Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
474 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Roanoke Catholic School 5

Posted August 31, 2015
- a community member
I attended this school from Grade 6 to 12. Amazing, warm & loving environment. My classes were small and the teachers were very attentive. Every person in my graduating class attended and graduated college and many have gone on to higher degrees. Proud to say that I went to this school and wish I still lived in Roanoke so I could send my daughter here, too.

Roanoke Catholic School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Strong academics, strong ethical training and a departure from the "teach to the test" necessity in other schools. Independent thinking and participation is encouraged. RCS is a safe, loving envirionment with caring staff and administration.


Roanoke Catholic School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
I do not understand the 1 and 2 star ratings on here. Roanoke Catholic is not a snobby school. I speak from experience, I am a current parent here. There has never been a time when I felt I was being treated poorly by staff, students or parents. The students and staff are very respectful as are other parents. Before going by what anyone says, just go see for yourself. My children are happy here and have made great friends. It is nice knowing I send my children to a school in which other parents are like minded, having strong morals and values. Not only do my children go here, but my husband all his siblings and my father and all his siblings graduated from here. All of whom graduated college, and went on to get masters degrees. They were all very well prepared for college and life after.

Roanoke Catholic School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a community member
I have seen my grandsons grow and blossom since they have been attending Roanoke Catholic School. The one star review are unfounded and I don't understand. A wonderful school and my grandsons are proof that this is a great school.

Roanoke Catholic School 1

Posted April 05, 2012
- a parent
I do not like this school at all. The teachers and other personell are very rude and not helpful at all. There are a lot of snobbish parents at this school, so if you don't live by their standards you get frowned upon.


Roanoke Catholic School 2

Posted December 11, 2011
- a community member
Roanoke Catholic has both strengths and weaknesses - but far more weaknesses than strengths. The school is weak academically, strong athletically, and weak in all other extracurriculars. Academically, Roanoke Catholic is inferior to many of the excellent public schools in the Roanoke Valley. Ask the faculty what the average AP test scores are in the few AP classes it offers - or even the highest AP test scores - and then ask the same question at a public school and you will find RCS's numbers to be far inferior. RCS has excellent teachers and terrible teachers. . If your child attends RCS, they will experience the gamut of stellar teachers and horrible ones. Most students at RCS participate in sports, and this is a great thing. It's the best thing about the school. When I attended, RCS lacked extracurricular activities like a high school music program and a debate team. Many parents send their children to RCS if they have behavioral problems and can't excel at public school. This is a problem for all other students. Last but not least, there is a lot of wealth at RCS, leading to a snobby social atmosphere. I would never consider sending my child to this school.

Roanoke Catholic School 2

Posted April 04, 2011
- a parent
Roanoke Catholic was a wonderful school when I attended during my middle school and high school years. However, my son has attended the school for 5 years now and I am no longer impressed. Academically they do push the students to excel (keep in mind that my son is on the honor roll), but there is a lot of testing and pressure that I feel detracts from a true love of learning. I also feel that some of the students and parents do not display a true Christian spirit. Budget cuts have caused the school to eliminate positions (guidance counselor, resource teacher) and I feel that bullying has increased since these changes have occured. I also feel that the administration will play "favorites" with students based on the social standing of the family. I hate that I had such a positive experience there as a student and my son has not. Needless to say.....he will not be returning next year.

Roanoke Catholic School 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a community member
absolutely amazingly tight community of loving people. a seriously intense college prep high school preparing it's graduates better than the average high school to exceed in the college classroom. i have first hand experience.


Roanoke Catholic School 5

Posted March 16, 2009
- a parent
After 12 years, so far, we have been very pleased with the academic education, moral education and social experiences all of our children have received from Roanoke Catholic School. The school has excellent teachers and teaches exceptional moral values. We couldn't send our children anywhere else!!

Roanoke Catholic School 1

Posted June 05, 2008
- a student
I did not find Roanoke Catholic to be a good school when I went there. It had a large amount of bullying and unkind teachers. Parents, please do not send your children here if you want the best for them.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roanoke Catholic School
621 North Jefferson Street, Roanoke, VA  24016
(540) 982-3532
Last modified Roanoke Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Roanoke Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top