Advertisement
Advertisement

North Cross School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Roanoke

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $189,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 21, 2013

North Cross is an outstanding independent school that develops the entire child (mind and body). Students are taught to think critically and not just what to memorize on standardized tests. At a very early age students are taught a second langauge so that they can be fully immersed at the high school level. Their Global Studies Program is cutting edge and makes us realize the competition for the very best schools and jobs is not sitting next to you in the class room, but is perhaps and ocean away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

I am a graduate and my three sons also attended. North Cross gave them,like me, a great education,challenged them, allowed them to participate in a wide variety of sports and the Arts, and provided them with some great friends.The teachers were caring, supportive and helped them build their confidence so that when they attended three highly selective schools, they performed at a high level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2013

I really like the vision of the school and the programs it has been developing to challenge students and build character. The foreign language emphasis in the lower school, the introduction of writing code planned for 2013-14 in the middle school, and the global studies curriculum in the upper school are all well-run and challenging programs. I love the fact that our children have constant adult (faculty and staff) interactions because of the low student teacher ratio. They are interactive in class and familiar enough with their teachers to ask questions and seek (and be given) extra help when needed. It pushes our children. Add to that a commitment to the arts and athletics and I think that this is worth every penny of tuition paid. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

We have been very pleased with North Cross over the past 5 years. The teachers really care about their students and challenge them to do their best. The new headmaster has made a huge difference in terms of discipline with the students and communication with parents. He listens to what the parents have to say, but is not afraid to disagree with them if he has a different opinion. He is a strong leader whose main focus is on the students and the quality of education. There are many parents involved in this school and they are welcoming to all new families. An Ambassador Program for new students helps the entire family adjust to North Cross, not just the child. I highly encourage anyone who is willing to work hard to apply for acceptance to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

North Cross is a great school! It is challenging and brings out the best in a student. All students can join any sports team and really bond with their team mates. I highly reccomend it to anyone.


Posted August 30, 2010

Our daughter attended North Cross from junior kindergarten through sixth grade, and our overall experience was excellent. My perception is that most schools in Roanoke have a few good teachers, maybe an excellent teacher or two, and quite a few mediocre ones. North Cross' elementary school teachers start at very good, and finish with what have to be the two best fifth grade teachers in the valley. For the most part, the teachers actively engage differentiated learning strategies, challenge each student, and provide a nurturing environment where students participate in the learning process. There are certainly drawbacks at the school, including cliquey students and a high cost of tuition, but the positives far outweigh the drawbacks. Looking back, we would certainly make the same choice again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

this was the best decision for our son we've made in our lifetime, not only did he improve academically, he excelled athletically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

This school is quite amazing. My daughters went to this school for there elementary years. Then we unfortunatly moved not to complete middle and high school there as well. In a higher grade you are given the oppurtunity to go to either France or Spain to have further learning on that langauge. You start learning Spanish in first grade and start French in fourth. When you get to sixth grade you may pick which langauge you wish to contine learning. This school is overall very productive and organized. I have only named a few of its outstanding features.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

My child entered North Cross in tenth grade after being in public schools up to this point. The new headmaster is well-respected by students and parents. The attention provided by the teachers is exceptional. There is a wide range of degree of difficulty of classes in the upper school, so you can chose classes accordingly. The school and parent community is very welcoming to newcomers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

My child entered North Cross in tenth grade after being in public schools up to this point. The new headmaster is well-respected by students and parents. The attention provided by the teachers is exceptional. There is a wide range of degree of difficulty of classes in the upper school, so you can chose classes accordingly. The school and parent community is very welcoming to newcomers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

I absolutely love North Cross School. It has great opportunities involving sports, and extra curricular. It is just the perfect size so that you feel that your child is getting enough attention, yet not being zeroed in on 24/7. It is an excellent school and I hope you send your child here!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2008

Best decision my wife and I have ever made regarding our childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

We were excited to put our child in North Cross for PreK and were assured that she was not among the youngest in her class. We felt preesured by the admissions staff to secure her spot in the early Spring because they could not gurarantee her one unless we gave them a deposit and signed a contract immediately, which we did. (only to learn that there were 21 spaces left at the time). When we learned that our child was among the youngest, we withdrew her (in June) and were told, by the Headmaster, that we would be held accountable for the FULL tuition for the year in which she would not attend. This is predatory and corrupt. Be warned....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

My daughter was in public schools before we moved her here and it made a tremendous difference. She has come out of her shell and is able to engage in any activity/sport that she wishes. If the student is not doing the work you should expect a call. The advisors meet with the student to get progress reports and report back to parent by email or phone. We are kept abreast of good as well as areas that might need help. There is a lot of parent involvement which I find encouraging compared to our previous county school. We are starting the college application process next yr and have already had meetings with the counselor and had recommendations on the process and what help she may be. Much more help when only 20-30 students involved than a class of 400 in the public sector.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2007

It's a small school and the attention given to the students is great. The honor code is not taken seriously by students, but is strictly enforced by an Honor Council, a group of students who's job is to enforce the Honor Code. The headmaster's of old had great reputations, the one in place now has almost single handidly brought the school to lower standards of expectation. The small atmosphere, again, is great, with close realationships between the lower-classmen and upper-classmen. Overall, it's a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2006

This school is meant to be a college-prep school, but it is nothing of the sort. There is an honor code in place that the students do not abide by, and my child had almost no homework the entire year and still maintained an A-B average. I would not recommend sending any children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

It's a great school because the teachers really know the student and there are small class sizes. They have an honor code that the stick to and accountability. They try and build character and have a high standard.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4254 Colonial Ave
Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone: (540) 989-6641

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT