Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Steward School

Private | K-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Richmond

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $230,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

Steward offers small class sizes and a strong arts program. This is the only benefit the school maintains over a decent public education. Academically, at least as to the lower school, it is average. It has no core writing or reading program, no social-emotional curriculum, and often teachers use basal text learning. Complacency and lack of a creative curriculum are pervasive. For the cost to send our kids there, I expected far more. Unfortunately, I don't think either the school or other parents realize how average the academic rigor is at the school. The lack of leadership at the lower school is also palpable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

We love Steward, and have two children in Lower School today. The care they receive, the high level of teachers (My kids' Reading and Math just keep getting better!) are what make it stand out. We are really impressed with the focus on character and sportsmanship. Even at ages 7 and 9, our kids (one boy and one girl) have come home with some life lessons I sure could have used at their age. How they do that with all the classes and extras is hard to tell. We're big supporters (as I suppose you can tell). If there was one improvement, it might be to slow down a bit, and let the children not try to "experience" absolutely everything. I think we're different as parents, asking for that instead of running around trying to do it all. But my wife and I feel there's more to life than every possible sport and musical concert. At least they have an out door ecology center alongside the sports fields!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

My years at Steward were some of the best in my life. It allowed me to fully develop during my most formative years and I made some of the best friends I have. Even as an Indian kid, I found my place within the school and my teachers were amazingly supportive and I felt loved and at home. Even now that I am at Maggie Walker, I feel that Steward is my home and I have a Spartan family. Coming from a former student, if you are looking to send your child to a private school in the Richmond area, you should choose Steward. I will always feel at home there and I know your child will too.


Posted April 12, 2013

The only thing this school has going for it is the classroom sizes, the kids, and the parents. The teachers are, mostly, public school rejects; most of them are subpar. If you live in a great neighbourhood on the west of either Henrico or Chesterfield (Cosby, Midlothian, Godwin, Deep Run, or Freeman), save your money and send your kids to public school. Use the money to travel during the summer. If your kids don't end up in one of those free public high schools, home school them. It'll beat this educational facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2011

I LOVE my new school so much more than anything! I have met so many friends here. I used to attend a public school in Henrico County, and I am so glad I made the switch to this school. Everyone was very welcoming, and there were lots of new students attending also. I am in 6th grade, and there is nothing I complain on.


Posted June 20, 2011

Steward School is by far the best of comparable private schools in the Richmond area. Their commitment to small class size is so critical to classroom success for each child. They promote each child's individual strengths as opposed to expecting every child to fit into the same box and in the last two years they have made real progress in improving the school's diversity. My child is very happy at Steward and is getting an amazing education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

Best School in Richmond. One on one attention; concerned about the student's success in life...they are open to people from different economic and cultural backgrounds..support diversity and embrace it. Couldn't be happier. Mr's Melanie Rodriguez has really been fundamental in my son's life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

Steward is just such a great school. Any child who has potential and really wants a good education, great teachers, long-lasting friendships, and a wonderful experience would LOVE Steward. :)


Posted March 21, 2008

I disagree with the previous review that the teacher's do not like to be questioned and are somewhat inflexible. In our two years at Steward we have met nothing but support and success for our 1st grader who we believe is not just average. Steward like many other independant school is saturated with high achievers that are far above average. The administration and the teachers seem to take great care in the placement of the children and are very accomodating in most if not all requests for assistance. Steward is a fabulous educational institute and the teacher's are top-notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

Our children graduated from Steward. We are most grateful for the attention given to helping them select the right colleges. They were well prepared for the academic demands of college and had easier transitions than many college freshmen. In particular, instruction received in writing and public speaking served them well in college and will continue to do so in their chosen careers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2005

The school's mission of not just looking for the rocket scientists doesn't mean that the education programs aren't top notch. Because of the small class sizes, average and very bright students get a wonderful education. The International Students Program adds a global diversity which is important in today's world. The fine arts and sports programs are incredible for a school of its size, and parents are welcome partners. Kids matter here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

My daughter enterered Steward in middle school and is now a senior. The opportunities this school gave to her brought out her leadership and athletic abilities. She developed good organizational and study skills and appreciates the importance of a good education. Steward's teachers are very dedicated people that truly care about the children they teach. My children have attended both private and public schools, but Steward is, by far, the best this town has to offer. With regards to the dress code, my daughter feels good about looking nice when she goes off to school everyday. As a parent, we can still say NO to shoes or other attire that is unsafe or unsuitable for our children. The dress code does allow girls to wear pants during the winter, so this is not an issue. Nothing is perfect, but Steward sure does come close.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2005

The Steward School is a very easy school in the piont of educations. The only challenging part is the Homework(my kids do their homework for 3-4 hours a day!). Other than that the Steward school has an excellent Athletic program. All in all you can say that the Steward School is the right place for Students who had trouble in other private schools in the point of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2004

I disagree with the reviewer that said deep pockets get you in. I know of several families with deep pockets that didn't get in, and many families of modest means who did. My kids love it there, and though they have very different aptitudes and learning styles, they are happy and successful. The focus on the whole child through the strong arts and athletic program is a major plus. Also, it is a very caring community. It's much less snobbish than many of the other private schools in the area, and acceptance of differences is taught and modelled from Kindergarten on. The buildings are gorgeous, but it's the staff that are the real treasure. You can't beat it in the Richmond area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2004

This school offers a banal approach to education. It is entirely consumed by rules and regimentation and appears to understand little about the process of stimulating independent learning. Parents and students frequently are subjected to hours of homework and much of class time is consumed in checking and assigning more homework. Testing is ceaseless. There is no attempt to honor or support diversity. This is truly a small town school with a small town view of today's world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2004

The Steward School is an excellent school! By far superior to others in this area. Our experience in the past 5 years was fantastic. One on one attention, excellent staff, small classrooms, warm enviroment. Parents are very involved and friendly. The lowerschool head mistress is the best, along with her staff. I would highly recommend this school over any other in Richmond. Both of my children have enjoyed the school so much and have a love of learning as a result. The campus is NEW and has wonderful facilities. Teaching methods are above board. This is a gem of a school in a world that is not so pleasant. Review for yourself, you will be pleased. E.Gallahan
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2003

Steward is one of the top schools in the area. Excellent faculty and very small classes. Beautiful campus and strong in sports and arts. Faculty and staff very involved with students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ken Seward
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11600 Gayton Rd
Richmond, VA 23238
Website: Click here
Phone: (804) 740-3394

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT