Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Godwin High School

Public | 9-12 | 1831 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

I mean...it's not bad. Kind of like leftover pizza. You like it, but you prefer it fresh. Ya dig?
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2013

my son loves this school.he freshman year one 8 and half weeks he feels very comfortable in this school.Teachers, friends,and higher grade kids help each other so much.People call it school but i think its a small godwin family where every body is lending helping hand to each other .Thank you God for giving me such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

Godwin is a really great school to go to. I'm a rising Junior right now, taking multiple APs and honors classes, and I feel ready for them. No, Godwin's not very diverse, but I have never seen someone get bullied, or attacked, and people are really open to "different" people. It's really competitive, and the hallways are crowded, but the kids are friendly and the teachers really want students to learn something. It's a great school to go to, academic and socially!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2013

Two of my kids graduated from MG with fabulous educations. No AP grants, no grade inflation like other area schools. No complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

Godwin is a great school! I am a rising junior--class of 2015. The only bad thing about GHS is it is VERY competitive. Also, it is a huge school--some of the classes have 35 kids in them. It is very easy to feel "lost in the system." Otherwise, Godwin is an amazing school!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2013

I graduated from Godwin in 2009 and this spring I took the next step and graduated from college. I honestly believe that without the solid educational foundation that I built at Godwin, I never would have succeeded to the degree that I did as an undergrad. At Godwin, I took multiple AP classes balanced with varsity sports and was also able to participate in several clubs: I was busy, but content, and by the time I left for college, I had learned how to manage my priorities on a busy schedule. The teachers were phenomenal: they pushed me in all of my classes, but were always willing to provide extra help if I asked for it. I grew into myself at Godwin, and was able to flex my creativity through the artistic license given to me in the classroom, particularly in English and the visual arts. Looking back, high school wasn't a breeze, but I would not trade my experience at Godwin for the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2013

I am a former student of Godwin. Being a parent myself, I know that the education of my daughter is the first thing my family considers when the possibility of a move is in our future. Attending this high school was not the high point in my education. The class sizes are very large, the teachers do not "teach" enough of their lesson plans in the classroom, so the students are sent home with hours of homework daily. The teachers and administration staff are almost solely focused on students excelling on the standardized tests that their ratings (the school's ratings as a whole) are based on; which is why Godwin rates a 9 out of 10 on this website. I am writing this in the hopes that it will help you to make an educated decision on your child's future. In addition to the above, there truly is a lack of diversity at Godwin. No student (at least in my experience) was recognized nor appreciated for their individuality. Even the art classes offered at this institution do not allow freedom of creativity. If your children are individuals, unique, or creative in any way, you do not want to send them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

my 4 children have and are going there, it prepares students well for their future endeavors
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

Godwin is okay. The regular schedule is killer if you have multiple honors classes. GET INVOLVED! There are so many clubs that cater to your interests, take advantage of it. Most teachers are knowledgeable, but others are not. Make sure you use your time wisely because having 7 classes a day is tough. Overall, Godwin is a great school to get involved in and become one with your fellow classmates and teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2009

I'm a student at godwin high school and I think it deserves a 10 out of 10. The teachers are excited about teaching and are really there to help you out. They always make themselves availabe when you need extra help. Godwin also has many great student orginizations and motivated school officers that help plan and lead many school functions. I have also heard from aother students and parents of students that attended Godwin that Godwin really prepares you well for college. i dont think there is any school better than Godwin .GO EAGLES!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2007

I am a 2002 graduate of Godwin High School. I graduated in 2006 from Longwood University and now I am in my second year of teaching 5th grade. Godwin is a great school and in one of the best counties in Virginia. I felt very prepared for College and had an excellent high school experience. The school spirit is unlike any other school in Henrico county and the people are real.


Posted December 11, 2007

I will graduate in 2010 and so far, I really like what Godwin has to offer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2007

I am currently a freshman at Godwin and I, personally, love it there. I moved in the summer before freshman year to Richmond. I toured Freeman, Deep Run, and Godwin. I chose Godwin because of its personality. Everyone is fun and friendly, unlike Deep Run where no one spoke. One other thing is that I moved from a private school where the 'popular' clique ruled the school. It was so nice to come to Godwin and not have to worry about who was getting invited to a party and who was wearing the cutest clothes. The teachers are also extremely nice! At my old school most of the teachers did a poor job of preparing you for the next grade level, but Godwin, on the other hand, teaches me so much. Godwin is a great school and I would definetly chose this school for your child!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2007

If you are looking for the best school for your child, do not go to Godwin High School. I am a current student and I have one nice teacher that actually cares about the students, all of the other teachers could not care less about your child's education. Please reconsider your thoughts about sending your child to Godwin.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2006

As a graduate of the class of 2006 and freshman at James Madison University, I can attest that Godwin prepared me for the college life. Godwin provides academic opportunity and it is up to the student and his/her parents to take it. Many of the classes were not solely SOL-motivated, though students still did well on the tests. Teachers (most, I won't speak in generalities :)) cared for the students' grades. All my teachers provided extra help when asked and took their subjects seriously. Teachers and students are still presented with critical thinking opportunities and many are open to diversity. Sports, the math and science center, clubs, the music department, and drama are all very adequate and rigorous. I highly recommend Godwin to possible 'eagle' parents.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 19, 2006

I am in my last year at godwin and I have to say, I'm going to miss it! It's a small school so knowing almost everyone is easy (close-knit). Spirit is high because the students love being a godwin eagle. Academics are competitive, encouraging students to excel. Yes, halls are crowded but you still have plenty of time to get to your classes. Lunch is only 23 minutes, so if you want time to eat...don't buy your lunch! (the lunch lines take forever!) The students are about status: clothing, material things, cars, college. But overall I have enjoyed my time here immensely!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2006

Godwin is known for its excellence, but I am a current student and personally see no excellence whatsoever. Yes, we may have high test scores, but 95% of the student body are closedminded and unprepared for life. There are, however, some excellent teachers and you may be able to find a few good friends, even if you arent a sheep. Find a different school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2006

I am a 2002 graduate of Godwin High School, now attending the University of Virginia. I believe Godwin High School well prepared me for the rigors of college life. I believe the teachers I had were excellent and very able to convey the information needed to form a successful base for higher education. The students which attend Godwin are of a high caliber and those in honors and AP classes, do enjoy their coursework, although they may not readily admit to it. I know for a fact that Godwin is viewed known to be an excellent school by many of the colleges to which I applied, including Johns Hopkins, University of Washington in St. Louis, and the University of Virginia. Minor concerns such a hall crowding are not indicative of the truly high quality of education which I received there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 18, 2006

I have just completed my junior year at Godwin High School (well, as of June 16). I take primarily honors courses with electives and a college level course mixed in. I must say that my experience at this school has not been excellent. First of all, this school is quite old, and everything, from the bathrooms to the learning resources, exhubes a decrepit quality. The cafeteria food tastes little better than dirt, and our air conditioning is always, always messed up! Nonetheless, learning does take place at this institution, and I have greatly enjoyed a few of my classes here. Some teachers are priceless human beings who passionately teach their favorite subjects. Others just go to work everyday. I would definitely like to mention the cutthroat atmosphere here. Everyone wants to go to UVA and will cheat, bend the rules, or any number of things to get there. Thanks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 1, 2006

I went to Godwin for three years before moving to Raleigh, NC. The differences in the two schools proved striking! Godwin provides a decent textbook education, but does VERY little to prepare students for the proverbial 'real world.' There is NO diversity at the school, and Godwin unfortunately falls into the cliche of valuing clothes, material things, etc. over character and intelligence. Many of the students are spoiled and wealthy, so it shouldn't come as a surprise. Overall, try to find a magnet school that affords your child a more encompassing experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

409 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

386 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
100%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students83%
Female students91%
Male students76%
Black students76%
Asian students79%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English85%

Algebra II

All Students92%
Female students92%
Male students93%
Black students73%
Asian students100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial89%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

Biology

All Students97%
Female students96%
Male students98%
Black students88%
Asian students98%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities81%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English97%

Chemistry

All Students99%
Female students99%
Male students100%
Black students95%
Asian students100%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial100%
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English99%

Earth Science

All Students90%
Female students88%
Male students93%
Black students78%
Asian students93%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students82%
Proficient in English91%

English: Reading

All Students98%
Female students96%
Male students99%
Black students95%
Asian students94%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial100%
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities81%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%

English: Writing

All Students94%
Female students96%
Male students93%
Black students74%
Asian students100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial93%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

Geometry

All Students90%
Female students89%
Male students91%
Black students63%
Asian students96%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English91%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students94%
Female students92%
Male students97%
Black students78%
Asian students97%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial94%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities82%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students88%
Female students91%
Male students85%
Black students77%
Asian students88%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English89%

World History II

All Students96%
Female students93%
Male students99%
Black students84%
Asian students98%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial100%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities89%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2101 Pump Rd
Richmond, VA 23238
Phone: (804) 750-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Steward School
Richmond, VA



Freeman High School
Richmond, VA


Collegiate School
Henrico, VA


Tucker High School
Henrico, VA


John G Wood School
Richmond, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT