Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Richmond, VA
Students enrolled: 177
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sabot at Stony Point 1

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
Now that my child is in a different school with some structure, my child is blossoming in all areas. To other parents, check with other children from different schools and see if your child is at the appropriate level. Beware.

Sabot at Stony Point 5

Posted June 08, 2014
- a parent
I have two children in Sabot's Lower School, both of whom have been there since Preschool. It has been a wonderful experience for them - and for our family. I value the ways in which my children have learned to collaborate, to think about their thinking, to push themselves, and to value relationship and community. Sabot's approach, with its emphasis on rigorous student-driven learning, is part of the revolution in education taking place across the country and across the globe. I recommend the school highly.


Sabot at Stony Point 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
My son is just finishing his first year at Sabot at Stony Point in the youngest classroom. This year has been amazing. The entire staff focuses on building him as a person, not just as a student. He is kind; he recognizes kindness in himself and others; he is patient with his friends; he is eager to help; and he is able to address his emotions...all well above the level of a typical 3-year-old. He is not atypical for his classroom, either. This emotional growth is also paired with a passion for learning, exploring, and books. Sabot has made me a better parent. I look forward to many years with this wonderful community.

Sabot at Stony Point 5

Posted January 19, 2014
- a parent
Sabot is rigorous, innovative and nuturting. They are advocates for the whole child. We are so happy with the math program in particular.

Sabot at Stony Point 1

Posted November 16, 2013
- a parent
Depending on the teacher, the school can be excellent. However, upper administration caters to wealthy families disregarding curriculum, discipline, and childhood safety.


Sabot at Stony Point 1

Posted November 16, 2013
- a parent
This school lacks the proper security for the students, I hope they can improve that.

Sabot at Stony Point 1

Posted November 16, 2013
- a community member
This "school" should be used as cautionary tale to exemplify what can go wrong when education is turned into a for-profit enterprise. Long-proven principles of education are abandoned in favor of experimental gimmicks designed to appeal to families with deep pockets and a naive belief that students can somehow learn without instruction.

Sabot at Stony Point 5

Posted September 22, 2013
- a parent
Sabot at Stony Point is an excellent alternative to most other private schools in the Richmond area. It is non-sectarian, constructivist, and progressive; the faculty and administration are up-to-date on the newest research on best-practice methods of education. Children don't just learn, they learn HOW to learn, and they learn the joy inherent in mastering a subject they are interested in.


Sabot at Stony Point 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
Sabot at Stony Point uses a constructivist approach where teachers use the children's interests to scaffold learning through respect, collaboration and exploration. Sabot believes in depth over breadth allowing the students time to critically think, problem solve and rely on each others strengths to reach conceptual understanding. Children love school and feel safe to take intellectual risks. There is also a deep commitment to the school community and to respecting and celebrating each members unique differences. The children at Sabot are reaching potentials beyond peers at other schools all the while feeling valued as a person.

Sabot at Stony Point 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
Sabot at Stony Point is more than just a wonderful school. It's an amazing, supportive community for both children and parents. Incredible teachers and faculty.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sabot at Stony Point
3400 Stony Point Road, Richmond, VA  23235
(804) 272-1341
Last modified Sabot at Stony Point is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Sabot at Stony Point Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top