Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Armstrong High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 19, 2016
- a student
Some teachers give you homework every class some don't. I've only had a lot of math homework and a couple of English hw. It's only a lot if you are just 1 lazy person.

Armstrong High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted July 19, 2016
- a student
Everybody has respect but not everyone shows it. Some students are so disrespectful to the point where it becomes the new normal. They mistreat the building and eachother. They talk about other students and adults . *insecure* it's a good thing that people change and grow up..we'll at least some people


Armstrong High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 19, 2016
- a student
There are a hand full of adults that care about their students passing. The science teachers: Mr.Z , Ms.S, Ms.K, and Ms.L. I might have missed others but these are the teachers I know by name. All of the math teachers, i only know 2 history teachers Mr.S and Mr.R. if you are a good student or respectful or at least have more pro's then cons then they will show that they care when you struggle and if you are upset. I don't know all the English teachers but my teacher Mr.M is the best teacher ever. He's like a little kid in a grown man's body. He dressed as Winnie the pooh on Disney Day. He is low key funny and just fun to be around. 1 teacher that is caring and empathetic is Ms.J . She teaches Family Relations and Nutrition and wellness. She shows more of tough love though so the way she says things may seem a bit too much but her advice is very helpful. Mr.C is caring and empathetic and compassionate. He offers his help when he sees that you're upset, Or he just ask how are you doing. He is the person to go to. Ms.A is caring and encouraging. She is one of the grade coordinators at the school. If you have stuff on your mind go to your guidance counselor . Ms.M and the principal are caring and compassionate but they can only tell you so many times to do the right thing.

Armstrong High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted July 19, 2016
- a student
I feel like some authority in the school try to better Armstrong but some students like acting up and being disobedient. The bad kids ruin Alot of stuff for the entire school. I personally think every student needs a backbone. Someone who will encourage them and not give up on them and make sure that the student is doing the right thing.

Armstrong High School 2

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Armstrong High School is full of caring teachers and students who are willing and want to learn, unfortunately, there are always a few students, who make it bad, for the school as a whole. What would really make the school better, is to just put the kids who are disrespectful, violent and ignorant beyond measure out! Stop tolerating their foolishness, so the teachers can teach, and the students can learn. It is time to make the students and parents more accountable, and stop putting the total blame on teachers. As a parent, I have been inside Armstrong and seen teachers go the extra mile, with their time, patience and their money, to help the students. Armstrong isn't a perfect school, but it has the potential to be a great school, with the right support from the parents, students and the community.


Armstrong High School 4

Posted August 24, 2013
- a student
I've been attending Armstrong for a year now and while the school as a whole itself isn't what it should be, most teachers are awesome! I wouldn't have expected to meet such warm, loving, caring people in such a violent place. I've gotten use to it and learned to avoid the drama, violence, peer pressure and the Gang affiliation. Being at Armstrong has taught me to control my temper and think about the best possible way to diffuse a situation. I'm not sure if I'm happy about attending the school but I'm sure I have learned very valuable lessons there . Lately, the school and student have made some improvements. I personally see my classmates more willingly eager to get involve in school, school activities.

Armstrong High School 3

Posted August 21, 2013
- a community member
I've been attending Armstrong for three years now and while the school itself isn't what it should be, the teachers are awesome! I wouldn't have expected to meet such warm, loving, caring people in such a violent place. I've gotten use to it and learned to avoid the drama, violence, peer pressure and the Gang affiliation. Being at Armstrong has taught me to control my temper and think about the best possible way to diffuse a situation. I'm not sure if I'm happy about attending the school but I'm sure I have learned very valuable lessons there.

Armstrong High School 1

Posted July 25, 2013
- a student
This school is the absolute WORST school I have ever been to. Its dirty, bugs crawl all through the school, and the children are so disrespectful and rude. I will always downgrade this school because it is just that bad. The teachers don't care, and the principal doesn't do anything about it. There is also a very high rate of violence at that school. I have never been so scared to attend some place like I have with Armstrong.


Armstrong High School 4

Posted May 03, 2009
- a student
I think our school is a good school and no one should be afraid of us. We do have some intellegent students in our school. We also have a lot of smart people who makes wrong choices.

Armstrong High School
no rating

Posted August 10, 2008
- a student
i go to the myself and its alright for a high school in the city. There are also things that they could improve on as far as the teachers. Some of them aren't trained tyhe way they need to be in order to teach the curriculum in a way that everyone in the class understands what they're talking about.

Nearby schools

Armstrong High School
2300 Cool Ln, Richmond, VA  23223
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (804) 780-4449
Last modified Armstrong High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top