Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Marshall High School 1

Posted June 10, 2014
- a student
My school needs improvement! The facility is falling apart and some of the teachers and administrators needs to be reevaluated on how to treat students, how to teach students, and how to respect every one as an individual instead of being prejudice towards all. We are all not the same. This school has little to offer this year; it is very unchallenged academically. Majority of the activities organized here are neither organized nor efficient; it is very untimely. This school wasted a year of my academic time to become a better student and has caused nothing but stress.

John Marshall High School 2

Posted May 06, 2014
- a student
teachers do their best to pass these kids, even if it means putting in fake assignments to raise the grades. there are fights all the time, almost every day. no ethnic diversity, its 99% black, i think theres two or three white kids in the whole school. there are some decent teachers, if your thinking about sending your kid here, encourage them to take AP classes, for they are far easier here than at any other schools.


John Marshall High School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2009
- a parent
I have 2 students who attend John Marshall. The teacher's i have dealt with seeem to care about my children. But from time to time a run across a few who just teach and that's it. The principal attitude towards students,staff and parents is snobby and sometimes down right disrespectful. Academically my children are on a good path.

John Marshall High School
no rating

Posted January 26, 2009
- a parent
My son is a senior and football players with the best coaches in the world and teachers. I love the staff.

John Marshall High School
no rating

Posted December 17, 2008
- a student
I attend John Marshall... and it's not as bad as everyone makes it seems. The staff are excellent in my opinion. They aren't like most of the teachers in other schools, most of them really care about the students. And I graduate in 2011, and have seen the school go through a lot and have bad times.( which have been seen on the news) But it never get acknowledged that we are fully accredited, and have some of the highest SOL scores in all of RPS. It looks bad because most of the students who attend are all from different 'hoods' and neighborhoods and come together and act a fool. But that is in every school especially Armstrong. But yet & still John Marshall is known as the worst!!


John Marshall High School 3

Posted March 03, 2008
- a community member
I do believe more can be done with the staff as far as... pretty much discipline. I mean, I know of some teachers who are sometimes even frightened by some of their students. Other than the behavioural issues and whatnot, it's a pretty O.K. school.

John Marshall High School 4

Posted April 05, 2006
- a student
I am graduating student of John Marshall High School. Despite what many may say and think about John Marshall it is a great school to attend. If more parents would get involved with the school and their children the school would not be in the state that it is now. Teachers can only do but so much if the kids have a I don't care attitude what can you do? So before you judge that or any school take a walk in the faculty's shoes and than make a comment.

John Marshall High School 2

Posted January 06, 2005
- a student
This school has a bad enviorment. Some of the students attending John Marshall just don't feel safe. Something needs to be done about this situation.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Marshall High School
4225 Old Brook Rd, Richmond, VA  23227
(804) 780-6052
Last modified John Marshall High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Marshall High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top