Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Longan Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
Fantastic elementary school. My daughter has had a wonderful experience. Great teachers and administration are wonderful people.

Longan Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2015
- a community member
I went to this school back in 2007 I was in third grade Loved it here wish I could've stayed but I didn't live in the area and my mom had to pull me out Made a lot of friends (had some issues.) But that's at ever school Kids were nice for the most part...I did fail the third grade that year though but that was my fault for not studying Anyway great school.


Longan Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
Great school. Teachers and equipments are fine. My kids love going school and have fun @ school. Learning new things with curiosity.

Longan Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
My school is a great school. The teachers and staff are always helpful. I can't say enough about how great the staff is. I had issues at the beginning of the year with my kindergartener riding the bus. The principal stepped right in. We sat down and discussed options. I told her that I needed help. I felt like another adult on the bus would help my son. She rode the bus 2 days to get off and encourage him to get on the bus. She also encouraged him during the day. It made me realize how much she cared about her students. I could not ask for anything more in a school!!!

Longan Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
Good teachers make good schools...and teachers at Longan are very good. I have had 2 kids finish complete k-5 at this school.


Longan Elementary School 3

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
This seems like a decent school. This is my child's first year and she likes it but I dislike the layout of the school. It might be okay for a middle or a high school but the way it is set up campus-like, anyone can just walk-on and get to any of the classrooms. There isn't even a fence to keep people out and coming from a family with a police background, I have surveyed the area and found at LEAST 2 DOZEN entry points for those not allowed to be on campus. It's enough to want to send my child to another school. This is not a safe thing by ANY means.

Longan Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is in her second year at Longan Elementary School. Her first year was perfect and we could not have asked for a better Kindergarten teacher. She was absolutely wonderful. In First grade she and myself are having a difficult time adjusting to the new teacher, but she has learned a lot and I believe she is being challenged academically. I could not be more pleased with this school. I find it to be educationally challenging and enjoyable. The front office is the worst part of the school, the ladies in there just do not say hello and barely look up when you enter the office. They really need to work on that as they are the first impression of the school. The diversity of this school is fantastic and I believe my daughter is learning more than just what is in the books as she is able to attend class with people of all different cultures, ethnicities and religions. My daughter is learning a valuable life lesson in accepting others for who they are and being an individual herself. I could not be happier with the progress my daughter has made at this school.

Longan Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2010
- a parent
We are just delighted with longan! My kids are sad when it is the weekend! The teachers make learning fun and Dr. Hall is the best! We have been wanted to move for years but just can't leave this school! Also a excellent pta! ROAR! Go Lions!


Longan Elementary School 5

Posted December 23, 2009
- a parent
This school has been with my family since my son (18) has begun School. Longan is a Excellent school because all my kids have apreciated there help and they are all really smart Go R.C Longan!

Longan Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2009
- a parent
My sons Karthik and Prashana went to this school for last four years. This is excellent school. Principal, teachers and staff are very friendly and they all knows each student name and parents. Excellent PTA members. My kids really missed this school. I do not know why this school rated 5 in ths web site but this is a excellent school.

Nearby schools

Longan Elementary School
9200 Mapleview Ave, Richmond, VA  23294
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (804) 527-4640
Last modified Longan Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top