Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Bridget School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Richmond

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $252,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2013

I'm starting to wonder if sending my kids to St. Bridget's was the right decision. In fact, I was told by one of the teachers I should consider other schooling options. If your child isn't perfect, it is suggested that they should be tested and medicated. The classes are huge and the teacher can't or won't give children they extra help they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

To the poster dated July 9, 2012, the original comment to which I was referring in my post on May 21, has apparently been removed. The context is lost now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2012

To the poster dated May 21, 2012: in K-3, there is definitely one full-time aide per classroom. In 4th grade in 2011-2012, there was one aide between two classes of 25+. If, as you say, "boys are much more immature than the girls" then I think you're judging them by the "act like girls" standards. I have had both boys and girls at St Bridget. The teachers shout because the classes are too big and the boys tend to be "much more immature than the girls." Yes, they act out and display juvenile behavior (your words) which can be managed if a teacher is trained and interested in helping the boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

My son graduated from St Bridget in 2005 and although we were satisfied with many parts of his education, the Catholic schools simply don't have the resources to teach to the very bright or the below average. In retrospect we may have put him in a public school to take advantage of the enriched courses offered there. There were definitely teachers who were on the weak side a academically, and as a parent I found that the administration didn't take kindly to any criticism of said teachers. On the plus side, our son received the religious education we wanted him to have and left school with a certain amount of discipline and respect for others that he probably wouldn't have gotten in a public school. He went on to a rigorous program at our local public school and is now excelling in college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

Excellent "National Blue Ribbon" School. Great parental involvement and caring involved teachers. Lots of activates for students, nice facilities and great educational outcomes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2010

Excellent school! Great teachers and strong academics, including foreign languages. Family oriented environment. I am very satisfied!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Richmond
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6011 York Rd
Richmond, VA 23226
Phone: (804) 288-1994

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT