Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Fox Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 500 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2014

(2) I ignored the off-putting manner in which she refused to accommodate a working mother and moved forward, contacting the Downtown YMCA about their before- and after-care programs.$80 per child PER WEEK, and they only give about 50% off if you need financial assistance. That's $320 a month IF you get assistance, plus the before-school program was wait listed. I told the individual I spoke to that I am a single mother and was there no way they could fit in two more children because if I didn't have child care, I couldn't move, and they did not budge. There was no sympathy, no options given, no offer to figure something out, nothing. Basically the attitude was, if you can't afford to live in the Fan, you don't need to be in this school and we don't have anything for you. Long story short, I'm stuck where I'm at and had to let an amazing, affordable apartment, right by my job no less, go because of the complete lack of care the administration and the YMCA had for me as a single, working mother.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2014

(1) Do not move to the Fox district if you have any kind of financial need whatsoever. I got approved for an amazing and affordable apartment in Scott's Addition and contacted the school to schedule a tour, and so I could get an idea of their academic vision and curriculum. The principal advised me that she only does a tour once a month, because she's "so busy" and it's "only an hour." I work M-F 9-5. I asked could she meet me a little earlier. Oh, no no no. I have to drop off my OWN children. Was there no vice principal, guidance counselor, nobody who would meet with me? Obviously not because no mention was made of it. I asked her about before and after school care and she had no information at all, and told me I had to contact the downtown YMCA. What kind of administrator has no information to provide about programs going on in their school? The whole conversation was extremely rude and she made no attempt to give another option, nor did she act as if she even cared to meet me or my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2014

The community of parents at Fox are great; however, the Administration leaves much to be desired much of the time. Definitely get some legal advice if your child needs an IEP; blatant disregard of Federal and State IDEA Act is commonplace here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

You think its going to be great, they dont even know the commonwealth VA laws?! its incredible how inept this staff is, They are behind on testing and academics as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

My son is currently in the 1st grade and we absolutely love William Fox! The PTA participation is great! The teachers really care! (smille)...Couldnt have asked for a better school. I mean...the support system from teachers and other parents, is just great...Don't know what else to say!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

My three daughters attend this school and it was the best choice we ever made to move them into this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

I am a parent, and my son attended Wm. Fox and this would be one of the top Elementry Schools in Richmond, Va. My son was eager to get to school every morning, this school is beyond awesome; if you can get your child in please do, you won't be disappointed. Two thumbs up for the school and teachers, and especially Ms. Campbell....Tory and I miss you very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2011

I am in the 7th grade now at IB which is a hard program to get into and now i see that alot of the people there are from fox. This says that fox has prepared so many people for the IB program. The acedemics are amazing. The office staff are very on piont making it now only a good school for the student but also a breeze for the parents who are trying to interact with the school. There are so many activities that take your mind off of school. To conclude i would tell you to do what ever you can to get your child into this school. :)


Posted September 17, 2009

Strong academically and wonderfully diverse with a true appreciation for the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

They have wonderful, caring teachers, a terrrific and active PTA as well as an enthusiastic and intelligent principal. Then kids love school. The PTA has arranged for wonderful extras - spanish, arts, music, theatre. The teachers are truly involved with the kids and the education sytem. They fight for better ways to teach, working with the Board of Education and other teachers in local schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

William Fox Elementary is an excellent school in the heart of the city offering a top notch education within an urban district. I have two children attending Fox. It's great to walk to school! In addition to strong academics and teachers using best practices, music class is a student's favorite due to the funky, funny Mr. Winslow. Parents are an integral part of the school culture. After-school programs include choir, theatrixs and soccer. Fit and talented kids everywhere! Oh, and spanish is taught K-5 - Adios!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2008

The programs available at William Fox are comparable to those one would typically find at an elite private school. Additionally, the school pride amongst the students is palpable and inspiring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

My son is in his last year at Fox. It has been a wonderful experience and we are so grateful for time and talent that the faculty puts forth everyday. Fox School is terrific!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

This is the best school that I could ever have my son enrolled in for elementary school. I would not change his experience that he has had at Fox!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

Great School! High parental involvement. Great environment, nurturing teachers and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

Best school in Richmond, Public alternative to elite private school. Excellent teachers and administration. Safe. Very active PTA ($80k in bank at start of year) We have 1st grader and Kindergartener enrolled. Example of words on recent 1st grade spelling test 'atmosphere' and 'constellation'. Cool 1911 building located in Fan historic district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
83%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students87%
Male students74%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students73%
Female students78%
Male students66%
Black students40%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Science

All Students91%
Female students96%
Male students86%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students92%
Female students93%
Male students90%
Black students88%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students93%
Female students95%
Male students90%
Black students82%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students89%
Male students68%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

English: Writing

All Students74%
Female students86%
Male students52%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students85%
Female students85%
Male students85%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Science

All Students79%
Female students85%
Male students65%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2300 Hanover Ave
Richmond, VA 23220
Phone: (804) 780-6259

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Benedict School
Richmond, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT