Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Seven Hills Middle School for Boys

Private | 5-8 | 100 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Richmond

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $212,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, July 23, 2014

We just completed our first year at 7 Hills and could not be happier. There were some initial bumps, which is to be expected when you make any big change like moving schools. We have settled in and have been very happy. Faculty and Staff have been great to deal with, and having been at other private schools I understand that every school has it's own administrative eccentricities and communication style. We have found 7 Hills to be great at inspiring our boys in the class room and the administration has been responsive and supportive. We are looking forward to what the coming years will bring!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2014

I am just looking into my options. AlbertHill Jr high is our home...but I'm researching options.


Posted June 6, 2014

Out of respect for prospective parents reading these posts, if a parent or a boy writes a post - and a member of their family is a Board member - they should clearly identify themselves as such. A large group of parents asked the Board and Head of School to address specific, documented concerns, and the Board and HOS declined to address their concerns. While my son loves the school, we question the quality of education he is receiving and do not think the Board or the HOS is effective. True parental concerns appear to be swept under the carpet. Our son will return to Seven Hills only because the contract is iron clad, but he will not be returning the following year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2014

I'm a freshman in high school now. I went to 7 Hills for three years. I loved going to school every day. The teachers were really good and always helped me. Now I go to the governor's school (ranked 13th in the country!!) and I haven't had any trouble doing the work. I wish 7 Hills had a high school because I would go there.


Posted June 5, 2014

7HS is awesome! My son is a graduate and is currently in one of the top private high schools in Richmond. 7HS prepared him well for high school ... both academically and socially. He is on the honor roll and thriving. I would recommend 7HS to any parent who is looking for a school that educates the whole boy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2014

My son went to this school for three years and we all loved it. This is a school that really "gets" boys. The teachers are wonderful, and (despite what some other commenters say) the leadership has a great strategic vision. Our boy was well prepared for HS, not just academically but also socially and in self-confidence. Do yourself a favor: spend the time to visit the school and decide for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2014

Before you sign a contract with any school, ask for the following information in writing: 1. Student Retention- How many students have left the school after only a year or two? Find out why people have left. 2. Teacher Retention- How long have teachers/staff been at the school. Find out how many have left over the past 3 years. Investigate why they have left. 3. Teacher Bios- Ask for comprehensive teacher bios. Find out what teaching experience they have, whether they are licensed, and what their credentials are. Then you can compare the teacher bios to those of other nearby private schools. 4. Administration Bios Be sure to ask for detailed information about the administration running the school. Do they have administration experience? If yes, how many years? What type of degree do they have? Compare the administration bios to those of other nearby schools. 5. Student Placement - Find out what high school programs students are accepted into after graduation. Compare current acceptance rates to those of students 4 years ago. 6. References - Be sure to ask around to find out what people think of the school. Remember, in a small community, reputation is everything!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

There is so much potential at this school. Unfortunately the leadership of this school is ill equipped to handle the position. The head of school has poor communication skills, fails to return phone calls and emails and the sales pitch doesn't meet up with what they claim to provide. They take your money and run. Out of 19 boys who started in this school in 5th grade, only 8 stayed to complete the program until 8th in 2014. Pitiful retention and no wonder why. While the boys seem happy, the parents are upset and concerned that the academics are not rigorous, there is no testing. Parents express their concerns to deaf ears. The board is ineffective. What a waste of $15k. Some of the teachers are truly special and fantastic, some are unable to control their classrooms and lack any formal educational background, which results in less than effective teaching techniques. Many of the parents have gone up the flag pole and gotten no where....and thus have left, some at the cost of a paying tuition for a school that they will not allow their child to attend. Buyer beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

7 Hills has been a godsend for my two boys. One has tested "gifted" and describes 7 Hills as "the school he's been looking for his whole life." My 2nd son needs physical space in the classroom in order to feel comfortablel; he's thriving here. It's a true boys school where they're outside every 90 minutes to let off some steam. The teachers want the boys to succeed. The head of school inspires the boys. We love it. I think if you, as a parent, require a traditional setting where the boys dress well every day, you won't be comfortable at 7 Hills at first.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1311 Overbrook Rd.
Richmond, VA 23220
Website: Click here
Phone: (804) 329-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Veritas School
Richmond, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT