Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Richmond, VA
Students enrolled: 445
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Edward-Epiphany School 2

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
Overall, this school is about the same as an average suburban public school. We experienced some bullying, exclusion, and cliques during the years we spent there. Some teachers are great and some are truly awful. The overall culture takes some breaking into--if you already have friends there you'll be in good shape. And staff really don't go out of their way to foster a culture of kindness, especially during critical social times like recess and lunch. If you like the idea of a private school, it could work for you. Our kids have been better off in the regular old public schools.

St Edward-Epiphany School 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
This school provides an excellent education and has gone from good to great to incredible with their adoption of the "Leader in me" program. St. Edwards is in one of the best public school districts so being a private school it needs to provide something better - and it does. Caring faculty, sound facilities, good after school options and excellent leadership from the principal on down. The "Leader in me" program is teaching kids versions of the seven habits of highly effective people and our sons have really engaged with it. 15hrs of parental involvement is mandatory but there are so many ways to contribute that it really serves as a way to just be involved with your kids. Catholic education is presented, but the school is not dogmatic and multiple perspectives are welcomed. Overall we've had a great experience and highly recommend this school as a better alternative to an already great public school system in this area.


St Edward-Epiphany School 5

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
St. Edward-Epiphany School is recognized as National Blue Ribbon School! The school provides a strong academic and spiritual foundation. Communication and community connection are just a couple of its benefits. Students are well prepared for high school!

St Edward-Epiphany School 5

Posted January 05, 2013
- a parent
St. Edward-Epiphany School (SEES) stands apart from the other private schools in Richmond in one unique way- your family will belong to a strong community that is invested in your child's academic, spiritual and emotional well being. Academics are comparable to other private schools, but with a much more accessible tuition rate than the competitors. This allows for a more diverse community of families. The teacher turn over is low, offering your family the wonderful experience of engaging in a partnership with your child's teachers that begins in Pre-K and follows through your child's 8th grade year. The teachers truly love the children that come through their classrooms, and they stay connected to your family throughout your child's education. Parent involvement is a vital piece of the success at SEES. Parents are required to volunteer 15 hours each year, which offers you an intimate seat in your child's academic journey. WIth strong parent involvement, compassionate leadership from Mrs. Elliott, and a personable and professional faculty, SEES lives out their mission to educate the "whole child" in an environment that is as loving as it is academically challenging.

St Edward-Epiphany School 5

Posted September 18, 2010
- a parent
SEES has a great community of involved parents, carent & talented teachers, strong leadership from admin, and a high level of school spirit among the students. The price is right compared to others and it's an excellent alternative to the very weak public school alternatives in the area.


St Edward-Epiphany School 5

Posted May 03, 2006
- a parent
Academic programs are good. Music, Art, sports are all available. 15 hours of parent involvement required per year. Good school, but some people send their kids here simply because it is not a public school, vs. because it is a 'Catholic' school. The religion is important, people.

St Edward-Epiphany School 5

Posted April 03, 2005
- a student
We just moved to the area and my children feel very accepted and cared for going to St. Edward's. As well as learning Christian values, my children also have the opportunity to participate in sports and extra curricular activities.

St Edward-Epiphany School 1

Posted January 28, 2005
- a student
I do not think that this school is good at all i went there for 3 years and at first everyone was fine until they learnt that i lived in a poor place and that i did not have that much money basically their teachin is fine but the people involved with the school are terrible if you do not have money the parents will snub you and the children will outcast you especially if you are just a little bit overweight i would never recommend this school for anyone unless they have gone there since kindergarten or have friends that already go there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Edward-Epiphany School
10701 West Huguenot Road, Richmond, VA  23235
(804) 272-2881
Last modified St Edward-Epiphany School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Edward-Epiphany School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top