Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
157 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Luther Memorial School 1

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
Permanently closed. Abandoned by the church and abandoned by leadership. So sad for the dedicated teachers and dedicated parents and students.

Luther Memorial School 2

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
Luther is a small school that recently used "Richmond's Best Kept Secret" as it's slogan. Well it should definitely be kept a secret! Enrollment has dropped significantly in the past 5 years. May be due to lack of leadership, the school has gone through 4 principals in that amount of time. Current principal does not enforce discipline in students. Can think of at least 4 cases of student violence against other students in one classroom alone in the past year. School has resorted to accepting "special needs" students and other students that have been expelled from different schools simply to fill seats. This makes for quite a bit of disruption in the classroom for the average student. Teachers have to spend more time with "special" students they are not equipped to handle therefore neglecting the average student. The building is in serious disrepair. When it rains they put wastebaskets out to catch the drips from the ceiling. In the past school year 2 parents had their vehicles broken into in broad daylight! Teachers are competent and care deeply for their students or else many would have left by now. They are not supported by administration nor backed up when difficult students need to be reprimanded. Teachers are left feeling unappreciated by administration when their concerns are not addressed. Parents pay to send their children to private school because they want them to get a better education in a safer environment. If a private school can't offer that why waste your money there?


Luther Memorial School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are very competent and care deeply for their students. It is sad they aren't backed up by administration more.

Luther Memorial School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
I feel many of the students have become discouraged due to different levels of punishment from student to student.

Luther Memorial School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
Students have been known to attack other students and punishment is never consistent from administration.


Luther Memorial School 2

Posted September 03, 2015
- a community member
I did always feel like my daughter got a great education and the teachers we had were amazing. But, the administration and the school board are terrible. Zero transparency with families. At one point, I found out the administration was relaying my confidential emails to another parent. The decision to make students wear uniforms was made after the enrollment date which would have affected decisions. The school is WAY outdated in terms of technology and is in disrepair. The resources are seriously lacking, where is the tuition money going?? There are no sports programs, no activities. The school needs a change in leadership.

Luther Memorial School 5

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
My daughter attended LMS 1st and 2nd grade. Luther is a small school that is really more like a family. The teachers are very friendly and the administrative staff are caring. I love how the principal meets the kids at the door everyday. My daughter was slightly behind prior to attending LMS and now she is an accelerated reader. The only reason I did not rate the school as "great" is their communication with parents. Often very important items are disseminated via a news letter which is not good for busy working parents and the communication to close school during inclement weather needs to be revised. There is no such thing as a perfect school, but I actually cried on our last day. My son came to LMS for preschool and he advanced from not knowing how to write to ending the year with reading. The teachers definitely push the children to succeed, but the majority of the time is focused on their emotional growth. As a working parent it is wonderful to drop your kids off and know that they are in a safe caring environment. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a good education, nurturing environment, and caring staff.

Luther Memorial School 2

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
My children attended the school from 2011-2013. As far as I am concerned it was a colossal waste of my time to get them there and money. There was no accountability on the administrative side. When I transferred my children back into public school, they were behind. My children are both very smart and could have moved through the material taught at each grade level more quickly, but were held back by the other students who did not grasp concepts as quickly. Since the class sizes were smaller and they weren't supposed to have the discipline problems that the larger classes in the public schools have, we had thought the varied level of learning ability could be more easily dealt with, but it was not. In fact, it seems the lower to mid levels were accommodated, while my children (and other more efficient learners) stagnated. When I tried to take concerns to the administration, the principal denied responsibility for decisions and my concerns about the education at the school. When I attempted to contact the "Board", there were no contact numbers, emails or other such information available. Send your kid to this school if you want to waste your money, or are desperate!


Luther Memorial School 5

Posted March 21, 2012
- a parent
Luther Memorial School has been a great experience for our family. Luther provided a safe, nurturing, diverse, and structured learning environment for our children. We had two children who attended Luther for eight years and we were pleased with the quality of education, the dedication of the teachers, and religious instruction. The students are academically challenged and well prepared. As working parents, we appreciated the convenience of the extended care program whenever we needed to use it. Luther alums have succeeded wherever they have gone and often return to support the school. The parents and kids at Luther also have fun! The activities are varied and range from theater, tag days, pep rallies, international night, basketball tournaments, to soccer games, just to name a few. We consider ourselves blessed to have had children who attended Luther Memorial School.

Luther Memorial School 5

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
We had the wonderful opportunity to enroll our daughter for the 2008/2009 school year for eighth grade. She really blossomed and became her own person while attending Luther Memorial. Her fellow classmates were very welcoming, even though many of them had been together from 1st grade up. The atmosphere is very open and accepting. The principal allowed the 8th graders the ability to have a little more free reign to prepare for high school. I always felt more than welcome to contact the school and or the teachers for any reason. Based on her year of attending Luther she was well prepared to take upper level Spanish and Math classes at the high school she now attends. My only reget is that we did not have her enrolled at Luther for her earlier years of education, particularly her sixth and seventh grades.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Luther Memorial School
1301 Robin Hood Road, Richmond, VA  23227
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (804) 321-6420
Last modified Luther Memorial School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top