Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Reams Road Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 520 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2013

Last school year was our first year at Reams. I am very impressed with the teachers and staff thus far! Money and parent participation is certainly an issue though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

I have 1 child at Reams and and I truly love the way the teachers interact with him as well as the other children.The staff truly cares about the kids and they take that extra mile to help them succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

I have two children at Reams and love the relationships they share with their fellow students as well as their teachers. Mrs. Dunn is the most caring, nurturing principal who shows consideration and kindness to EVERY student; always making them feel special, and encouraging their capabilities. My kids have had great relationships with their teachers, making them excited to learn. Gotta love that! The staff is always there to assist anytime you need help, with a positive attitude. The school slogan, 'Work Hard Be Kind' is evident that it is instilled on a daily basis! I love Reams Elementary, and feel they are very deserving of this honor. I hate to see budget cuts in the school systems, as the children ARE our future, and I feel confident Reams would use this prize money to it's most efficient use!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Reams is a caring, compassionate, supportive community of students, parents and teachers who have a genuine respect for each other and for learning. The teachers and staff go above and beyond to make each child feel special. They take time to discover the gifts within each child that makes them unique.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 18, 2010

So many reasons why, for us everyone at Reams is family! It always amazed me how a 5th grade teacher knew who my 1st grader was - the teachers know and care about all the students, even if they were not in their class!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Great Teacher and Principal. No Complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

The teachers care about the students especially the special needs students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

My child attends Reams Elementary and has special needs in english/language, and was being taught two separate curriculums. When his teacher told me he wasn't keeping up with his peers I asked how they expected him to if they were teaching him two separate curriculums? I am a working parent, but make no excuses and work with him regularly on his reading/language. He also has a speech therapy teacher at Reams who I think the WORLD of. She is absolutely wonderful and has exceeded my expectations. I am a parent who has also volunteered on a number of occasions, but have been told there were plenty of volunteers and I wasn't needed. The school works better with some children/parents then they do with others. Unfortunately, my son and I are of the others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

I have had children in Reams for the last 5 years and every year they get better. More programs for the children , great quality teachers, teaching to children where they are as individuals. I work for another elementary school near by and would not even think of moving my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

This school has come VERY far since I went there when I was young & now I have 2 kids. Thier teachers have been wonderful & any issues I have, I know I can speak freely with the principals... & have had to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

My children have previously gone to Crenshaw Elementary and Providence Elementary. I have a child with special needs who is learning disabled and one who is gifted. They have never flourished so greatly as the time they have been at Reams Elementary! Failing grades became A's & B's, no communication became exceptional communication! I can never thank the staff enough for all they have done for my children both mentally and emotionally!! They are fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

The teachers are great and truly dedicated to their job. The problem lies in the economic area. Parental involvement is very little and the school does not have any money. Whatever they do get goes to the basics for the school and the kids. Field trips are pathetic, programs are underfunded, and there's not much passion from most parents. Low SES makes it tough. They are doing their best to keep the school looking good through SOL pass rates, but overall, not a high performing school. The teachers seem to do their best with what they have, although some certainly try harder than others. Admin doesn't like risks and I think more could be done if they thought outside of the box. Good teachers, low SES families. It's tough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

Reams is a great school, the teachers and staff are warm and loving to the children. The ESL program does make it very difficult on the teachers and children. The parents need to take more of an interest in their children and get more involved in volunteering and joining of the PTA. The main problem with Reams is the lack of parent volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2005

There is not much to say about Reams, nothing really special. It would be the plain turkey sandwitch on the table with fine French cuisine compaired to the surrounding elementary schools. I have not been impressed the teach quaility or the principal. It is not a very motivating atmosphere for our children. And it is hard to get in touch with the staff. There are little to no extra activities and the students seem bored. Our daughter does not feel like it is the best school either. It's as if the kids just go there to take some test to get the scores the staff needs to keep the school open. That is not what I remember my elementary school being like. Whatever happened to teaching a love of learning or making learning fun? Reams and the PTA are a bit too self serving and not productive at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2005

My child has been at Reams for three years and every year we face more problems with her educational program. Partly because of the SOL but more so the lack of specialized learning plans for student with an LD. We have seen nothing more then a slower and lower level of reading instruction, and no efforts to expand methods of teaching. The apathetic attitude of Reams administrator and lack of productive possibilities for our child has left us with few choices, to move to a county with a better program, to enroll in a private school for students with learning disabilities or to have our child routinely held back grade levels projecting the inability to complete an education. We have seen a complete disregard towards social and emotional factors that such policies create, only the bottom line of test scores. No child left behind does not apply to special education students here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

Daughter attended 1st-5th, teachers really care & work hard to help students. Problem lies with economic area and funding. Parental involvement is nil unless you're on the PTA. Large ESL population is an issue with staffing & overcrowding of classes, avg size is 22, NOT 15!School is spotless and discipline is enforced well. Music and art programs are very strong & involved. Athletic dept very involved but dirt poor..everything is funded by parents selling items all year round AND volunteering. This school was a warm environment for our child but is slowly having issues due to the struggle for proper funding & the slide of the surrounding socio-economic district. Seems that Chesterfield County funnels all money into Midlo district to the detriment of Reams/Providence area. Great teachers work hard to offset the issues this school faces, probably the best teachers in the county. Truly impressed with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2003

This was the best school, it's a hard act to follow.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students75%
Male students75%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students74%
Female students70%
Male students78%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English75%

Science

All Students88%
Female students85%
Male students91%
Black students80%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students71%
Female students70%
Male students72%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Math

All Students82%
Female students77%
Male students85%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students88%
Male students76%
Black students70%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

English: Writing

All Students81%
Female students80%
Male students83%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students85%
Female students89%
Male students81%
Black students80%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Science

All Students91%
Female students92%
Male students91%
Black students80%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jodi Seitz

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10141 Reams Rd.
Richmond, VA 23236
Phone: (804) 674-1370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT