Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
102 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West End Montessori School 5

Posted April 19, 2016
- a community member
Ten years ago this year, I methodically searched for my 3-year old child's first school experience. After a lot of visits, talking to other parents and of course, a spreadsheet, both the data and my gut feeling pointed to WEMS. Fast forward a decade, two children and 6 years as a WEMS family (we hadn't planned on a few elementary years as our public schools are excellent, but I haven't regretted the decision to keep my children at WEMS through those first fragile years of elementary), I find myself with a pair of children who are curious, love learning, thinker critically, are aware of the world and resilient. Yes, there are plenty of tween/teen moments in our hours, but the nurturing environment created by Janet and her excellent staff have been crucial in their development.

West End Montessori School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
They are devoted to the students and genuinely want to see them succeed on their own. They even attend student events not related to school activities.


West End Montessori School 5

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
My children went to WEMS toddler through elementary and are straight-A students at their new schools. More important than the As is that the teachers at WEMS provided opportunities for them to develop their own internal motivation to do their work and to give it their best effort. Those opportunities are irreplaceable. I admire the congeniality and professionalism of the teachers and staff through the years as well. I will always be grateful for our experience at WEMS.

West End Montessori School 5

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
WEMS offers children a safe, hands on environment within which to grow both socially and academically. The director, teachers, and staff foster a culture of community encouraging open communication between children, parents, and staff. WEMS supports individual student development via a customized curriculum tailored to the individual's abilities as opposed to more traditional teaching methods. It is truly amazing to watch my children flourish in the atmosphere created by the teachers and staff of WEMS.

West End Montessori School 3

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
I have been a parent at WEMS for two years. The teachers at this school are absolutely amazing and I would give them more than 5 stars if I could. Unfortunately, the director of the school is not. She is very disorganized and completely uncaring of how this affects the parents and families. This leads to chaos and confusion for situations such as snow days, field trips, and even special ceremonies. I have talked to many parents that agree she is difficult to deal with. Even the newsletter is irregular and often confusing. My kids were very happy in their classrooms, so we stayed there, but now I am very happy to be leaving. I never for a second considered staying for the Elementary years.


West End Montessori School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
I started my son a week back and he is going to turn three in a couple of months. This was his first experience away from home. His teachers are really awesome and they provided him such a warm welcome and made him feel very safe and securred. On the first day, when he felt the separation anxiety and cried, his teacher lifted him up and hugged him tight. He had felt so welcomeed that he never cried for his second day to school.This school is so awesome in their montessori mission of teaching and the teachers are really wonderful !!!!!!! I am so so glad i made the right choice.

West End Montessori School 5

Posted February 22, 2008
- a parent
West End Montessori School has established a beautiful sense of community. This Montessori school sticks to its mission. The administration and teachers are wonderful. They are doing a remarkable job guiding our child along this amazing journey of childhood. He is an upper elementary student who loves going to school!

West End Montessori School 5

Posted October 05, 2007
- a parent
Great school, love the teachers! It is my daughter's 4th year at the school ( she is in first grade) and she loves it.

Nearby schools

West End Montessori School
9307 Quioccasin Road, Richmond, VA  23229
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (804) 523-7536
Last modified West End Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top