Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cave Spring Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 476 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

My daughter has attended this school twice with a gap between school years. The first year she came home with a staff infection. Enough said there. This next time the staff has been extremely rude, pretty much told me they gave her a lower grade so she would have something to work towards. I have only called the school with concerns twice this year and both times had to call back or go back repeatedly to get a response. The staff is rude and more concerned with placing blame then solving problems. School has switched my daughters classes around without any kind of consult to me. I have been very displeased with the right out disorganization and laziness of these people both times!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2013

The school has a good academic program, but is full of bullies which is not controlled by the teachers. Teachers also show partiality to athletes and popular kids. If you don't fit into the athletic mold or are part of the popular families, then your children are excluded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

Our state will not follow the common core standards. We are one of two states that have opted out. I have come from a state that was already incorporating them and I am very pleased with the education my children are getting here. We have a great PTA at our school and wonderful kids. I will not say that I like all the teachers, because I can think of a few that I do not care for, but overall, most of the teachers go above and beyond what is expected of them. I think the school improves every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2012

We are new to the area and did a lot of research on schools in the community. My son has some special needs and we are very involved in being an advocate for him. I have been so pleased with everything about this school. The principal is highly involved and very personable, the teachers are excellent, the aides are great, the staff is friendly, and the student ratio is also very good. My son works with many people at Cave Spring Elementary, such as the speech therapist, school psychologist, occupational therapist, and others. They are all friendly, caring, and genuine. I have personal relationships with all of them. The teacher-student ratio is also the lowest among the county schools. The building is newly remodeled, very clean, and conveys a sense of community. Technology is implemented in the classrooms, as my son works with the Ipad almost everyday. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2009

we researched all of the schools before moving to roanoke. we found that cave spring elem. was one of the best schools in the area. everyone there seems nice and caring of the childs future. both of our children have attended cave spring elem. and i recommend it to anyone in the area.they really encourage parent participation in everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

I have found that the leadership in this school is very professional, and that they try their best to accomodate students who are in special education. My daughter has enjoyed her years spent there, and the teachers have been more very willing to work with us on her accomodations and needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2004

This school is truly outstanding. Many fine teachers, an enriched curriculum, and extensive parental involvement made this school a joy for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2004

Excellent. Principal devoted to technology. Parent volunteers and involvement unsurpassed. Innovative academic and PTA programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2004

Both my children attended this school. We were very pleased with most of the teachers. Overall, give them an 'A'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students88%
Female students93%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students84%
Female students79%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Science

All Students92%
Female students93%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities78%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students82%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students94%
Female students94%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities92%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students91%
Female students86%
Male students98%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

English: Writing

All Students87%
Female students90%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students90%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%

Math

All Students88%
Female students86%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students91%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Science

All Students93%
Female students88%
Male students98%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students91%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5404 Springlawn Ave
Roanoke, VA 24018
Website: Click here
Phone: (540) 772-7558

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

North Cross School
Roanoke, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT