Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Roanoke, VA
Students enrolled: 476
 

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

9 reviews of this school


Cave Spring Elementary School 1

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has attended this school twice with a gap between school years. The first year she came home with a staff infection. Enough said there. This next time the staff has been extremely rude, pretty much told me they gave her a lower grade so she would have something to work towards. I have only called the school with concerns twice this year and both times had to call back or go back repeatedly to get a response. The staff is rude and more concerned with placing blame then solving problems. School has switched my daughters classes around without any kind of consult to me. I have been very displeased with the right out disorganization and laziness of these people both times!

Cave Spring Elementary School 3

Posted November 09, 2013
- a parent
The school has a good academic program, but is full of bullies which is not controlled by the teachers. Teachers also show partiality to athletes and popular kids. If you don't fit into the athletic mold or are part of the popular families, then your children are excluded.


Cave Spring Elementary School 4

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
Our state will not follow the common core standards. We are one of two states that have opted out. I have come from a state that was already incorporating them and I am very pleased with the education my children are getting here. We have a great PTA at our school and wonderful kids. I will not say that I like all the teachers, because I can think of a few that I do not care for, but overall, most of the teachers go above and beyond what is expected of them. I think the school improves every year.

Cave Spring Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2012
- a parent
We are new to the area and did a lot of research on schools in the community. My son has some special needs and we are very involved in being an advocate for him. I have been so pleased with everything about this school. The principal is highly involved and very personable, the teachers are excellent, the aides are great, the staff is friendly, and the student ratio is also very good. My son works with many people at Cave Spring Elementary, such as the speech therapist, school psychologist, occupational therapist, and others. They are all friendly, caring, and genuine. I have personal relationships with all of them. The teacher-student ratio is also the lowest among the county schools. The building is newly remodeled, very clean, and conveys a sense of community. Technology is implemented in the classrooms, as my son works with the Ipad almost everyday. I would recommend this school to anyone!

Cave Spring Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 31, 2009
- a parent
we researched all of the schools before moving to roanoke. we found that cave spring elem. was one of the best schools in the area. everyone there seems nice and caring of the childs future. both of our children have attended cave spring elem. and i recommend it to anyone in the area.they really encourage parent participation in everything.


Cave Spring Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 27, 2008
- a parent
I have found that the leadership in this school is very professional, and that they try their best to accomodate students who are in special education. My daughter has enjoyed her years spent there, and the teachers have been more very willing to work with us on her accomodations and needs.

Cave Spring Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2004
- a parent
This school is truly outstanding. Many fine teachers, an enriched curriculum, and extensive parental involvement made this school a joy for my children.

Cave Spring Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2004
- a parent
Excellent. Principal devoted to technology. Parent volunteers and involvement unsurpassed. Innovative academic and PTA programs.


Cave Spring Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2004
- a parent
Both my children attended this school. We were very pleased with most of the teachers. Overall, give them an 'A'.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cave Spring Elementary School
5404 Springlawn Ave, Roanoke, VA  24018
(540) 772-7558
Last modified Cave Spring Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cave Spring Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top