Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jackson Davis Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 648 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2013

This school is the awesome school any one could wish for.My older kid went here ,he is in high school now and still visits school and my younger one is now in this school he loves the teachers the environment .every body is so encouraging to all kids.I thank god everyday that i am blessed with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2012

My Son studied in this school and we found teachers are very much helpfull and make kids feel home and very caring and with decent staff and gr8 Principal.


Posted June 25, 2012

My daughter graduated from Jackson Davis last year. She and I loved this school. The principal is awesome, he stands outside every morning to greet the students (by name)!!!! The office staff and Mrs. Richie (nurse) are wonderful people. If you have the opportunity to send your child to Jackson Davis, please do so!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

My daughter is in 1st Grade, she loves her teachers, especially her Class teacher and Music teacher. They are awesome teacher. They encourage and inspire kids to do more.. I have noticed how much my daugher has gained knowledge this year and become independent in reading books and taking AR tests.. It is really amazing how these teach do this.. Love Davis Elementary School..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

If you are moving into the area ,consider yourself to be really lucky ,Davis elementary is an excellent school with dedicated teachers ,friendly and warm office staff and a totally dedicated principal with exceptional leadership qualities,the IEP program offered at the school is good and the teachers and staff ensure that each and every child is happy and fits in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

Everyone is happy to be at this school. Strong academics. If your child is at higher academic level than grade, they will create groups for your child to advance his academic potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

We have recently moved to a new school and our child is a lot more motivated in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The school does a poor job of help advanced kids get the opportunity they need. They are withheld from advanced opportunities so they'll keep the school SOL scores high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

Best Elementary school in Henrico County. I attended this school and my children had the pleasure of going here too. They loved coming to school everyday!!! The staff here is wonderful and very friendly not just like a school but like a family!!! We were very sad when our district changed and we had to go to another school :( If I had any more childrne in Elementary school I would consider moving just to go here where learning is made fun which is very important in helping your children gain a love of learning!!! The school was very welcoming and you always felt comfortable here unlike some schools that make you feel you aren't welcome. The office staff is always happy and spoke to you when you entered the office. Consider yourself and your children lucky if you get to be a part of this school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

My daughter has attended this school for 2 years and I am extremely pleased with every aspect of this school. The staff is so happy to work here, and it sets the tone for the school enviroment. There are many enrichment afterschool programs that are wonderful, and there is good parental involvement. For those whose children have IEP's they will be pleased with the quality of the IEP team and how well everyone works together to ensure you child's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

A wonderful, wonderful school. Two of my children attended for over 4 years and it was a great experience for them and myself. The staff at the school are great, addressing concerns with courtesy and geniune interest. The teachers are talented and motivating. Many opportunities for parental involvement. It was like a small town school in a big city- everyone there knows your name, your child's name and what class they're in, and all share the most important common interest- the best interests of the students. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

My daughter has gone to Jackson Davis for 2 years now and I absolutely love it! The first year of Kindergarten was OK-the teacher was kind of a 'drill sargeant', but the 1st grade teacher was excellent! She even sent my daughter a card over the summer! The principal is kind of new and he was never really particularly friendly with me or my daughter. He did fufill my special request for a specific teacher, though. I will miss the front office staff at the school and I will miss our 1st grade teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students83%
Male students78%
Black students42%
Asian students90%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students73%
Female students74%
Male students71%
Black students17%
Asian students90%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English73%

Science

All Students89%
Female students88%
Male students90%
Black students50%
Asian students91%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students78%
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students74%
Female students78%
Male students69%
Black students48%
Asian students94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students40%
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students81%
Female students84%
Male students78%
Black students48%
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students81%
Male students80%
Black students50%
Asian students85%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English82%

English: Writing

All Students82%
Female students80%
Male students84%
Black students50%
Asian students79%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students91%
Female students93%
Male students88%
Black students71%
Asian students90%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English93%

Science

All Students97%
Female students95%
Male students100%
Black students93%
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8801 Nesslewood Dr
Richmond, VA 23229
Phone: (804) 527-4620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Northstar Academy
Richmond, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT