Advertisement
Advertisement

Charterhouse School

Private

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended programs

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Richmond

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $161,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2010

Charterhouse School is a very special and unique environment for students and teachers. We offer a strong academics as well as music, art, P.E., computer, culiinary arts, and cosmetology. We have a varied service learning program and a greenhouse. We have a cultural enrichment program which brings in artists and performers from the local community. There is a great sense of community here as well- which is why teachers stay here for many years. We really do make a difference in the lives of the youth we serve.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2010

This school helps children with Special Needs achieve and education and services to assist them in becoming productive adults. These children have been neglected and abused in the past and Charterhouse helps to turn their lives rightside up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I love the diversity of the staff, the programs, the student-teacher ratio, the dedication of the entire staff and the good results from students wo have graduated the program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

The school helps special needs students and has high level of structure. The school is backed by an established organization that cares about kids a great deal.


Posted October 13, 2010

THE CHILDREN ARE WONDERFUL AND THE TEACHERS ARE EXCELLENT!


Posted October 13, 2010

Because it is a place to help children and teens recieve the extra help and care that they need for success that they wouldn't get in a regular public school.


Posted October 13, 2010

This SOL-aligned private school focuses on the needs of the whole child. Students receive therapeautic services in addition to an individualized education that centers on student strengths. Small class sizes, administrative support, and a team atmosphere make CHS a great workplace!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 30, 2008

I use to be a student at this school. The school is brand new and it is a beauty. This is an awesome school
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Methodist
Associations
  • CEC
  • NIPSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 W Broad St
Richmond, VA 23230
Phone: (804) 254-9678

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Richmond Academy
Richmond, VA



St. Benedict School
Richmond, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT