Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
134 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Richmond Waldorf School 5

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
After visiting Montessori and Waldorf, we enrolled our son. We now have our 3, 5 and 7 year olds attending and it was the best decision we ever made! The kids love going to school! They heard French lullabies in preschool and now in the grades my son is learning Russian and Spanish. The children learn in a fun way and actually grasp the concepts and develop a love to learn. My son also has sensory issues, and the staff have always been very helpful and really look for the greatest good for each individual child. Not only is the curriculum excellent, but some of the outdoor play included bicycle lessons, safety and a field trip to see the Worlds in our own backyard, not to mention walks to Maymont, "work" at the Botanical Gardens and other community service. After three years, I cannot wait to see my children doing what I see the older kids doing! And the alumni seem to be doing well in top schools, a product of a Waldorf education! Thanks to all the teachers and staff! We love you, and so do our children!

Richmond Waldorf School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
These values are at the core of the Waldorf education and one of the many reasons my daughter attends this school.


Richmond Waldorf School 5

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
My School is Richmond Waldorf School. The student always travel for the end of the year class trips. Great life experience

Richmond Waldorf School 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a teacher
Richmond Waldorf is a great place to work. The best part of the school is the children. They are attentive, responsive, fun-loving, and good-natured. It's a joy to work with them every day. As a community of teachers and parents we have our challenges, but that's what keeps us real and keeps us growing. Check out Richmond Waldorf School if you want a truly meaningful education for your child!

Richmond Waldorf School 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
Richmond Waldorf offers truly holistic education. Children are given the skills and confidence to flourish as they move forward in life - they have a deep sense of self and their abilities. My children were well prepared for competitive high schools. Where else can a child learn to play violin and recorder, paint beautifully, engage in woodworking projects, study Russian, take farm and backpacking class trips while mastering academic subjects. Waldorf kids love school


Richmond Waldorf School 5

Posted November 13, 2012
- a parent
"I like the teachers" "we have a lot of outdoor play" "we do a lot of drawing and painting" "we gather together on Fridays--the whole school-and show what we are working on like plays,music,poems, songs and dances." "I have lots of good friends". From my son in 4th grade We have been at the school since kindergarten

Richmond Waldorf School 5

Posted May 07, 2012
- a parent
My oldest son is completing his 8th grade year at RWS having been a student there since he was 4 years old. He has grown into a deep thinker, a prolific reader, he has an inexhaustible interest in science, history and politics and just aced a practice Algebra I SOL. In addition, he has developed skills in the performing and visual arts. Not the most social kid by nature, his Waldorf experience has helped him develop real and lasting connections with classmates and teachers. I am very proud to say that he will be attending a Governor's school for high school next fall. I would say that Waldorf has prepared my son not just for high school, but for life.

Richmond Waldorf School 5

Posted April 12, 2012
- a parent
I cannot imagine a better place to start off an education. Both our daughters have attended Richmond Waldorf and we couldn't be happier with the whole experience. Something we as a society forget that our children need to learn is how to be good humans. Without that, the rest is really very unimportant. Richmond Waldorf is teaching the whole child and starting with the basics that are so often overlooked. It is truly inspiring to witness what a child is capable of when allowed to develop in this kind of environment.


Richmond Waldorf School 5

Posted March 30, 2012
- a parent
We started the process of Waldorf for just Kindergarten...then, we could not leave because we saw tangible benefits within our children. They are amazing, well-rounded children, and I attribute it to the reinforcement of what goes on at home in their class. We now have 5 children, and will do everything we can to keep all of them there through 8th grade!

Richmond Waldorf School 5

Posted March 24, 2012
- a parent
The Richmond Waldorf School is beyond good - it's the best. It's the kind of place that makes you, as a parent, wish you could start all over again in kindergarten and do it yourself. There's magic, energy, and love in this school that you can't find anywhere else. The staff's understanding of the needs of children of every age, the ability to meet them where they are, and the thoughtfulness and care taken with lessons and activities, places the school above the rest. And for the lucky kids going through it - well, it's not "school," as perhaps other children are experiencing "school." This is home, this is discovery, and this is learning at its best. Where else can you see both kindergartners and eighth graders alike racing to the doors, eager to begin a day at school? If you're looking for a unique, loving, personalized approach to learning, check out the Richmond Waldorf School!

Nearby schools

Richmond Waldorf School
1000 Westover Hills Blvd, Richmond, VA  23225
(804) 377-8024
Last modified Richmond Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top