Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William Fox Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2015
- a parent
Great school! Great community! Fox is one of the very best schools In the area.

William Fox Elementary School 2

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
4 years ago, you couldn't talk negative about William Fox to me, NOW, oh forget it! Definitely not what it use to be. Some of the teachers.. I mean, why are they there? Why are they "teaching"? Seems to me as if they chose the wrong career. Just my two cents. Choose another school.


William Fox Elementary School 1

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
(2) I ignored the off-putting manner in which she refused to accommodate a working mother and moved forward, contacting the Downtown YMCA about their before- and after-care programs.$80 per child PER WEEK, and they only give about 50% off if you need financial assistance. That's $320 a month IF you get assistance, plus the before-school program was wait listed. I told the individual I spoke to that I am a single mother and was there no way they could fit in two more children because if I didn't have child care, I couldn't move, and they did not budge. There was no sympathy, no options given, no offer to figure something out, nothing. Basically the attitude was, if you can't afford to live in the Fan, you don't need to be in this school and we don't have anything for you. Long story short, I'm stuck where I'm at and had to let an amazing, affordable apartment, right by my job no less, go because of the complete lack of care the administration and the YMCA had for me as a single, working mother.

William Fox Elementary School 1

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
(1) Do not move to the Fox district if you have any kind of financial need whatsoever. I got approved for an amazing and affordable apartment in Scott's Addition and contacted the school to schedule a tour, and so I could get an idea of their academic vision and curriculum. The principal advised me that she only does a tour once a month, because she's "so busy" and it's "only an hour." I work M-F 9-5. I asked could she meet me a little earlier. Oh, no no no. I have to drop off my OWN children. Was there no vice principal, guidance counselor, nobody who would meet with me? Obviously not because no mention was made of it. I asked her about before and after school care and she had no information at all, and told me I had to contact the downtown YMCA. What kind of administrator has no information to provide about programs going on in their school? The whole conversation was extremely rude and she made no attempt to give another option, nor did she act as if she even cared to meet me or my children.

William Fox Elementary School 1

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
The community of parents at Fox are great; however, the Administration leaves much to be desired much of the time. Definitely get some legal advice if your child needs an IEP; blatant disregard of Federal and State IDEA Act is commonplace here.


William Fox Elementary School 1

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
You think its going to be great, they dont even know the commonwealth VA laws?! its incredible how inept this staff is, They are behind on testing and academics as well.

William Fox Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2011
- a parent
My three daughters attend this school and it was the best choice we ever made to move them into this district.

William Fox Elementary School 5

Posted July 20, 2011
- a parent
I am a parent, and my son attended Wm. Fox and this would be one of the top Elementry Schools in Richmond, Va. My son was eager to get to school every morning, this school is beyond awesome; if you can get your child in please do, you won't be disappointed. Two thumbs up for the school and teachers, and especially Ms. Campbell....Tory and I miss you very much.


William Fox Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2011
- a community member
I am in the 7th grade now at IB which is a hard program to get into and now i see that alot of the people there are from fox. This says that fox has prepared so many people for the IB program. The acedemics are amazing. The office staff are very on piont making it now only a good school for the student but also a breeze for the parents who are trying to interact with the school. There are so many activities that take your mind off of school. To conclude i would tell you to do what ever you can to get your child into this school. :)

William Fox Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Strong academically and wonderfully diverse with a true appreciation for the arts.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William Fox Elementary School
2300 Hanover Ave, Richmond, VA  23220
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (804) 780-6259
Last modified William Fox Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top