Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Monacan High School

Public | 9-12 | 1400 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2013

I am a Monacan grad and now have a Jr at Monacan. When I was a student Monacan was fairly new and one of the top schools in the county. Chesterfield over all has declined since I was a student but I have little to complain about from Monacan. The specialty centers has really hurt the athletic programs here - after all how many bookworms do you know play football? And student particpation at events is lacking. Hopefully the new specialty ctr will turn some of that around. Like all schools there are great teachers and bad ones. Great kids and bad ones. We have seen our share of both here. I heard some bad rumors about how far downhill Monacan had gone and give the administration big kudos on turning things around. And as with everything it seems the same parents are the ones volunteering to do everything. . . sad to know so many parents want to complain but yet sit on the side lines and watch. . .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

My school is not a school you would want to attend. The math department is a wreck. My Freshman year teacher's curriculum consisted of us watching TV shows that were "math-related" the entire year. Needless to say, almost the entire class failed their SOLs. My math teacher Sophomore year lost a number of my papers, later found them, and refused to grade them appropriately. Many teachers request students to be removed from their class. I have had a teacher refuse to give me after school help. The dress code is out of control. I sewed patches into my jeans (where the holes were) to cover up skin in order to avoid having to buy new clothing, I was sent to the office for "inappropriate attire." Even if rips are below the knees, they are not allowed. If you wear yoga pants to school (covering the entire leg/waist area) you will be sent to the office and told to change. Non-revealing tank-tops are not allowed. Shoulders must be completely covered. Even if your back and cleavage are thoroughly covered, shoulders must not be exposed. My school could improve by revoking the tenure some teachers have, hiring new ones, and altering a few of the ridiculous dress code rules for a start.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2012

I love Monacan with all my heart. I have made lifelong friendships with teachers that have been incorporated into outside of school activities. Most of the faculty is warm right from the beginning but as with many people, some take awhile to warm up. Mr. Broyles is a man who I will constantly be in touch with, he has made more of an impact on my life than I can even put into words. He goes far and beyond of his expectations and has opened the door to many opportunities for me. I do agree with many that the Humanities students are favored by much of the faculty, but they do deserve it for the extra work they do. I would recommend this school to anyone, it is always changing, evolving, and improving.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2012

My daughter graduated from this school and got accepted to the Fashion Institute of Technology in NY! This school has great diversity which prepares them for the real world. The school is safe and the faculty is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

Monacan is a very good school. My oldest daughter has graduated and excel here while attending. I currently have a son attending and the teachers are very involved and will call or email if they have any concerns. The staff is nice, cooperative and pleasant to get along with too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

Monacan is 1 of the most diverse schools in Chesterfield, but to say they treat everyone equally would be a lie. The kids in the Humanities program are good students, but for all the privileges they get from staff they get to slack off a bit much. The math dept. isn't very good but other academics are okay. Most teachers do care, although they get frustrated teaching only what's on SOLs. Mr.Broyles is also an involved, caring principal. The fine arts are great, and so are most sports(not so much football). There was a good amount of fighting this year, but overall it's a decent school to go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2011

2011 was a great year for Monacan. We have a wonderful administration, strong PTSA, supportive boosters organizations, and a "real world" atmosphere in our culturally diverse school. I am proud that my kids attend Monacan where they are constantly challenged and well prepared for college. Mr Broyles cares greatly for his students and teachers and shows that on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

Great School! Mr. Broyles continues to lead the Monacan Community in so many wonderful ways. Parental involvement is welcomed and encouraged. Love the Humanities program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

My oldest child is a student at Monacan. I was nervous about them in high school not knowing what to expect. But I have been so pleasantly surprised. It has been a good experience and as a parent I am very thankful for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Monacan High School has strong leadership from their administration. Each year the school gets stronger and stronger with fewer issues and more students receiving a solid education. The faculty like any other school has great to marginal teachers. Overall Monacan is a great school for students to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Thanks to the Monacan administration, staff, coaches, & everyone else who contributes to making this school a safe, nurturing, & postive environment for my Freshman child this year. We're new to this area and bought a house specifically so that our kids would attend Monacan. I have another child starting in the fall and am thrilled. Thank you teachers for responding to my questions and/or concerns via a phone call or email. Thanks to the office/clinic staff for showing me 'the ropes' on how to check my child out of school and always greeting me with a smile and helping me figure out the general process. I am a board member of the PTSA & Booster Rep. Both of my kids went to Providence MS. There's plenty of avenues to get involved. Keep trying to find that right group that suits
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Monacan HS is the most culturally diverse school in Chesterfield. The '09-'10 PTSA President has been working diligently to improve diversity amongst all school organizations. I'm a minority parent that has Presided over Hospitality (2yrs) and Post Prom '09-'10. I do understand the frustration minority parents experience with trying to breakdown barriers. Under the new '09- 10 PTSA regime all parents of any ethnicity is welcomed. Your ideas, suggestions and comments are welcomed. The Post Prom Committee was a testament of the diversity of parents at Monacan. Principal Broyles needs to be commended for excellence. The school and school spirit has improved tremendously. Let's keep growing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I am a parent of soon to be 2 graduates of Monacan High School. My first graduated in 2002 which I wasn't too thrilled about but having only lived in the area for a short amount of time I felt I couldn't be too critical. With my second graduating, I feel that the school has come a long way especially when Mr. Sovine arrived a few years back. When he and his staff arrived, they came in with bright new ideas to help move the school forward and they were very successful. Mr. Broyles arriving this year has also changed the format of the school. He is very focused on what is going on with the students. Without the schools involvement in the young people's concerns, Monacan would not be the school that it is today. Monacan is Number 1 in my book. Keep up the great work!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

My child is a Junior at Monacan and I have two other children who will be coming through the school in the coming years. We have been very pleased with the education our child has received at Monacan. He is extremely happy being a student here and I wouldn't even consider sending my children to another high school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

My son is a senior this year and I must say that I love the way they organize events. Each year at prom, my son really enjoys the after prom parties that the school organizes so that our kids are safe and having fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

Our family experience at Monacan has been outstanding. The administration and teachers have been extremely concerned with helping freshmen acclimate into high school. I was impressed that 8th graders were invited to an extracurricular activity fair / ice cream social and a freshman orientation before ever walking into school as a new student. The teaching staff and administration work together to come up with innovative programs such as 'Monacan Mornings' where the first 30 minutes of each day is a time that can be used for remediation, enrichment, or working on group projects. Students that maintain a 'B' average do not have to arrive at school until after 'MM' if they are caught up on their work. This program is now spreading to other local schools. All in all...we are very satisfied with the direction the school is headed in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Humanities center is abosultely second to none!!! Go Monacan!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

This school ranked in the top 10% in the nation academically. Reports show less discipline problems than most area schools. I am thrilled to have my daughter there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

I am a student at Monacan High School. I am not stisfied with this school, and i have been there for 2 years now. This school does not show a sturdy curriculum at all. When i first came to Monacan they falsely said that they had a variety of extra curricular activity...Little did i know that they didnt. Teachers at Monacan can be a handfull at times they think that they control everything and that they can do anything and gat away with anything. Mr. Sovine has done a very good job turning the school around but Monacan has a long way to go...Chesterfield also needs to provide monacan with a new facility because this school is really becoming over crouded....
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2008

Mr Sovine and his incredible teaching staff have turned this school around and turning it into one to be proud to be affiliated with. The administrative, student, and parent communication and collaborative efforts are both progressive and highly effective!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
95%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
97%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students53%
Female students57%
Male students49%
Black students38%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students57%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English52%

Algebra II

All Students73%
Female students81%
Male students63%
Black students60%
Asian students75%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Biology

All Students82%
Female students81%
Male students83%
Black students68%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracial82%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

Chemistry

All Students77%
Female students77%
Male students78%
Black students71%
Asian students75%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial75%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Earth Science

All Students83%
Female students83%
Male students83%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities51%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

English: Reading

All Students92%
Female students95%
Male students89%
Black students82%
Asian students93%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial93%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

English: Writing

All Students83%
Female students87%
Male students78%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracial92%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Geometry

All Students70%
Female students70%
Male students70%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracial87%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students82%
Female students79%
Male students85%
Black students71%
Asian students87%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial80%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities52%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students85%
Female students83%
Male students87%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracial100%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities51%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

World History II

All Students88%
Female students87%
Male students89%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities83%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • William Broyles

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11501 Smoketree Dr.
Richmond, VA 23236
Phone: (804) 378-2480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Midlothian High School
Midlothian, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT