Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westside Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 621 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 15, 2013

My kids had a long time in westside things change a lot and for good they are latinos and have the best grades ever! Unfortunately teachers can do all work if parents are not involved in ther education .. Its really sad to see kids waiting for ther parents to show up when they have ther promotions in school, education begins at home! My kids have bad experience with other children cuz they are latinos but i explain them that is cuz their parents dont educate them good . I cant just blame the school for that , and get them out , anyways they will always find people like that everywher! Teachers do what they can do but they are not the parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

Silly? You're calling bullying, foul name calling to small children as young as 8 silly. Maybe you were a student there decades ago when Westside was a good school, and I will admit it was, but "TODAY" parents, especially these young parents don't know how or refuse to properly raise their kids, and who suffer? The good kids with good manners suffer. Don't come in here acting like you know what's going on. My 5th grader came home crying everyday because she was being called names. She wouldn't eat, I saw a big change in her grades and personality. All the principals cared about were the sol scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

I don't know how it is now, but I went to this school when I was in elementary school. The teachers were super nice, the principals were friendly, and it was a pretty good learning environment all in all! Don't let this silly website's rating change your mind!


Posted November 24, 2010

When asked the question: "What threatens your safety and emotional health?" most kids say, teasing and bullying (Kaiser Family Foundation & Children Now, 2001). Yet many adults, even your parents and teachers, may not realize how often you see or experience bullying at school and elsewhere. Often adults don't see bullying when it happens. And those adults who see it, and do nothing, may not understand that kids can be hurt by bullying. Kids who are bullied day after day can feel helpless and alone. They may become too scared to report the bullying, fearing that adults won't believe them. Kids also worry that if the bullies find out they "tattled," the bullying may get worse. To protect kids who are bullied, parents and all adults must understand what bullying is, how harmful it can be, and the best ways to stop bullying behaviors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

My son has been a westside student sense he was in pre-k and he is now in the 3rd grade all the teacher seems to be great and really take time out for their students. I wouldnt change my sons from westside for nothing in the world!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

My Son has been going to this school since 2007 after we moved from Vinton. Before he attended Westside he attended H.L. Horn. When he attended H.L. Horn he hated school. After attending Westside he loves school, I had to keep him home 1 day due to being sick with the flu & he begged me to allow him to go & cried all day when I wouldn't. Since 2007 he has been on the honor roll. He loves his teachers & Dr. Belcher the principal is wonderful any problems we have had she has taken care of immediately. Before my son went to Westside he had trouble with his grades, self esteem & even started having depression. After Westside all those problems went away. My husband & I love this school & highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

The teachers are fixated on the fact that 'all city kids' are bad. Therefore some of the teachers at this school do not put in the effort that the child my need. Physiscal Education is not a high priorty as well, the children are lucky if the go once every 2 weeks. The classroom size is too small for kids to move around in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

My daughter attended this GREAT school. for 3 years. I have attened the graduation ceromoniies and Its amazing the level of knowledge the students have acquired and the motovation of the teachers, students and Prinicipal Belcher. Grace Hickenbotham
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

Dr. Belcher is a great principal. Just like everyone else, you sometimes don't agree with a decision that a person has made, but you have to decide if that decision was best for everyone involved. She is a strong woman who knows how to run her school and tries to motivate students, parents, as well as staff to participate and enjoy learning and doing. I don't know about the rest of the teachers, but with my son, this is his first year at Westside, and his teacher is excellent. She cares about her students learning, and keeps me in the loop on all things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

This school is in total chaos and is in desperate need of new leadership starting with the principal. Children that are thriving and making high marks (despite the environment), are unfortunately doomed. This is due to the principal refusing to remove unruly students from the classrooms. When the principal is approached about these unruly students, she blames the students and teachers for failing to report the incidents. Hence, the problem with the unruly students remain. I have removed my 'A-B Honor Roll' grandson from this school, as he was bullied by one particur student for 3 years. After many consultations with the principal, she continued to shuck off her responsibilty, by continuing to place blame on the students and teachers for not reporting the incidents. Even though we (parent, teacher and my grandson) have reported each and every incident regarding the bully to principal. Nothing has been done to date.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

I have 2 children that are students at Westside and one child whom just went to the 6th grade and I have to admit that I love the school and have a lot of respect for the teachers there! And last but not least the great job that the principal has done with the school! I see nothing but good things for the school in the future I believe that the school is very dedicated to the students and love what they do! They don't receive enough credit for the dedication to their jobs. Keep up the good work Westside I stand strong to support YOU!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

Quality of academic programs are good, however with 5 weeks or so under our belt the students overall are kind of drained due to lack of recess and lack of communication (like having silent lunch on Fridays which lunch time due to no or very, very little recess is the only time to talk and express social skills with the students peers. Parental involvement must be increased we are showing some positive changes in seeing a few more men involved. The PTA is working diligently in trying to get parents involved, we will see as time goes on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2004

This is a terrible school. This school is more like a zoo than a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
68%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
64%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students51%
Female students66%
Male students36%
Black students51%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students60%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English51%

Math

All Students59%
Female students65%
Male students53%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English59%

Science

All Students80%
Female students80%
Male students81%
Black students78%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students65%
Female students58%
Male students71%
Black students68%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English65%

Math

All Students82%
Female students83%
Male students82%
Black students87%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students76%
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students54%
Female students50%
Male students58%
Black students52%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students38%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficient students53%
Proficient in English54%

English: Writing

All Students42%
Female students41%
Male students43%
Black students42%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students24%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English39%

Math

All Students73%
Female students75%
Male students71%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students94%
Proficient in English68%

Science

All Students58%
Female students50%
Male students66%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students38%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficient students81%
Proficient in English53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Accredited with Warning".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Accredited with Warning".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jennifer Dean

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1441 Westside Blvd NW
Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone: (540) 853-2967

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT