Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Skipwith Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 460 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2014

I've had three kids go through Skipwith. Overall it's alright if your kids are already well balanced socially and academically. You really have to get involved with teachers/administrators to ensure your child does not get passed over for academic and other social opportunities that arise, and to let them know that you're watching! They often blame it on the kids not bringing the papers home. Some teachers are very nice and genuinely focused in administering course content. But recently there has been churn which makes you wonder why they're leaving. The PTA is clique-ish and not open to new people or ideas. Perhaps it will turn around with a new president and reshuffling of the henchwomen. Father figures, please get involved! The principal will return your email when she ever gets around to it - not the courtesy deserving of tax paying parents. Collaboration, Dr. Thomas! Check out the SOL ratings on this site for yourself to make an objective opinion. Unfortunately, unless you can afford to go private your designated school is based on your address. I'm giving Skipwith 3 stars because there's definitely room for improvement all round.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

This school scares me, I have a student named Trevor Miller who eats all the pencils (wood, eraser, and graphite).
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 26, 2014

So far so Good! Great teachers(some) and AMAZINGLY Diverse! Personally, I like the school,my son is 4 (in Pre-k) and my daughter is 8 (3rd grade) and this is her 2nd year here, below is MY EXPERIENCE: My Son's Teacher: She's nice but seems inexperienced with how to be Personable and Welcoming toward parents. I would think she would be more friendly because she does work with preschoolers. But on the flip side his secondary teacher is AWESOME, my son loves her, I think because she's older (grandmotherish) but overall he's doing very well, he was very shy and is now coming out of his shell a bit. He's advancing educationally & socially so overall I'm happy! My Daughter(8):Teacher: OMG!LOVE,LOVE,LOVED her teacher last year,Lovely,Personable,Welcoming,Friendly,Kind..seriously like a grandma to both my kids( she even checks in on my son this year) most of those stars above belong to her...Love u Mrs.B! And her current teacher(3rd graden Mrs.S) is WONDERFUL as well, I haven't spent as much time with her but the time I have spent has been LOVELY! Parent pick up teachers are AWESOME! Lunchroom monitors are MEAN, Father club unorganized, Principal is O.K.,I guess I'm SATISFIED. ..:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2013

This school aint got nuttin good bout it. Every time i holla actchu boy they be disrespectin n stuff. so i dun aprreciate it
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 12, 2011

This school is o.k. I have a lot problems with identifying my childs needs for advancement. They are very quick to test your child or get a case study if your child is high energy. I don't know if it a funding issue, where they need to identify as many children as the can for services. My child is not hyperactive nor does he display it home but they seemed to think he did at school. He is very smart, as is my daughter, but they seem to only focus on their weakness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

Not happy with school Cannot idetufy a students potantail until the parents get after the teachers in making them understand. A lot of politics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Had to switch teachers in the middle of the year. First kindergarten teacher was terrible with my special needs child. Skipwith iha a rep w/ the parents of special needs children. Most of those kids are removed from classroom and placed in higher or lower grade class as punishment or sent home as undocumented suspension. HOWEVER, OUR NEW TEACHER IS TERRIFIC. No problems at all (same child different teacher....proves the teacher makes the difference!!). I hope that Skipwith learns that this lesson!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 18, 2010

The staff is great and the kids represent diversity at it's best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

Teachers are awesome..my daughter loves to go to school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

This is our first year here and I am not pleased with what I have seen. My child is not being challenged for his level of learning. I also believe that our kids deserve the occasional school party it breaks up the norm, our old school had one for every 'break' we trying to get a variance to attend a new school now.n One good thing is the running club in the morning my child does enjoy that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

My children and I have been very happy with the quality, character and commitment shown by the faculty at Skipwith! Most of the teachers try to work with parents/ students when concerns arise. There is gifted and talented program for each grade. The library faculty is the best I have seen! Using a rewards-reading program has helped my children want to read more. The faculty is very welcoming- knowing most children by name... even the teachers who my children have not had. The principal is great- she too knowing each child by name... she has instilled a sense of 'family' here. I do however wish there was more done with the arts programs. I feel that music and art have been left as an afterthought. Perhaps is budgeting. My children love both and surprisingly don't find it fun or interesting in school. I would love to see more done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

My daughter goes to skipwith elementary and She loves it. The teachers she's had are great!! They have a lot of fun activities going on at all times. I love the fact that there are children from all over the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2006

First off, I think Bill meant to give it more than 1 star! :-) I love Skipwith. It has great diversity, dedicated faculty and a great group of kids. Parental involvement ebbs and tides.... the parents who Are involved work Hard to give the kids a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2005

My daughter has been very happy here, and loves her teacher.My daughter has done great academically here. However, I have to say that I am shocked by the low level of parent involvement, at least in my daughter's classroom!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

Skipwith is fantastic. Highlights include a very skilled, dedicated faculty. Strong reading program and a very diverse student body. We have 15+ languages represented. The variety of coursework is very good. There is a gifted&talented curriculum for each grade and students in that program stay at Skipwith. We also have a very avid Destination Imagination program indicating a solid base of parents. Parents are urged to be involved. The PTA is very active and the events are always well-attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2004

We have a special needs child. This school has been very difficult to communicate, provide timely responses, and after three months has not returned calls or emails. I would not recommend this school to any parent with special needs children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2004

great school all of my children have enjoyed going there and have had some of the best teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2004

Wonderful school! Great caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students70%
Female students69%
Male students71%
Black students69%
Asian students79%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students64%
Female students65%
Male students64%
Black students56%
Asian students86%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English63%

Science

All Students85%
Female students86%
Male students85%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students72%
Female students76%
Male students68%
Black students76%
Asian students76%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students76%
Proficient in English70%

Math

All Students78%
Female students79%
Male students76%
Black students67%
Asian students88%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students83%
Male students76%
Black students79%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

English: Writing

All Students76%
Female students80%
Male students71%
Black students72%
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students72%
Female students70%
Male students74%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students65%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%

Science

All Students84%
Female students77%
Male students92%
Black students89%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Kaye M. Thomas

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2401 Skipwith Rd
Richmond, VA 23294
Phone: (804) 527-4650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Northstar Academy
Richmond, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT