Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenfield Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 600 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

The special education services that this school provides (or is willing to provide) is heartbreaking. I would not recommend this school to any parent who has a child with a developmental delay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

I love the small community feel of Greenfield. My child transitioned into Kindergarten flawlessly after having lack luster reports in preschools. The teachers are fun, caring, and expect much. This is a well-rounded, diverse school with so many positives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2012

I just graduated from Greenfield and I have been there since Kindergarden. I LOVE Greenfield. There are some pretty amazing teachers and awesome Greenfield traditions. There's also some fun projects and activities too. Not every thing is perfect, but then again, no school is perfect. I think my Greenfield experience was awesome!!!!!


Posted December 7, 2010

My child is in the CBG program at Greenfield. I expressed concern about bullying to his teacher who told me that we should go back to our home school. There is a big focus on shaming students as well - announcing all grades, posting the names of those who did not make honor roll, and posting the names of those who didn't complete homework and leaving them up and offering a reward to the 'class' if there are no names there. It's like a collection of everything ugly in teaching methods. We were extremely disapointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

My daughter just finished her first year at Greenfield, and honestly I wasn't super impressed. I wasn't a fan of her teacher, I felt like she put too much on them and considering my daughter had just turned 5 weeks before school whereas others turned 6 shortly after school I don't think their ages and the fact that most had one whole year of development over the others, was taken into consideration. She was attending Greenfield on a waiver becasue of her daycare being so close but she was originalyl registered at Spring Run Elementary and I still got their PTA emails. They did so much more over there then Greenfield. The office and staff were fantastic, so I guess my main issue was just with her teacher and me getting the feeling she played favorites with some of the students. This year she will be attending a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Greenfield has a growing autism program. It's still in its infancy, but teachers there understand and other students are understanding and cooperative. It has made a world of difference after two other elementary schools and six pre-schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2008

My child has finished her first year at Greenfield and we couldn't be happier. She loves her school, her friends, and her whole experience. The staff and teachers are wonderful and get to know each family and student, something that we are very thankful for. My other children are excited to attend Greenfield too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

This year we sent our oldest child to kindergarden at Greenfield and have been very pleased! She has a wonderful, caring teacher whom she adores. She learned to tie her shoes the first week and learned to read by Christmas break! What more could we ask for?! We love that we can pop in for lunch and bring her little brother to visit. It is nice to know that neighborhood schools still exist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2003

We have 3 children, 2 who were Greenfield students have now graudated high school, and our youngest has been in Greenfield since kindergarten. I love this school! It's small and only fed by a few surrounding communities. The teachers are great and most have been at Greenfield since my two oldest were there. In my opinion, your child couldn't go to a nicer school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2003

I have been pleased with Greenfield. As a parent, it is great to know my child has gotten so much support. I love the 'good news grams' our daughter brings home sometimes, just for being herself.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students86%
Male students82%
Black students29%
Asian students83%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students86%
Female students88%
Male students85%
Black students29%
Asian students92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Science

All Students92%
Female students91%
Male students93%
Black students64%
Asian students92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students94%
Female students96%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

Math

All Students94%
Female students93%
Male students95%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students93%
Female students94%
Male students91%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

English: Writing

All Students91%
Female students96%
Male students86%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students62%
Female students64%
Male students58%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English64%

Science

All Students93%
Female students90%
Male students95%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10751 Savoy Rd.
Richmond, VA 23235
Phone: (804) 560-2720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Riverside School
Richmond, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT