Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


W W Gordon Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is in 2nd grade and has been at Gordon Elementary since Kindergarten. We love the schools and have been lucky to have amazing teachers.

W W Gordon Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
I have not met anyone as of yet. Other parents feel the same way but scared to speak because of their kids.


W W Gordon Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
SOME are effective, just pray your child get a good one. It really makes a difference.

W W Gordon Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
The only problem is that, parents is initially teaching the child the materials. Teachers donot have enough time to go over the materials, it's up to the parents.

W W Gordon Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
No words.. i just want other people to know what I have experienced and if they are experiencing this, they are not crazy.


W W Gordon Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
No... the guidance counselor Mrs. Tamborine and the principal avoids you if you have any issues. Once you have an issue, you are labeled as the Problem.

W W Gordon Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
There is always issue at this school. Lice issues continuously, overall cleanliness and children bringing small weapon to school and everything push under the rug. Principal is worthless, staff is weird... It looks luxurious but your kids better off in a city school.

W W Gordon Elementary School 3

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
My son started Gordon 2010 for kindergarten and I have to say the experience has been so terrible. His teacher had no patience with him, the assistant principal, principal and guidance counselor do not provide feedback when you have issues. Do not be fooled by the good reviews, it is a great school but if you run into a problem there are no resources. I felt like my son was being mistreated by his teacher who said to me in front of the assistant principal she bends over backwards for my son. I thought that was a unprofessional thing to say but everyone I mentioned above did not address that issue so that made the relationship with the teacher, assistant principal, principal and guidance counselor go sour. I wish I could put my son in another school but I cannot because I live in the district. I now have my armor suit on whenever I have to attend this school for my son.


W W Gordon Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
Gordon Elementary is a phenomenal school! My daughters are in second grade and Kindergarten and we have had amazing teachers each year. Teachers are patient, intelligent and have a passion for education and making learning fun. The kids love to learn at Gordon!

W W Gordon Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
This is our third year at Gordon. My sons are in 2nd and kindergarten! We have had nothing but amazing experiences! The teachers are wonderful, caring and down to earth. My sons 1st grade teacher even came to a basketball game AND a baseball game of his. That's true dedication. The principle, Mrs. Harris, remembered my youngest sons name on orientation day. She had only met him one other time, back in April on at registration. (Orientation was at the end of August!) Gordon is our home away from home! We moved into our neighborhood just to be able to send our kids to Gordon! Amazing school with amazing teachers and staff!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

W W Gordon Elementary School
11701 Gordon School Rd., Richmond, VA  23236
(804) 378-2410
Last modified W W Gordon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
W W Gordon Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top