Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roanoke Academy For Math & Science Elementary

Public | PK-5 | 452 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

This is my sons first year of school, and I am very pleased. He loves going to school when he goes. They really work with the children here. I have seen a great improvement since he has started school this year. I will recommend this school to anybody looking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

I have two children attending RAMS and we LOVE it! We are in the process of moving and trying to finda residence still in the school area. As a native of Roanoke, I have attended two elementary schools, Westside and Fairview. However, I wouldn't dream of my children going to one of those schools. The teachers at RAMS are loving and caring, I do believe there could be more parent involvement in the school (parents sending in items requested instead of relying on the teachers). My children really blossomed from starting at RAMS and we appreciate everything they have done to make a positive impact in our lives!! Thanks RAMS keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

Not happy with RAMS right now, this was our first yr at the school and it seems they put on a big show for 5th graders at end of yr but dont care about the kindergarteners, did no graduation for them and any classroom awards given were simply just thrown into folders like any other day, kindergarten is just as important as 5th gr. its like they dont even care!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

My two children were transfered unwillingly to RAMS and we have had a bad time ever since. While they were at Virginia Heights they were nurtured and treated with kindness and respect. At RAMS my first grader has had homework every night totaling around 2 hours each night. And my fith grader, while her teachers have been better, she is not stimulated at all. The principal took away their recess time her whole fourth grade year because the fourth graders the year before did badlly on their SOL's. I HATE RAMS. And I did not want them there, i was given no choice and my children have paid terribly for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My daughters 1st grade teacher is smart. Her education back ground is phenomenal. She really seems to be about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My goddaughter is in the first grade there and from what her mother has been telling me she is really enjoying her teacher. The teacher cares a great deal about her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

My daughter is in Pre-k at rams. I truely believe that sending her to school this year expesually at Rams was the best thing i could have done for her. She went from not speaking much to talking understanably, starting to know her ABC, knowing her shapes and colors, learning music. It's the best school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

My children previously attended Preston Park and the teachers seemed to really care. The teachers at Roanoke Academy seem to just be getting a pay check and not having a true concern for your child's well-being. My children both make A's but the work is not at all challenging and alot of the graded assignments would just have check marks as if the teacher didn't even care to really review their answers. Not one time did my children go on a single field trip while at Roanoke Academy last school year. They have also been Accredited with a warning the past 3 school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2004

Would never recommend this school. I requested special education testing for my child after difficulties. Request never completed and 1 year later after being told he most likely will be retained no one can find doctor reports. It took a whole year to complete to diagnos his ADHD & his occupational therapy recommendation was completely disregarded. To date no help and no follow through, my child has offically fallen through the cracks. Teacher switched mid-year and not told of his problems. This was not known to me until I received letter about retaining him.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
61%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
68%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students67%
Female students65%
Male students68%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%

Math

All Students70%
Female students74%
Male students68%
Black students74%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English70%

Science

All Students89%
Female students89%
Male students88%
Black students88%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students64%
Female students64%
Male students65%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English64%

Math

All Students87%
Female students82%
Male students94%
Black students86%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students62%
Female students64%
Male students60%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English62%

English: Writing

All Students61%
Female students64%
Male students57%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English61%

Math

All Students59%
Female students60%
Male students58%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English59%

Science

All Students77%
Female students77%
Male students76%
Black students76%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Accredited with Warning".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Toni Belton

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1616 Nineteenth Street NW
Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone: (540) 853-2751

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT