Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Riverside School

Private | 1-8 | 68 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Richmond

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $170,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

Riverside provides specialized 1-on-1 education for a good part of the day to help my child receive instruction that is unique to him but following the Orton-Gillingham approach used with the rest of the students. The teachers operate with small class sizes which again provides more attention to each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

Riverside school is excellent at their skill and knowledge of helping children with dyslexia. They know how to work with these children and relate to them making the learning environment fun and beneficial for the children. Their primary focus is on the children therefore their skill and communication is with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

Riverside has worked miracles with our daughter. When she entered the program a year ago she was despondent and highly critical of herself. She was positive that she was incapable of learning. In just over a year she has made tremendous progress in her literacy skills and has regained her confidence and sunny disposition. The entire faculty and the administration work tirelessly with every single student to ensure each child truly gets an individualized education. WORTH EVERY PENNY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

They work miracles with many children! Our child is ready for the regular school systems, which we thought might not be possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

We moved to Richmond from another town in Virginia specifically to be able to send our son to Riverside. He is a second grader with dyslexia, but in his first year at Riverside, which is a school specifically for kids with language based learning differences. He has made amazing leaps and bounds in the half year he has been there. The teachers are wonderful, the one-on-one that he gets is unbelievable (he has 8 in his class and also has 45 minutes one-on-one with his language fundamentals teacher 4x a week) and the administration is completely committed, caring and just all around great. The PE teacher is great too! The kids there get tons of physical activity which really helps them - they really take a whole child approach to education. I can't recommend Riverside enough. I almost wish that my other children were dyslexic so that they could attend Riverside, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

This school has made my son able to enjoy learning for the first time in his life. Since the first week he has come home smiling at the end of the school day. He no longer feels as if he is the only kid that struggles to read and write. The teachers and the programs are great beyond measure. God bless them all and keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

This is the best school for kids with L.D. it will help the kid or kids more than you could ever dream.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • CEC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2110 McRae Road
Richmond, VA 23235
Phone: (804) 320-3465

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT