Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

L. Douglas Wilder Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 936 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2013

Wilder Middle School is a pathetic school, from beginning to end. My oldest son went there for his 3 years. This was my younger son's first year there and it will be his last. Constant fights, drugs, cigarettes, racism, bullying and theft go on there with little involvement of the teachers. The teacher's give very little effort when it comes to day to day studies. They fully rely on the children's laptops as their substitute learning device and contribute very little to the learning experience. As far as allowing the parents to become involved I would say that's limited to sporting and other extracurricular activities. After signing in, once to pick up my son from class for a family emergency they sent a police officer to escort me back to the door while they repeated his name over the intercom. I am well know at any school my children attend and have never been made to stand at the front door after signing in. They also tried to suspend my son twice for being attacked by another student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

This year (20112-13), Wilder Middle School has shown its true colors of excellency. The new principal and the staff have really pulled together to enforce parent's and student's understanding of their high expectations. Parents are committed to partnering in these goals and the students are on board with meeting and surpassing these expectations. My son is being challenged with a curriculum that is designed to meet his educational needs (which are high achieving). And I feel Wilder is preparing him well for his future. Great job, Wilder!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

There a lot of rumors about Wilder being ghetto,hood and ect. But the truth is the only thing truly wrong with the school is the students. All because of the things we hear in 4th and 5th grade some or should I say most of them think it is their duty to act in such a "ghetto' manner when half of which are just faking it so they can get along through with ease. Although there is one thing all the other schools will never have. One our brave,loving,strong,understanding, and pure excellent principal. We also have nothing but the best teachers who treat each child with respect and value us as young adults and take crafting our young minds to become future leaders and important people in our communities very seriously. A student at L Douglas Wilder Middle School 7th grade 2011


Posted May 19, 2011

I went here from 2006-07 to 2008-2009 and i never really liked it there and i had some problems there as well, but the teachers were really cool and they tried to help you pass for the year. I know people who are from the hood and i can understand why they act the way they act. But i love the friends i still have from there


Posted November 1, 2010

As a parent and a teacher, I have the unique opportunity to evaluate this school from both sides of the desk. The teaching staff is well-qualified and the leadership is outstanding. My children are very active and enjoy going to school. If given the option of sending my sons elsewhere, I would absolutely choose Wilder. Go Wolverines!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

My child was one of the few Caucasian children at this school, and I was worried about his safety. However he has adjusted fine, and he really likes it there. There have been brawls in the boys bathrooms, so they are now locked all day. The young men are all polite and I am very impressed. The girls still scare me. They are loud and very rough in nature when in a crowd together. The wrestling team was a very positive experience for my son. The majority of the teachers are very kind and accomodating. They have awesome after school programs where my child gets to learn to cook and swim, and these are provided for free. They also feed the family as well 2 days a week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

Wilder has grown leaps and bounds since I began teaching there five years ago. The environment and morale of the teachers and students has changed for the better. Becoming fully accredited has changed not only how Wilder is perceived by the larger community, but how students and teachers feel about themselves. The teachers genuinely care for their students at Wilder. They are well invested in their success. At times, it is frustrating that more parents aren't involved, but many of the parents of Wilder's students work at least two jobs to provide for their children. There are a myriad of social organizations, school wide discipline incentives, and support programs that have recently started at Wider to increase the self-esteem, health and study habits of the students. Wilder continues to move forward towards a bright and continued successful future!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 2, 2008

I was very disappointed with this school. My kids came from an excellent elementary school so it was such and adjusment to this middle school. I felt like the principal shoed alor of favortism and did some unfair things. She made promises she did not keep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

As a student i like the school because of my friends but i was mad it took us a while to get accredited but i'm happy we finally did
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2007

My son attended public school for the first time this year and the experience has not been all good. My son is having difficulty adjusting to the public school culture. The atmosphere is too relaxed and my son needs structure. The majority of my son's teachers are great. They correspond with me and they really work with my son, but I feel that there is not enough school to parents involvement. The relationship feels distant to me. At his previous school I knew his friends, their parents, teachers, and principal on a personal level. Since my son has attended Wilder his grades have slipped drastically and his attitude has changed. He's a good kid, but it the culture at the school. Not the teachers, but the student themselves. My husband and I have decided to send our son back to private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

This middle schools format is great for the child who has been taught (in elementary school) skills needed for prepartion of independence. My child who is in the six grade at this school has a difficult time adjusting lack of the support provided. I consider myself a active parent and knows the importance of education. However with the lack of the support that my child and I have recieved through out the school year really upsets me. Things occur at the school and there is the expectation that your child will inform you (positive or negative). It is difficult to follow up with any homework given when you don't know if homework is given. Yeah the teachers tell you of the Henrico web site where you can see weelky assignments, but most of the time its two or three weeks behind. This site is monitored and completed by the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

306 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

10 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students45%
Female students41%
Male students47%
Black students46%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English45%

Math

All Students56%
Female students50%
Male students60%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students52%
Female students61%
Male students43%
Black students49%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English52%

Math

All Students19%
Female students20%
Male students18%
Black students17%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities4%
Students without disabilities22%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students40%
Female students43%
Male students36%
Black students38%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English40%

English: Writing

All Students35%
Female students42%
Male students28%
Black students33%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities38%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English35%

Math

All Students23%
Female students23%
Male students22%
Black students21%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities16%
Students without disabilities24%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English23%

Science

All Students40%
Female students29%
Male students48%
Black students36%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Conditionally Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students86%
Female students88%
Male students83%
Black students83%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Sharon E. Pope

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6900 Wilkinson Rd
Richmond, VA 23227
Phone: (804) 515-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Dominion Academy
Richmond, VA



Dooley School
Richmond, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT