school are: 1. Very poor and outdated communication (Seems like they are working in that). 2. The building and systems are very outdated but still above par for the City of Richmond.

Mary Munford Elementary School 1

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
Mary Munford is a place we are happy to never go back to. Grades K-2 are fine. But it gets bad after that. Teachers do not care about teaching only SOL. Give kids work that is just not appropriate for that age group. Disappointing at best.


Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
The teachers care and the community takes ownership in the school. Overall a positive outlook.

Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
This is an idyllic place to educate a child. Attentive teachers and staff. Bright, cheerful, safe facility. Lots of parent involvement. While I have had my differences with a teacher or staff member, each person patiently took the time to talk things out and meet me half-way. I am so pleased to see the difference this school has made in my children's lives. Wonderful!

Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2013
- a parent
I have two children currently attending Mary Munford and it is a wonderful school. The principal is outstanding and there are high expectations for students from the very caring teachers. Parents are extremely involved and are not afraid to advocate for change if it is needed. Kindergarten registration is an example of this. Three years ago, when enrolling my child, registration was unorganized and not "user friendly". Parents got involved and completely revamped registration, making it an inviting and reassuring process for entering families. The programs and yearly events are fun and very family oriented. In an area where many parents send their children to private school, Mary Munford provides a safe, fun, and academically challenging alternative.


Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
The teachers are amazing at Mary Munford. I have been blown away by the work ethic there. The principal is a great man. Very little turnover here. The PTA support is off the charts.

Mary Munford Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
Mary Munford is the best public elementary school in Richmond, VA. I will tell you that if you want your child to have a great experience, its your job as the parent to be involved. I have a son going to 3rd grade this year and a daughter going to 5 grade this year. My daughter has always had excellent teachers who challenge her every step of the way. My son this year will finally have a teacher that will challenge him. We are very excited and looking forward to the new school year!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mary Munford Elementary School
211 Westmoreland Ave, Richmond, VA  23226
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (804) 780-6267
Last modified Mary Munford Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top