Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Richmond Montessori School

Private | PK-8 | 316 students

Private Montessori education

 
 

Living in Richmond

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $214,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 18, 2014

We have been blown away with the excellence at RMS. The authentic Montessori taught by all accredited teachers is refreshing. Graduates of RMS walk away fully prepared to handle the world and are well on their way to being poised young adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

Richmond Montessori school is honestly the best school I have gone to everyone is so nice. I would defiantly recommend this school to someone else.


Posted September 18, 2013

The Richmond Montessori School (RMS) provides a terrific alternative in Richmond's private school arena. The Montessori curriculum nurtures confident, independent learners who go on to consistently do well beyond 8th grade. I have been impressed with the graduates from this school, who seem far more mature and self-directed than middle school students I meet elsewhere. I see similar growth and development in my own children as they progress through the program, and am thrilled we landed in this environment. RMS is truly a gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

Our son has attended RMS for the past four years, and will be entering the lower elementary program next fall. We cannot say enough about the small, nurturing environment and outstanding academics. We have been blessed with wonderful teachers, and are amazed at how our son has thrived ... At six, he is reading, writing in beautiful cursive, engaging in research projects. And all with the joy of learning and full of great excitement, not as a result of any pushing on our part or the School's. We plan to stay through middle school -- This gem of a school may be the best kept secret in town!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2013

I have had three children go through RMS. The academics are superb, and I feel that the kindergarten and elementary levels are the best kept secret in town! This education encourages the spark from within the child, resulting in intellectually curious, academically motivated students. What's more, their ability to communicate with their peers and adults is superb. The administration is committed to continued growth and development of the school. My children have gone on to transition easily at highly ranked collegiate preparatory schools in the area. Their RMS background has helped them to become analytical thinkers, and to develop social skills that create an empathetic young adult who is able to contribute to our community in a meaningful way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

We moved to Ricmond last year and it is second year for my son in this school. Since age 2 my son has been going to a Montessori school and this is our third Montessori school. So far this is best school I have experienced. School provide a community environment which helps your child to thrive. As there are 3 age group kids in one class, your child always know what to look forward to and also learns to help the younger one, which is such a confidence booster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2010

Our son is about to start his second year at RMS and has simply thrived at the school. The teachers are phenomonal, and we love being a part of this community. I can't imagine a better place for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

Wonderful school where each child is their own person rather than merely a number. Lots of private schools claim that they teach to the child, but in my experience (my daughter attended another prestigious private school for the first couple of years), RMS is the one that lives up to this credo. School leadership has a very clear vision and lives this everyday. Purchase of neighboring property will allow the school to expand and live up to its potential. The teachers are exceptional. As I said earlier, each child is valued for their unique qualities. Do go on a tour and see the Montessori magic for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

My son is a primary one student and he has flourished mentally and physically here. The teachers here really do want the best for your child. The parents and overall community of this school is great. Being new to Richmond, I found the parents and staff very welcoming and understanding. If you are new to Richmond, I strongly recommend you check out this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

We've really had a successful year so far. Teachers are involved and frequently communicate. Parental involvement is high. Students are caring and a respect for the child and their learning preferences are highly regarded. Only wish they had more afterschool activities/clubs which were not so costly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

Over the last few years, RMS has lost the Montessori philosophy and is changing itself to be just another private school. The teachers are wonderful, but it seems they are not receiving the support they once had as the adminstration is more focused on maintaining a private school and losing the overall direction and feeling of a Montessori school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

RMS is a wonderful, small school. The Montessori methods, when they are appropriate for your child, lead to a happy, curious child with a lifelong love of learning. However, Montessori is not for everyone. When it works, it's awesome. For some, though, it's not a good match. Some pros for this school are the Montessori methods, small size of the school, caring teachers, diverse student body, and lots of parent involvement. Some cons are limited after-school enirchment opportunities (like any small school,) lots of recent turnover in the administration (ending with a current Head who is well-liked and respected), and that the school may become too small socially in later grades where there are fewer students. Some students might find this limiting while others enjoy such a small peer group. Overall, it's a great school and worth a look to see if it's a good match for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

RMS is awesome! We have two boys, and after six years, we couldn't be happier with our choice! As long term Richmond natives, we knew the choices out there, and chose RMS. As parents, one of our major goals was giving our children the basis to learn to independently think. This crucial process is occurring in amazing ways. Our kids actually ask us for 'work' to do and read independently at several grade levels higher. RMS is a safe, nurturing place where our boys can be challenged to succeed. What more could you want as a parent, than for your child to want to go to school each day! Because parent involvement is encouraged, we have the unique ability to see the kids work, and are often blown away at what they are doing. Most importantly, the Montessori methods are creating independent leaders. RMS is truly about and for children!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

A lot of folks from the 2007-08 class have been dissatisfied with the low focus on students. The teachers need help. They are accepting more students then they can handle. Folks have taken their kids out of here to collegiate.. Check out collegiate reviews, before making a decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

This is a fabulous school which develops the whole child. The staff are caring, encourage independence, and best of all develop in the students a love for learning. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2004

My daughter attended RMS grades 1-8. I'm very pleased with teacher and parental involvement. Class structure allows flexibility to express individuality in caring environment. Academic instruction is good to strong, but range is sometimes limited by small environment. New academic improvements may help correct this problem (new science bldg.). Teachers stress importance of respect, responsibility and cooperation with others. Great place to instill self-motivated learning. Downsides: RMS is poorly equipped to address special needs/learning disabilities; RMS tends to be a very insulated and protected environment where competition is de-emphasized, which works for some children, but maybe not all. I've worried this could make high school adjustment difficult on social level. However, several parents told me their children did very well during transition to other schools, and hopefully we'll experience same. Overall we've been very happy with RMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My son went to pre-school at Richmond Montessori School 5 years ago. Since leaving Montessori and moving into the Public School system, he has always been well ahead of his class. Now in advanced programs, he continues to excel - in the top 3%. I believe his success is strongly linked to the great start he received in this school. They taught him the 'art' of learning - making it fun and engaging. These habits and his incredible desire to learn has stayed with him and his friends who also attended this school with him.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Susanne P. Gregory
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (804) 741-5341

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Cooking club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

499 N Parham Rd
Richmond, VA 23229
Website: Click here
Phone: (804) 741-0040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Collegiate School
Henrico, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT