Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Salem Church Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 582 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2010

It has great teachers and is a excellent learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

My daughter is in the first grader and we are so pleased with the Salem Elementary experience. The teachers ,staff and parents do an outstanding job working hard together. Our principal is Awesome.She is very hands on and Saftey is top on her list. Thank you Salem Elementary Team, for making my daughter and my transition smooth the last two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

I teach at Salem Church Elementary School, this is my second year there. I taught at two other schools prior to Salem and I have to say that I have never been happier at a work place. Our Principal is super and our new Assistant Principal is as well. In a few years after they have their rhythm down, it will be so fantastic. I see teacher come early, stay late, tutor, plan events, and work with parents willingly. Too often these days you hear teachers say 'Sorry that's not my job'. But when it comes to teaching your job description is not in stone and 96% of our teacher get that at Salem. We have some great parents and get the support we need and it is only getting better. Check back in a few years and see an 8 or 9! Amy Gibson
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 15, 2007

The last day of school and my son was advanced to the next grade. Every parents wishes. I have seen my son grow while at SCE. His first report card had 4 E's and 8 S;s. He finale is 7 8 E's and 5 S's. When we left Ca. and moved here he was in a speech program and were concerned when he was not accepted in the program here. With just regular teaching and staying in contact with his K teacher he made great progress. His PALS score were very good and we are proud to be a parent of a SCE student. The school staff from Principal to the custodial staff cares about each and every student that comes to this school, Our son;s teacher kept us very involved in his studies and I found the reading program quite fun, It encourages the parents to step in and help the child. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

My granddaughter is about to complete her first full year at Salem Church Elementary School. We have been involved in this school and have had an opportunity to see it during the school day much of this year. I have found the school and the staff to be both pleasant, inviting and dynamic. Her teacher and the guidance councilor have been outstanding in supporting her transition to this new school. I am very impressed with the amount of time the staff spends voluntarily either before class (the Ecology Club) or after school on various school projects. A partial list of these after-school projects includes Science Night, Math Night, Book Fair, International Night and Yearbook Ice Cream Social. The school works hard make these events fun as well as educational. Generally, parental support is excellent. The PTA is very active and well supported by the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

This is the best education you can give your child! We moved from Homestead, Fl where my son was the top of his class to here in Kindergarten and he had to repeat the entire year! They are AT LEAST a full grade ahead of most Florida schools. With a music room, an art room, computer lab, atate of the art library I can't say enough good things about this school. Teachers are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

I am a daycare provider and get lots of children who move to this area just to go to Salem Elem. I have found that Salem is a high quality school and its educational staff goes beyond teaching. I cant imagine my children going anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2005

This school is good in most acspects. I would suggest this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students59%
Female students66%
Male students52%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students58%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English60%

Math

All Students57%
Female students63%
Male students51%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students55%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English57%

Science

All Students69%
Female students68%
Male students70%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students60%
Female students58%
Male students63%
Black students29%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White students58%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English58%

Math

All Students69%
Female students74%
Male students65%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students61%
Female students68%
Male students56%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White students64%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English61%

English: Writing

All Students53%
Female students70%
Male students40%
Black students41%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
White students61%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities13%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English55%

Math

All Students54%
Female students65%
Male students45%
Black students35%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students60%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English51%

Science

All Students74%
Female students79%
Male students69%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9600 Salem Church Rd.
Richmond, VA 23237
Phone: (804) 768-6215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Chesterfield Tech
Chesterfield, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT