Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

A M Davis Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 679 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2014

We love our school! My 3rd child to go through A.M. Davis is now a 4th grader. We have had excellent teachers and caring support staff. Nothing but positive experiences with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

My child is a Kindergartner at A.M. Davis this year. SHE LOVES IT! She has a wonderful teacher who is very encouraging. In her own words ,"My teacher is fun, nice, and she teaches us in a kind way." She also tells me that the kids on her bus are nice, which was a HUGE worry of hers going into school. As a parent I am thrilled with her progress this year. She is pretty much reading and we aren't even to the end of the year. She is grasping math concepts and singing songs that help her remember money and she loves getting on Edmodo to do the extra things her teacher posts on there.I also want to mention the resource teachers are great. The PTA is always planning events for parents to come to. Math nights, reading nights, pancake nights (which the weather cancelled), music by the chorus, and family nights at Cici's, Sweet frog and chick-fil-a. Over all I am happy. And look forward to seeing what this school has to offer next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Many of my friends children attend Davis and really love the communication provided with teachers and parents. I have had a chance to meet the staff and they are fabulous people. My daughter will be attending in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

Outstanding school and teachers. Both of my children go to AM Davis and love it. Many schools throughout Chesterfield county are over rated and people overspend on houses to be close to those schools, when your children will get same quality education, if not better, at AM Davis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

I was very pleased with the staff and teachers. My daughters teachers always kept me informed about everything. I think all in all it is a good school. The only thing negative is that when I would have lunch with my daughter they did not seem to supervise the kids as well as they should have. the older kids would be yelling,pushing and shoving each other. I felt that that should have been addressed but otherwise I was very happy with the school. I wish we had not had to move because the school my daughter attends now has caused my child to hate school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

I am very happy with AM Davis and all the staff! We just recently moved and with the help from the staff, my kids made a great transition. Starting in the office the ladies are always willing to help with any questions or concerns you may have. The activities that have been offered from family game night, to the fall festival, have been a wonderful way for me to meet other families in the neighborhood. I am very happy with this school and think you will be too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

This school has the most caring staff ever!


Posted November 5, 2009

Some of the best & caring teachers anywhere


Posted August 22, 2009

A.M. Davis is a great school. It was a pleasure to see my Kindengartener and 1st grader do so well during the school year. My husband and I also enjoyed attending all the family activities that the school provided. I would refer the school to anyone who wants a great education for their grade schooler.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

i am not happy with this school. i feel that my son was not changed enough... he never had homework, and i did know what he was learning in class each week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

This is a great school. The staff knows me by name, my child started K 3 months ago. Every child is greeted by name as they come through the doors and tons of compliments are given to them (I like your new pack, new haircut, etc). The Speech dept is outstanding. The principal, Mrs. Lowery, on down are very approachable and attentive to the parents as well as the children. They have the Va teacher of the year that may become the national teacher of the year. Excellent, excellent, excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

We love Davis. The teachers and the staff demonstrate great concern for all the students. The PTA works closely with the students, teachers, and staff. Many wonderful events are held at the school for the students and families to participate in. The environment is welcoming to parents. Good job Davis!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

I love AM Davis........My daughter attends this school...she is involved in activities and other events with the school and she loves it as well....and the teachers are great!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2006

I am very disappointed in some aspects of Davis. While there are excellent teachers at this school there are the substandard ones. I have been appalled at times by the schools willingness to allow inappropriate conduct from its students and faculty. School is no longer a safe place for the sensitive or average child. Recess is [not] long [enough] which is incredible since studies have shown our children do not get enough exercise which is crucial to having a healthy mind as well as body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

Like most of the reviews, A.M. Davis is a great school. But in the past couple years it has gone down a bit. But with me not being there for 4 years, I'm not quite sure. When I was a student there, I loved it. it was the greatest environment and all the parents participated in things like field days and PTA. This is a great school but if your child has a problem its beter for them to just not tell the teacher than to tell the teacher because most of the time, the teacher doesn't do anything about the problem. which is not good on part of the staff. Overall though, I like the school. Good job.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 5, 2006

Overall I think A.M Davis is a great school.The principal,and the staff are awesome.They are generally concerened about all their students,and their well being.The teacher/parent communication is great.I never have a problem getting in touch with any of the staff about anything.Everyone I meet who works at the school is friendly.Both of my daughters love going to school every day.They are both receiving a wonderful ecucation.It is a well mixed enviroment.When we first bought our home I was very nervous about the schools,but we couldnt be any happpier.Go Dragons!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

I would like to thank all the teachers at this school for their hard and caring work. AM Davis have a good staff of teachers that really do a great job in educating our children and especially preparing them for SOL tests. I am a mother with both a 5th and 4th grader. I'm proud to say they do extremely well due to the rigorous schedule both my husband and I keep through out the year with our jobs and extra curricular activities. Both our son and daughter are honor role students, well behave and have good study habits. Once again, thanks to the teachers and especially the principal for having such a good relationship with the students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

My son was not here long, but from the situation he came from the children were not very friendly to him. The teachers and staff were excellent and did all they could. But they can't do it alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2004

This is an older school with a well-kept physical plant. The Principal seems genuinely warm and caring about the students. I worked as a substitute in some special education classrooms and she popped in to check on my classes. I thought that was good of her to do when her students are being exposed to a new stranger. Classrooms are well stocked and children are generally well behaved. I liked the core values education comments that the children are exposed to each morning with the announcements. This school has an ethnically diverse student body and everyone seems to get along.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2004

This is a really great school. The principal knows almost every student by name, the classes are small, the teachers are good and the PTA and volunteers are very involved. This is an older school but they've taken very good care of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students62%
Female students75%
Male students49%
Black students70%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracial70%
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English69%

Math

All Students57%
Female students65%
Male students49%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial80%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English61%

Science

All Students68%
Female students71%
Male students64%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial60%
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students62%
Female students60%
Male students63%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities13%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient students36%
Proficient in English69%

Math

All Students83%
Female students83%
Male students83%
Black students83%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students74%
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students79%
Male students69%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students90%
Proficient in English71%

English: Writing

All Students66%
Female students76%
Male students59%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%

Math

All Students60%
Female students67%
Male students55%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students50%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English57%

Science

All Students77%
Female students80%
Male students75%
Black students68%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Rachel Foglesong

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

415 S Providence Rd
Richmond, VA 23236
Phone: (804) 674-1310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT