Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Varina High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted April 08, 2016
- a community member
It depends on the type of classes you're in. My junior and senior year I was given homework MAYBE 10 times TOTAL. I felt like they were just done and over with my class.

Varina High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 08, 2016
- a community member
Rebecca Wood knows who I am as I am still in contact with her. She no longer works there but she was literally the only person who cared about me there. My own guidance counselor was incompetent. She continued to tell me I wasn't one of hers and then eventually found my file. She told me my senior year I wasn't graduating and in that same day she met with my parents and told them I WAS graduating. She was incompetent. And the only thing I remember about her was that she had braces and had stacks and stacks of student files on her desk.


Varina High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted April 08, 2016
- a community member
It depends on what type of student you are. If you're in classes that need special attention, they could care less. The only person whor ever cared about me was Rebecca Wood.

Varina High School 5

Posted September 13, 2015
- a community member
They care about the kids and the administration and staff does above and beyond to keep the kids in order and safe.

Varina High School 1

Posted December 15, 2013
- a student
Varina needs to start firing teachers that aren't doing their job like they're supposed to. I would give Varina an F in the Chemistry departement. If ya'll just take out the time to look at the Chemistry grades this year, ya'll would totally be shocked, im not the only one whos failing this class, pretty much everybody in all the teacher classes. im very disappointed by this. Why is Varina High School the only high school in Henrico who cant let students switch out classes and switch teachers? Why cant varina switch late like the schools? I cant afford for my gpa to drop my junior year!!! I went from an 3.14 to a 2.9, that's considered bad for me, because i want to either attend George Mason or VCU to to study medicine and pharmacy. im not used to making grades like this!!! >:(


Varina High School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a community member
this school is like home. it may seem a little nerve wrecking at first but you will not make friends like the people here, anywhere else. some of the teachers are hard on you, but I learned so much. for example mrs. greene was crazy, but she taught geometry the best. I love everybody there. everybody is family and I will miss that place while I am gone for a little bit. no school will ever top varina. #varinanation #bluedevilsforlife

Varina High School 5

Posted November 19, 2011
- a community member
varina high school is the best school i have ever been to i love the atmisphere. being there feels like im siting on a warm beach. varina high school makes me very happy. i love the staff and teachers there they care so much about there students and im very happy to say that i am part of a blue devil family.

Varina High School 3

Posted September 09, 2009
- a student
Its getting better this year and its only the 2nd day Maybe since I'm now a sophmore but it feels more organized this year than last year plus we get new Dell laptops since the old ones are well old beaten crap and belive it or not the campuss was not trashed today unlike 1st day of school 2008 it was trashed


Varina High School 4

Posted August 17, 2009
- a teacher
I think that Varina High School is one of the best schools overall in all of Henrico County. The teachers, administrators and staff are are exceptionally creative in finding new and inovative ways to educate the students. It has problems like every other school in the district but I have witnessed it getting better over the past five years in terms of discipline and academics. It desperately needs more parent involvement. The more the parents is involved the better the student will perform. Ask not what Varina can do for you but what you can do for Varina!

Varina High School 1

Posted April 29, 2009
- a student
Varina High School is undeniably one of the worst schools in the county and being a former student I would never recommend the school. The campus is unclean despite all the work that different clubs and organizations have done. Countless 'Keep Henrico Beautiful' volunteer work from the NJROTC and the numerous volunteer hours placed from other clubs doesn't even put a dent into the cleanliness of the campus. The administration is too relaxed when it comes to Dress Code, Discipline, Professionalism, and Sanitation. The teachers and administration alike treat the students like friends even when there is a punishment in question. The Lunch Breaks are a joke. Students have the ability to leave campus without the administration knowing and have very little consequences for doing so. The NJROTC and Band are the only good qualities of this school and they are treated horribly and unrecognized as amazing programs.

Nearby schools

Varina High School
7053 Messer Rd, Richmond, VA  23231
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (804) 226-8700
Last modified Varina High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top